Mic not working in GTA4

The place to sound off on all things related to audio, from sound cards to speakers.

Moderator: Captain Ned

Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:50 pm

When my brother and I play other games, both our mics work....but not gta4. We both have our mic option set to on and yet, no sound. Anyone know why? Does he have to have a gold account to use the mic?
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:54 am

Moved into the "echo vale"...

--SS
SecretSquirrel
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Colony, TX (Dallas suburb)

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:36 am

Seventy-five views and no one has any kind of tip? Swell.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Fri Jun 12, 2009 8:34 am

I truly have no knowledge in this area, but I would suggest adding some more information if possible. Specifically, are you on Windows or XBox 360?
SonicSilicon
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2004 8:02 am

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:24 am

Are we talking xbox 360 or PC? That would be the first bit that we would need to know before anybody can troubleshoot.
Image
njenabnit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 5:33 pm
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Fri Jun 12, 2009 11:02 am

(echo...echo...echo...) :lol:
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21287
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:03 pm

Wow! I did not add that in, sorry for that! We are on the PC. I have been working on this issue a little bit more recently and my three conclusions are these:

1) Xbox Live Gold is required to use the mic. I have gold, he does not.
2) The game is wanting to use the mic on his 360 controller.
3) The game is just fails with the mic, and I should stop wasting time.

Over four hours of trying to figure this problem out is purely retarded. The game setting have the mic on, both our vistas show the mic, and we play L4D and CSS no problem with the mic. This problem is just GTA4 (retail version).
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Mic not working in GTA4

Postposted on Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:32 pm

Well I fixed it. This problem that for so long has been an annoyance has been solved.
It occurred to me that the problem has to be based with the Games For Windows - Live client, due to the fact all the other games (not GFWL based) worked, and it was. My brother did not have his mic set up in the client.

I feel silly to admit the problem was so simple. Through drivers and software reinstallation, the problem was a game client. Swell. This problem is solved.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...


Return to Echo Vale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests