Resolution Issue

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

Resolution Issue

Postposted on Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:03 pm

I went to fire up my computer after it fell asleep only to realize my resolution is now at 800 x 600. Windows only allows me to bring it up to 1280 x 768. I went into the Nvidia control panel to force it to go to 1920 x 1080 but it didn't really do anything besides make the screen flash black for a split second. Any idea what could be causing this issue all of a sudden? I'm hoping the video card isn't randomly dying :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:14 pm

Did you reboot?
JdL
286DX > Pentium Pro 200 > Athlon 1000 @ 1.4 GHz > Athlon 64 2.2 GHz > Athlon XP 3200+ > Core 2 Duo 3300 @ 4.0 GHz > Core 2 Quad 6600 G0 @ 3.2 > Core i7 3770 @ stock
JdL
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 987
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2002 11:45 am
Location: United States of America

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Thu Dec 29, 2011 10:17 pm

Yeah, I've tried a few times now. Even shut it completely down unplugged it and drained the power out of it. I went ahead and updated the cards firmware to the latest version and still nothing :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:07 pm

So, I opened a few games and they run at the proper resolution...Something else is preventing the computer from having the proper resolution on the desktop :(
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 4:32 pm

Have you tried right click -> properties -> display settings -> advanced settings -> monitor

And either unchecking hide resolution that can't be displayed or updated drivers or select the right monitor from the drop down.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 665
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:14 pm

Fully uninstall the corrupted driver, and reinstall from a fresh download. I suppose it's possible your card is going out, you know, if you want an excuse.
Ethyriel
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 6:41 pm
Location: Tucson, AZ

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 5:39 pm

Check both ends of the video cable to make sure it isn't loose. Try a different video cable if you have one. If that doesn't work, unplug the monitor's power cord for a minute or two, plug it back in and see if that helps.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37464
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 9:41 pm

Sounds like sleep restore failure.

At work my buddies dell 21" wide screen does that every once in a while.

Shut the machine down.
Turn the monitor off and unplug it for 5 mins or so.

Turn the monitor back on first.
then boot up your machine.

If that allows you to get back to the native reslution you're golden.
If not then as Ethyriel says, it might be a corrupted driver.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 601
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: Resolution Issue

Postposted on Sun Jan 01, 2012 10:00 pm

I had a monitor do this once back in the CRT days. Something must have zapped the little piece of ROM that contained its EDID information when I was switching it between a few computers I was working on, and it never did the correct resolution again on any computer after that.

Got a friend with a different monitor you can try, or try your monitor on his system?
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3125
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 9 guests