Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Captain Ned

ordskiweicz
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author

Best software for usb outout to external dac - windows 8

Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:45 pm

Any leads to a good win 8 software package for usb digital stream output to an external dac (a loner DacMagic Plus)?

I have tried foobar with my 3 yr old asus laptop and neither ASIO or WASABI output plug ins work and generate error messages. (I admit to total noob status here, but did not think this should be so tough to pull off) Yep - I did RTMs for the dac and foobar.

If I read the fine print, my laptop may be to old to pull this off - but this seems odd. I believe I do have the dac set for required USB 2 mode (though this is tough to be sure of).

I am most open to guidance. Thanks.

MadManOriginal
Gerbil Jedi

Re: Best software for usb outout to external dac - windows 8

Sun Feb 16, 2014 9:03 pm

USB Audio 2.0 (not to be confused with USB 1.0/1.1/2.0/3.0 data rates...yeah, whoever named the USB audio types practically the same way is a moron) typically requires drivers. Set it to USB Audio 1.0 and see if it works.

drsauced
Gerbil Jedi

Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:43 am

Hm, I don't use Win8, but for USB Audio Class 2 you might be able to get away with ASIO4ALL. The DacMagic Plus does support Class 1.0, but it's limited to 24/96.
Calm seas never made a skilled mariner. But, sadly I'm an A's fan.

ordskiweicz
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author

Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:25 am

Thanks. I have installed the USB 2 (audio - I assume) dirvers from CA's website. Will try USB 1.0 also.

ordskiweicz
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author

Mon Mar 17, 2014 10:49 am

Update - So I am running Foobar to a Cambridge Audio DacMagic 100 (no headphone amp) and am very happy. After some tweaking I am running an unaltered USB output to the DAC (off a cheapo dell inspiron). My flac files are the usual - not super high quality.