SN41G2 - problem with boot devices and IDE cables

For small-form factor PCs and the (extremely small) people who love them.

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nelliesboo

SN41G2 - problem with boot devices and IDE cables

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 2:51 pm

OK, first of all:

Shuttle SN41G2
AMD Athlon 2200+ XP
512MB Crucial DDR PC2700
80GB Western Digital Caviar WD800BB
Windows 2000 Server, SP4
No other storage devices

I wouldn't call it a problem as my system works perfectly at the moment, it's more of an irregularity. I was tidying up the internals of my system today, basically making sure that cables were out of the way of anything that moved or generated heat. I'm paranoid like that. Anyway, I pulled out the long separated one that came with the system (held together by black material) because it was longer than it needed to be, and fitted my own shorter cable. I didn't use the other one that came with the Shuttle, the one with the fancy handle, because it shattered the first time I used it.

When I tried to boot, it blue screened just as the Windows 2000 logo came up. The error was INACCESSABLE_BOOT_DEVICE. I'd had this problem before, and I'd thought it was my HDD jumper settings. Apparently not - I hadn't changed them. I tried changing back the IDE cable, and it worked again. I retried the offending cable, and another one I had lying around, and both resulted in a blue screen. They were in the right way, I triple-checked both. I should mention that the two offenders only have two connectors, whereas the working one has the usual three.

Is this a common problem? Last time, it didn't seem to happen when I had Windows 2000 installed on its own, it only started blue screening when I installed SP3 (latest version at the time). Also, I tried to install XP, which also blue screened. I haven't tried XP since I got it working, but I assume it would work.

Your thoughts, please? Anybody else encountered this?
kurisu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:03 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:04 pm

Depending on how the cables are wired internally, you may need to change the jumpering on the drive itself. If the drive is jumpered for Master/Single, try jumpering it for Cable Select instead (and vice versa).
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36886
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:21 pm

Tried that, no effect. I also had it running on Master With Slave before, which I thought was the root of the problem originally. It's now running on Single Or Master, as it should.
kurisu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:03 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:25 pm

Hmmm... and the cables are definitely 80-wire (not 40-wire)?

Weird.
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36886
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:32 pm

Ah... that could actually be my problem.

*looks more closely*

Yes, I believe they are 40 wire. My bad.
kurisu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:03 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:38 pm

I have found that with only one WD drive you don't use the jumper at all. That makes it single/stand alone.
BigGeek
Gerbil
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2002 1:51 pm
Location: Gilroy, California

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:45 pm

Yeah, that's how I'm running it now. I hate it - I just know I'm going to lose that jumper.
kurisu
Gerbil
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:03 am
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland


Return to SFF Station

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests