FRACK! Someone help!

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

FRACK! Someone help!

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:26 am

OK I have finally had time to sit down and work on my HTPC using a shuttle SN27P2.

Long story short. I have everything listed on QVL but here is my problem:

I can install Windows XP, I can add the key and set the PC name and Admin pass. It then goes to setting up windows. when its about 95% through it asks me to provide the path for some dll's. Odd, i thought. So when I go to point it back to the D: which is the CDROM, its no longer there! It got disconnected. Frack!

So okay I skip what its asking for and it the install finishes. I boot into Windows for the first time and it boots No problem. HOWEVER, I am missing some "key" components. IE is not there (no biggie I use FF) the basic networking is not there, I have no default wallpapers, infact the dekstop looks like windows 2000.

I have tried 2 different XP disks that are valid and the same thing. I have also tried windows Media Center and it does the same.

Shuttle's Help is crappy so I turn to you guys. Is there a jumper that I need to set? Is it something stupid like setting the CDROM to master?

Damn I really want to get this up and running while I have time off or it will sit and collect dust.

So help! (Come on PerfectCR You built a lot of shuttles!)
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:37 am

Without fixing the problem, you may be able to work around it by copying the XP CD to a directory on your harddrive before doing the install.
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:38 am, edited 1 time in total.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15140
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 6:38 am

Try F6 at setup and add a controller driver.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)
Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 3:43 am
Location: Denmark

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:37 am

I have tried the F6 thing, the only drivers it installs are SATA raid drivers.

As far as copying the CD to the HD, How would I go about that without having windows install over the folder?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:49 am

I've had this problem in the past, and I traced it to a faulty CD-ROM drive.
Swap out the optical drive and see if that helps.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20455
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:52 am

tanker27 wrote:As far as copying the CD to the HD, How would I go about that without having windows install over the folder?


You'd have to either boot to a command prompt and do it using xcopy I think, or hook the drive up as a secondary drive to a working computer and copy the files thru Windows. Either way just name the directory you copy the files to something like C:\XPINSTAL and you won't have to worry about windows overwriting it.

*edit: here's instructions on using xcopy32 to clone a drive, should work for copying a CD-ROM too.

http://forum.pcmech.com/archive/index.php/t-3412.html
Last edited by Vrock on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20455
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:54 am

What about a 512MB USB stick btw, that might work or if your BIOS supports bootable USB devices you can make a bootable USB stick with Windows CD.
C2D E6600@3Ghz(1.24V) | Asus P5B Deluxe | 4x1GB Kingston Valueram CL5 DDR2-667(1.95V)
Sapphire x1900GT 256MB | Eizo S2110W | 2xSeagate 320GB 7200.10 | Antec Neo He 550W EC
Shintai
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2369
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 3:43 am
Location: Denmark

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 8:58 am

Shintai wrote:What about a 512MB USB stick btw, that might work or if your BIOS supports bootable USB devices you can make a bootable USB stick with Windows CD.


I use a Hewlett-Packard program called Drive Key to make bootable sticks. I use them instead of floppies. He could use one to boot to a command prompt if he got hold of some bootdisk files.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20455
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:03 am

Hmm I will try all of this......

1st I will swap cdrom drives......Damn its such a good drive, I would hate if its bad. Its a Lite-on 16x DVD R/RW
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 9:11 am

tanker27 wrote:Hmm I will try all of this......

1st I will swap cdrom drives......Damn its such a good drive, I would hate if its bad. Its a Lite-on 16x DVD R/RW


I had a Samsung DVD/CD-RW combo drive that I was trying to install Half Life 2 off the 5 CDs. Everytime it got to a specific file on disc 3, it would give me a read error and crap out. Swapping in a Pioneer drive did the trick.

If you are getting the same exact read errors at the same point in installation using multiple install CDs, I would bet that there's a problem with the optical drive. Maybe the IDE controller on the motherboard doesn't like it, maybe it's just a faulty drive....dunno.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20455
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 4:50 pm

Woot! Swaping CD drives worked. I went out an bought an LG 16X DVD R/RW with Lightscribe. I have always wanted one...Not that I might not ever use it.

Anyways Windows Media Center installed just fine and updated. Now to get software in and set for my HTPC.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7035
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Fri Dec 22, 2006 5:48 pm

Glad it worked.
My specs: GE Spacemaker JVM2052SNSS | 1050.0 Watts | 3 speed turntable | 2.0 cu ft | Quick 1 lb Defrost
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20455
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 6:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats

Postposted on Tue Dec 26, 2006 7:35 pm

tanker27 wrote:Woot! Swaping CD drives worked. I went out an bought an LG 16X DVD R/RW with Lightscribe. I have always wanted one...Not that I might not ever use it.

Anyways Windows Media Center installed just fine and updated. Now to get software in and set for my HTPC.


That is exactly why I keep a spare DVD-ROM in the closet.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 9:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests