The Shuttle SD31P

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

The Shuttle SD31P

Postposted on Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:39 pm

I got one, So far many problems.

Could be user at this point, but I have called Shuttle Tech support with not much help because the guy could hardly understand english. I will try again on Monday to see if they might have anyone else there.

The shuttle barebone is a nice product and that is why I say my problems might be user error. the Shuttle tech said that my bios could be bad so I must send it in.

I am following the directions to set up SATA at install of windows and I mucst say the the instructions that come with the system have not been followed piror to release of the product. (so is it user error or shuttle's white page writer.

So I will keep all those informed as I move on.


My system
SD31P
Intel 660 3.6G
Kingston 667 1 G of memory
WD SATA II 250G HDD

comming if I can get past errors BFG 7800
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:46 pm

Maybe, in the bios and setting the Integrated Peripherals, shuttle says to Change SATA Mode to RAID. On-Chip Serial ATA to Enhanced Mode. And Serial ATA Port0/1 Mode to SATA0/1 master.

That last one is what sinks shuttles white papers.

"Serial ATA Port0/1 Mode"

There is no such setting in the bios.
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:57 pm

I am not sure what to set the "SATA Port Speed Settings" at this time, but my offerings are "disable" "Force 1" "Force II".

I have tried "Force II" and I got and error when finishing the OS install. The error was something like "iastor.?? was it .inf or .sys or .cat, I am not sure" but it was not a correct image for thie device.

So now I am setting the Port Speed to disable and trying again.
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Sat Aug 27, 2005 12:04 am

Ask here http://forums.sudhian.com/categories.as ... entercat=y there are normally a couple of shuttle reps browsing the forum.

I had no problems installing WinXP on my SN95G5 but I wasnt using raid or anything.
dragmor
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3577
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Oz

Postposted on Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:08 am

Ok first porblem can be found with this...
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?act=ST&f=87&t=15674

Shuttle fix this please
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:11 am

LOL nest problem

"setup cannot copy the file: (???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????"

But is this Shuttle or Windows XP 64bit?

Hummm your call.
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:14 am

gm.dls was the next copy file for the install after the above error was given.

I got past it by letting this one go by skipping! Not the best idea
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Postposted on Sat Aug 27, 2005 1:25 am

Yep, Just as I thought, BLUE SCREEN.......... a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down ......

You know Shuttle should put some time in their product before releasing it to the public.

Shuttle WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO SAY??
TheBug
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 11:30 pm


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest