Problem: Shuttle SN41G2 V2 detects XP 2100 as XP 1500

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

Problem: Shuttle SN41G2 V2 detects XP 2100 as XP 1500

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 12:58 pm

Hey everyone: long-time reader, first-time poster. I'd appreciate any help you guys can offer.

I just assembled my new Shuttle SN41G2 V2, installed everything and updated all drivers and BIOS. It's running fantastic (I'm very happy) although it continues to detect my XP 2100 CPU as only an XP 1500.

I've been using this CPU in another PC for a couple years now, running great at 1.76 mHz. This BIOS doesn't allow me to change the frequency or even confirm what type of CPU I'm using, so I can't find a way to manually change it (jumpers either). I've written Shuttle's tech support, but I'm curious if anyone has a suggestion for me.

Thanks in advance!
Hamfilter
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Oshkosh, WI

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:05 pm

Taking a quick look at your motherboard's manual, on page 55 it says that FSB frequency is adjustable through "Advanced Chipset Features" in your BIOS.

Procedure: turn on computer -> press del (or whatever key it says to press to enter BIOS) to enter BIOS -> adv chipset features -> FSB frequency -> 133.

CPU Frequency (mhz) = multiplier * FSB.
Right now you're running at 1300mhz = 13 * 100.
The correct FSB would give you 1730 = 13 * 133.

Surely you meant ghz. :wink:

And by the way, welcome to the forums!
Last edited by Yahoolian on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:21 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 3:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:06 pm

I would check and see if there is a setting for the FSB. It should be currently at 100 and you should change it to the correct 133.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11725
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:20 pm

Thanks for the quick responses, guys! I didn't appear to have the ability to change those features in my BIOS (they were greyed-out), but I'm going to try it again to see if I missed something.
Hamfilter
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Oshkosh, WI

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:23 pm

WOOT! That did it! I can't thank you enough!
Hamfilter
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Oshkosh, WI

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 1:44 pm

Why don't we sticky this problem in the motherboard/CPU forum?
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15594
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sat Aug 21, 2004 9:21 pm

Been having a similar problem with my K8NS Pro. For some strange reason it's running my PC3200 at HTT times 10/12, which comes out to 167.4 Mhz. And Ctrl-F1 doesn't do anything for me. When I press it, the BIOS menu flashes but no new options appear. Do you guys think I should try to flash my BIOS?

Edit: Sorry, posted in the wrong thread.
Todas as suas bases estão pertencendo a nós!!!
jovin6
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 153
Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 2:30 pm
Location: Stanford, CA


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests