I wanna build it,is it great?

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

I wanna build it,is it great?

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:51 am

Mainboard+case : shuttle SN45G £173.2
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Retail Box £71.05
Memory : Crucial DDR PC2700 modules x2 £122.18
display card : ATI R9600 128MB(DVI+TV OUT) £101.13
CD-ROM : Lite-On 48x24x48x 16x £43.25
Monitor : RelisysTF770 17"CRT flat 0.25mm £86.95
Keyboard+mouse : logitech cordless optical £30
HDD : Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 2MB £59.95
Total : £687.71

is the price OK?
tell me if you can make it cheaper.
thx :P
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:00 am

No...cant make it cheaper...but more expensive....hehe

Get the 8mb WD...20 bucks more and worth every penny
Get some PC3200...not much more and also worth every penny
:wink:
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 11:11 am

How much memory total do you plan to put in the machine? I recommend at least 512mb.

8mb cache WD would be nice as well.

These are just small things, overall, nice looking box. :wink:
Alex
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4088
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2002 9:02 pm
Location: Hot Springs, AR

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 4:52 pm

Definitely get the WD SE drive, the difference is miniscule in price but huge in performance :)
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 5:18 pm

Count me as number 4 who says, get the 8mb cache HDD. The price difference is so small and it makes a big difference. There's no reason to get a drive with less cache anymore.

Otherwise looks great. Have fun building and post your impressions!
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo

Postposted on Thu Oct 02, 2003 9:34 pm

Count me as number 5, there is just no reason to go with a lesser drive. The 80 gig 8 meg cache WD is only $75 on newegg, and the performance difference is impressive. I just got one for my main system, and the improvement over my old drive is amazing.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11721
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 3:35 am

Memory : Crucial DDR PC2700 modules x2 £122.18

i means..512MB x 2 = 1GB Crucial

and

where can i buy a 8MB cache WD 80GB Hard disk?
can you give me the link?

because my one is come from pc-price.co.uk It said it's 8MB cache
but in the Comet site it's 2MB only...here it is
http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/408_117374.html
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 5:09 am

Only way to find out if it's really great is to build it and see! :wink:
"Klaatu, Barrada Nikto!"
<img src="http://www.sparrowbot.com/Sigs/sig1.php?designer=drfish&sigid=8&user=niteslayer">
Niteslayer
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1557
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2002 6:07 pm
Location: Peoples Republic of Taxachusetts not Romneyville anymore, boy are we screwed!

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 5:34 am

I would say go for PC3200 Ram, you can overclock the Barton to work at 200Mhz FSB, and then run the Ram in sync with it. All depends on what kind of performance you want from it I guess.
To understand recursion, you must first understand recursion.
AMM
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2010
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 9:12 am
Location: London

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:11 am

no...i won't overclock it...

is it a must to have 2 memory go for dual channal?

can anyone pls tell me which intel CPU's performance
just like 2500+??
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 6:22 am

ron28 wrote:no...i won't overclock it...

is it a must to have 2 memory go for dual channal?

Yes.

can anyone pls tell me which intel CPU's performance
just like 2500+??

Well, it depends on what applications you're running. But in general, the AMD PR rating is roughly equivalent to P4 megahertz -- i.e. an AMD 2500+ is comparable to a P4 2.5GHz.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37955
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:24 am

i want to make it cheaper...over budget already...
can anyone pls tell me
which CPU and Display card
is enough to play Need For Speed HP2 ??
i will buy 2 x 256MB crucial memory £68.12
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:35 am

ron28 wrote:i want to make it cheaper...over budget already... can anyone pls tell me which CPU and Display card is enough to play Need For Speed HP2 ??

That is a very subjective thing; it depends on how much you care about running at higher resolutions and detail levels, what you consider to be a playable framerate, what kind of anti-aliasing and filtering options you want to use (if any) to improve image quality, and so on. EA actually claims that a 500MHz processor with a TNT2 graphics card is sufficient... but that kind of minimal setup certainly won't gonna give you an optimal game experience!
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37955
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 8:53 am

My cousin he play the game using
AMD 1Ghz...Geforce2...

make me feel playing crap...
i just want my CPU and Graphic card which can play this fluently...

i know i asked too many question...thank you all of you
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:06 am

ron28 wrote:My cousin he play the game using
AMD 1Ghz...Geforce2...

make me feel playing crap...

Umm... do you mean it feels like crap on his system, or that whatever you are running now (I don't know what that is) feels like crap in comparison?

i just want my CPU and Graphic card which can play this fluently...

And as I indicated above, what you need really depends on whether you care about turning up all of the eye candy and image quality settings. If high resolutions and other "frills" don't matter to you, then pretty much any current CPU and video card (other than rock-bottom budget stuff) ought to be adequate.
Last edited by just brew it! on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37955
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:06 am

Why don't you tell us your maximum budget, and we'll have a go at putting together a system with that budget.
To understand recursion, you must first understand recursion.
AMM
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2010
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 9:12 am
Location: London

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:09 am

If you cant afford the barton 2500...try the XP2100...20 bucks cheaper and a ti 4200...under a 100 bucks and should give you all the speed u need :wink:
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 9:24 am

THANK YOU ALL
i know what to do then
shuttle SN45G
AMD Athlon XP ????+
512MB RAM - -|||
ATI R??00 ??MB
Western Digital 80GB 7200rpm 8MB ^_^
ron28
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2003 10:44 am

Postposted on Fri Oct 03, 2003 10:41 am

ron28 wrote:THANK YOU ALL
i know what to do then


I think you'll like it. Again, let us know how it goes.
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest