SN41G2 - Is my Athlon 2500XP running at full speed???

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

SN41G2 - Is my Athlon 2500XP running at full speed???

Postposted on Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:47 am

Hi,

Apologies in advance for the dip-sh*t question...

I've just built my system: it's an SN41G2 with Athlon 2500XP (Barton code, 333fsb), pc2700 ddr (2 x 256mb), blah blah blah

It works fine, but I don't know if I've got it running at max speed, maybe someone could inform me? I'm limited in how much I can google / search for as I'm at work (I've just moved house so my broadband is still being reconnected) so I'm hoping someone here can help me quickly.

Right, so I installed all the hardware, and set the fsb to 166 in the bios screen. The 'main' setting is 'Optimal'. I remember seeing somewhere (and I forget where) that my actual internal clock speed was 1.67 or 1.7ghz, but the maximum clock was 2ghz... would that tally with my XP rating of 2500??? If the clock speed is too low, do I have to use the 'Expert' setting, and what do I have to change?

Any help much appreciated!

Cheers,

Roscoe
=====
Roscoe
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:44 am

Postposted on Wed Jun 25, 2003 8:01 am

I'm pretty sure it's supposed to be 1.83 Ghz
Glorious
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7886
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2002 6:35 pm

Postposted on Wed Jun 25, 2003 8:08 am

yes, it could've been 1.8... ghz, my memory isn't what it used to be :-/

my 3dmark2001se score, at default settings (1024*768, 32bit colour) was 13,800... would that sound about right? (I've got a Radeon 9700 non-pro card)
Roscoe
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:44 am

Postposted on Fri Jul 04, 2003 1:55 pm

It's 1.83GHz for the 2500+
Image

Athlon XP 2800+ / Shuttle SN41G2
1GB DDR333 / Radeon 9700 Pro 128MB
WD 180GB / LiteOn 52X CD-RW
WinXP Pro SP1
Spleen
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2003 11:01 am

Postposted on Fri Jul 04, 2003 2:14 pm

Your score sounds about right, and 1.833GHz is the correct clocks (11*166).

2500+ tend to OC like crazy mofos, though. Try running 12.5*175 or so. With any luck, that'll net you ~3150+, you can possibly run that speed with default voltage. Failing that, try 12*166 at default Vcore. That'll give you 2GHz flat.
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 8061
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Mon Jul 07, 2003 3:16 am

thanks for the replies...

do I have to do anything special to the cpu to unlock it?
Roscoe
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jun 25, 2003 7:44 am

Postposted on Sun Jul 13, 2003 10:40 pm

Roscoe wrote:thanks for the replies...

do I have to do anything special to the cpu to unlock it?


No, all T-bred and Barton cored athlons are unlocked.
I have a computer, it has cool stuff in it, I can do neat things with it.
smokinAMD
Gerbil
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 9:19 pm


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron