fallout 3 on xonar dx

The place to sound off on all things related to audio, from sound cards to speakers.

Moderator: Captain Ned

fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 5:22 pm

i've been looking all over for a fix to this, but i've found absolutely nothing.

the pipboy music stutters badly. i've tried the codec fixes, but non of them work. enabling GX mode on my xonar dx will eliminate the stuttering, but will cause all sounds to sound extremely "canned". i completely lose all bass output and only two speakers (the two front ones) work.

i'm using the latest drivers from Asus website, running windows 7 RC x64, and using razer barracuda headset.

thanks in advance.
moriz
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 am

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 6:36 pm

Welcome to the fallout 3 world :lol: . That problem isn't isolated to the xonar but usually doesn't occur through the entire game. Does this happen everywhere or at certain locations?
Looking for Knowledge wrote:When drunk.....
I want to have sex, but find I am more likely to be shot down than when I am sober.
Heiwashin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3027
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Denham Springs, LA

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:22 pm

Perhaps this is by design to enhance the gamer's sense of immersion :wink:
Core i7 960 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1.5TB HD | Asus GTX Titan | Dell WFP 3008 30" 2560x1600 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
michael_d
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:42 pm

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:06 pm

ummmm... no it's not. imagine the music, and now imagine it having rapidfire popping noises mixed in. this is basically what i'm getting, and is not related to the static on GNR before you fix the transmission tower.

this only occurs with the pipboy radio music. everything else is fine.
moriz
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 am

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:16 pm

I believe he was joking :)
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9980
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 8:34 pm

moriz wrote:ummmm... no it's not. imagine the music, and now imagine it having rapidfire popping noises mixed in. this is basically what i'm getting, and is not related to the static on GNR before you fix the transmission tower.

this only occurs with the pipboy radio music. everything else is fine.


Try it with on-board audio, if you have that option available.
Core i7 960 3.2GHz | 12GB RAM | 1.5TB HD | Asus GTX Titan | Dell WFP 3008 30" 2560x1600 | Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
michael_d
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 2:42 pm

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:38 pm

moriz wrote:this is basically what i'm getting, and is not related to the static on GNR before you fix the transmission tower.

this only occurs with the pipboy radio music. everything else is fine.


That's not the problem i'm talking about. You still didn't answer the question though. Does it occur at all times?
Looking for Knowledge wrote:When drunk.....
I want to have sex, but find I am more likely to be shot down than when I am sober.
Heiwashin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3027
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Denham Springs, LA

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:15 am

it occurs with the pipboy radio music. so yes, it occurs everywhere.
moriz
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 am

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:21 am

Listed fix is to remove codecs. I'm imagining that since it's an external decoder problem it stutters under load which is why it only occurs at certain places(for people with fast enough processors or not enough cores)(2-im also assuming fallout 3 is pretty greedy with resources and will drown out other programs).
Looking for Knowledge wrote:When drunk.....
I want to have sex, but find I am more likely to be shot down than when I am sober.
Heiwashin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3027
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:21 pm
Location: Denham Springs, LA

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:44 am

Actually, I remember, IIRC, ffmpeg interfering with fallout3. Might give a shot at uninstalling that and trying out the game. I think the later version allow you to add application exceptions so that the codec isn't used in app X or Y. It pops up a question when it detects that the application pulled up the external codec and asks you.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9980
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 9:52 am

moriz wrote:it occurs with the pipboy radio music. so yes, it occurs everywhere.

It's just the "radio" music and not other game sounds?
You could try going into Windows Advanced Audio Properties > Performance tab and backing off of Hardware Acceleration.
It may and may not help. But worth a look.
Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3 | AMD FX8350 Black Edition | Corsair XMS3 16GB DDR3 | XFX Radeon HD 7950 3GB | Win7 x64
HT Omega Claro | Technics SL-1210 MKll w/ Stanton 681EEE MKlll | Klipsch Promedia v4.1 | Sennheiser HD 580 Precision
IAmGhostDog
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Oct 10, 2004 10:56 am
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: fallout 3 on xonar dx

Postposted on Fri Jul 31, 2009 4:13 pm

i can't seem to find the "advanced audio properties" in windows 7.

i also don't have ffdshow installed, so this is a nonissue.
moriz
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 445
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 7:35 am


Return to Echo Vale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests