BSOD 0x00000124

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 9:32 am

Hey Guys. Having a bit of a problem since a couple of days. I upgraded my hardware recently and started getting the above stated BSoD. My previous build was a q6600 with 4Gb ram and radeon 6950. Recently upgraded to i7 3770K with 16GB and an SSD. Every time i run BFBC2 it BSoD's after a while of gaming. Have to test to see if it happens with other games. I am trying to isolate the problem and heres what i know/did.

a. I know that 0x124 is a hardware error.
b. Ran Memcheck and Windows memory diagnostic and no errors there.
c. Stress tested CPU using Prime 95 for 4+ hours and it never breached 72C. Besides i havent even OC'd yet and have a tower cooler.
d. Have to stress test the GPU yet (Will do it in the evening). But its the same GPU from my previous build and i already stress tested it with furmark back then. Was fine.
e. Have to test the SSD. Could an SSD problem create that error and if yes, what software should i use for stress testing the SSD.

I shall try to post the dump file in the evening after i get home. But it in the meantime, any suggestions? Anyone have similar problems?

My system is as follows:

i7 3770K default clock.
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
16 GB G Skill ares RAM at 1.5V
Radeon 6950 (Unlocked all shaders but have done that a long while back, so it might not be the issue)
Samsung 830 256GB SSD.(Connected to SATA 0 and SATA type set to AHCI)
3 HDD's
1 DVD Drive
750W Antec Power supply with approx 720W on 12V)

Appreciate all the help that follows. Thx
plasticplate
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 10:09 am

Did you reinstall windows 7 when you upgraded?

If you didn't, you should (Windows 7 is pretty modular. Sometimes you can get away with upgrading the motherboard and not have to reinstall). If you did, one thing you can do is double check your DVD drive that you used to install windows isn't malfunctioning. Download nero disc speed and run a read scan with the windows 7 disc in the tray, and observe the results (lots of red, is bad, get a new drive).

You can also, try running "sfc /SCANNOW" (no quotes) from the command prompt (elevated with "Administrator" privileges) to scan and repair for windows system file corruption.

Also, make sure your board isn't turbo boasting your CPU higher than it should. Anything significantly higher than 3900MHz is out of spec. Asus boards do this when certain settings are set, not sure about Gigabyte boards though.

*EDIT* Also, I do remember a firmware update for the Samsung 830 SSD that resolves BSODs. Make sure you've got the latest firmware.
Ryhadar
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:51 pm

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 10:48 am

Thx for the reply Ryhadar. I did a clean installation of windows when i upgraded. I didnt verify the disc but i got it off msdn and verified it after burning.
I checked the FW of the SSD using the samsung software and it says i got the latest Firmware.
As for Turbo boosting, how would i know if it is turbo boosting more than it should? Also, can i turn off turbo boosting from the BIOS?

Thx again.
plasticplate
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 10:57 am

Yeah you can temporarily disable turbo mode from one of the BIOS options. It's usually just an extra 100MHz OC or so over the specc'd turbo boost, so it probably isn't the culprit but you never know, right?

Before you do that though, try one of the linpack GUI applications out there (Intel Burn Test, LinX, etc). They can find errors with the CPU/memory that Prime95 may have missed (and pretty quickly too). Oh, and I know it sounds silly, but also run the Windows Experience Index benchmark. I had an OC that passed 20 runs of Intel Burn Test, but BSoD'd on the WEI. Go figure. :lol:
Ryhadar
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 8:51 pm

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Wed May 09, 2012 7:05 am

plasticplate wrote:b. Ran Memcheck and Windows memory diagnostic and no errors there.

Not heard of memcheck do you mean memtest? If you ran one of the memtest versions, how long did you leave it running for? I would run memtest86+ overnight and make sure it is clean in the morning. I've had errors show up only on one test one pass out of 3 or 4, but it was always the same bit that was erroneous so I knew it was a real failure.
notfred
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3647
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 9:10 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Wed May 09, 2012 7:49 am

If that PSU wasn't Antec Earthwatts I'd bet 10 bucks for PSU failure...
I had same issues with my Q6600@3.6 GHz. And strangely enough it was only happening in BF3. My problem was not enough voltage on CPU*. However, after doing research and digging over net and talking with my techie friends, I saw those 124 BSOD screen are often related to PSU not working as it should.
I think those multiplayer FPS games are putting almost full load to CPU&GPU all the time. That stress whole system and PSU beyond syntetic single stress benchmark could ever achieve. And that causes errors..

Imho, if you have a chance to test with different PSU, go for it.


*: The actual problem was, not stable voltage on CPU's VCore. I blamed my mobo's voltage regulators but apparently, it was my OCZ StealthXStream 600W's fault. I reached that conclusion because, I found same symptoms in almost same setups that are same age and overclocking status with mine. The problem vanished after PSU swap on their systems.. That PSU is still serving me in my new system tho. I guess new system is not asking that much watts as older one.
i5-2500k@4.5 GHz, Noctua C14 to keep it cool, ASUS Z68-V PRO/GEN3, 2x4 GB DDR3-1600 G-SKILL RipjawsX, ASUS GTX560 DCII TOP@925/1850/2000(RIP MSI GTX460), OCZ 600W, 1x256GB Samsung 830 SSD, 2xSamsung 1 TB RAID 0, 1x2 TB WD Green, NEC 7173-S, Enermax Chakra
allreadydead
Gerbil
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 7:25 am

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Wed May 09, 2012 8:24 am

I went home and ran FurMark for about an hour and it was fine. Nothing happened. So i went back to playing BFBC2 and after 15 mins it crashed again. So i changed a couple of things. I first disabled TurboBoost in BIOS and then i uninstalled all hardware monitoring tools cause i remembered that BFBC2 used to crash when i has Sapphire TRIX installed (Not a BSoD though, just freeze completely). It was this issue listed below.
http://www.overclock.net/t/996785/solut ... g-crashing
Since i uninstalled the monitoring software, the computer didnt even crash once. Its just for two hours of gaming, but i think that Gigabyte Easytune might be the problem cause it was monitoring GPU temp just like Sapphire TRIX. If everything is fine for a while i might enable turbo boost and see if the problem returns. Then i would know what was causing the problem :)

I shall post any updates. Thx for all the help guys. Really appreciate it.
plasticplate
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 11:45 pm

Re: BSOD 0x00000124

Postposted on Tue May 22, 2012 2:35 pm

Just had this BSOD on my W2k8 R2 system.
And it turned out to be a bad memory slot. Or at least, the problem was fixed after I moved one of the 2 DIMMs to a different slot.
Here was the complete error message I had gotten:

****STOP: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000,0xFFFFFA8001BDA478,0x00000000B2000000,0x000000001040080F)
pt2techie
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 2:26 pm


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests