Logitech Z-680 Decoding Capabilities

The place to sound off on all things related to audio, from sound cards to speakers.

Moderator: Captain Ned

Logitech Z-680 Decoding Capabilities

Postposted on Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:46 pm

I can't seem to find any detailed information on the Logitech Z-680 in regards to what it is able to decode. Specifically, in relation to my PS3.

I need to know what the highest PCM bit rate and frequency it can handle and whether or not it supports AAC.
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Re: Logitech Z-680 Decoding Capabilities

Postposted on Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:08 pm

It does not support AAC. The DACs in the main pod/sub are 16bit/48KHz, but pretty nice quality. You can send 24bit/96KHz and 24/192 streams, but they are automatically downsampled at the DACs.

I've gotten to know my Z-680s pretty well. Best money I've ever spent on computer-centric A/V gear.

It handles AC3 and DTS over digital links, but not the WMA-Pro 5.1 nonsense, and not AAC.

It can decode MP3 sent over the digital link, but it's not designed to do it, and there's not much point.
Razorback - Arch-6430U - i7-3687U - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Rocinante - Ubuntu-E5530 - i5-3230M - 16GB - Intel HD4000
Donnager - Arch-M4800 - i7-4800MQ - 32GB - Intel HD4600/Quadro K2100M
Vargr - Arch-Vargr - i7-4790K - 32GB - Intel HD4600/GeForce GTX 970
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8134
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: Logitech Z-680 Decoding Capabilities

Postposted on Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:43 pm

So, really, there isn't any point in sending the unit anything higher than 16/48.

Very informative. Thank you.
The best things in life are free.
http://www.gentoo.org
Guy 1: Surely, you will fold with me.
Guy 2: Alright, but don't call me Shirley.
titan
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3304
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Great Smoky Mountains

Re: Logitech Z-680 Decoding Capabilities

Postposted on Wed Nov 04, 2009 9:47 pm

titan wrote:So, really, there isn't any point in sending the unit anything higher than 16/48.

Very informative. Thank you.

Actually there is, if the downsampling is actually done at the DAC level (on the output to the speakers). Then again, the Z-680s, though nice, aren't so high-end that you'll notice a difference. In any case, just set the sample rate to the highest possible, it sure can't hurt.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10846
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)


Return to Echo Vale

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest