weird problem

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

weird problem

Postposted on Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:28 pm

i hate emachines; my family has one, it's two years old and we've had so many problems with it, it isn't funny. this time though i just can't figure it out, and i need some help.
the problem started when i pulled the vid card out to troubleshoot another comp (i've done this many times before and it's never been a prob) when i put it back in the emachines the comp won't really boot. the second i plug it into the outlet it turns on and the on/off button only works 1/3 of the time, sometimes it won't do anything, sometimes it'll work and turn the thing off, other times it'll turn it off and the second i let go off the switch it'll turn on again, the keyboard won't give me a numlock, and there is no moniter signal. i tried pulling out the vidcard and running off the integrated, i've checked if the start button was screwed or if anything was unplugged, it all seems fine, the comp SHOULD work. i'm sure i didn't destroy anything while removing the card.
specs are: 900celeron, winxp, 256 pc 133, radeon pci 32sdr, 30gig seagate, don't know the mobo chipset, it's an intel, no agp 3 pci.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:46 pm

Is the video card in all the way?
Yahoolian
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2003 2:43 pm
Location: MD

Postposted on Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:54 pm

yeah, it's in all the way.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Sun Nov 16, 2003 2:58 pm

Sounds like something is shorting out in your system. check your wires, perhaps the card is pinching something and causing the short.
mac_h8r1.postCount++;
Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot. Order shall return.
Slivovitz owns you.
mac_h8r1
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2960
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2002 5:57 pm
Location: Alpha Epsilon Pi for life

Postposted on Sun Nov 16, 2003 4:17 pm

the card is nowhere near any wires or jumpers. i checked all the wires to make sure they were plugged in securely and still no luck
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Mon Nov 17, 2003 12:44 am

It may be the power supply that is going out in the system. Emachines were known for using extremely low-end cheapo psus, which would fail often only after a short period of time. If you have a spare to try out, I would see if that solves your problem.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11669
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:16 pm

nope, i tried a new psu and that didn't help, gave me the same problem as before.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:19 pm

You did not zap the card with static when you were removing it? That can really mess up a card and is easy to do if you are not paying attention.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11669
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Thu Nov 20, 2003 4:47 pm

i'm pretty sure i didn't zap it. where i live static is hard to get. we have no carpeting. i also made sure everything was unplugged, and i got rid of any static on me before i tried pulling.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Thu Nov 20, 2003 5:41 pm

It is also possible that the boad is borked as you are having all these additional problems. Also something may have worked loose over the years, so you may want to try reseating everthing in the case. If that does not work, I would pull everything out and see if you can get it to post with each item installed to see if it is the problem.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11669
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 9:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Postposted on Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:05 am

check for bloated and/or leaking capacitors on the mainboard.
atidriverssuck
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 889
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2003 7:50 am
Location: close to a compjuder, hooked up to the interweb

Postposted on Sat Nov 22, 2003 10:02 pm

don't see anything unusual on the motherboard. i reseated it, still no go.
DivX
Gerbil
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 6:35 pm


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], mnecaise and 4 guests