Win7 Audio Device Switching

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:26 pm

A problem I'd love to get some input on.

First:
Wife's Computer
Windows 7
P8P67 Pro MoBo using Integrated Audio
Logitech USB Headset (no special drivers installed)
Recently uninstalled Xonar DG to make way for SLI video

Wife has some program she found called Toggle Audio 7. Frequently uses it to change the audio output back and forth between speaker and USB. Apparently it was working to her liking until I uninstalled the Xonar.

Now she's pissed that it's "back to the way it was," meaning that now if she's playing a Youtube video, the only way she can change the audio output is to close the browser and restart Youtube. Whether this is the only complaint, I don't know...

In any case... first, I guess the question is whether there's a way to toggle the audio output without having to physically un/plug the USB headset. That annoys her the most.

All output devices have been disabled except the Realtek HD audio on board, and the USB headset. Sound works fine on both, it's just a question of switching the audio on the fly via software only.

Thoughts, advice, software, or other insight greatly appreciated. Thanks!
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Wed Dec 26, 2012 4:40 pm

Have you tried removing the switch software and reinstalling? I've never heard of it but it sounds like a cool idea.

edit: apparently it has the list of devices in a config file (based on http://flexxcom.nl/2011/03/toggle-audio-7/) so maybe the config file needs rejiggered?
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21259
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:14 pm

Have you tried the normal Windows 7 way? Right-click on the speaker icon in the notification area, choose Playback Devices, then highlight the desired output and select it by clicking 'Set Default.'
MadManOriginal
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: In my head...

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:36 pm

MadManOriginal wrote:Have you tried the normal Windows 7 way? Right-click on the speaker icon in the notification area, choose Playback Devices, then highlight the desired output and select it by clicking 'Set Default.'

That. Usually it will automatically switch the existing audio feeds over when you do that as well.
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 613
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 8:50 am

I think the real lesson here is don't mess with your wife's computer, no matter your intentions.
absurdity
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 860
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: VT

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:49 am

absurdity wrote:I think the real lesson here is don't mess with your wife's computer, no matter your intentions.


Indeed. Truer words were never spoken. :lol:
Intel i5 2500K@4.3, Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3-iSSD, Zotax GTX580, 2x WD Caviar Black 1TB (RAID-0), Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Ed, Corsair H80, Win 7 Pro
Walkintarget
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 10:15 am

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 10:20 am

Or their Ipad & iPhone......I moved some icons around so they would be accessed on the opening page and boy did i hear it. Then when i went to move them back i got yelled at again "what are you doing now!" Ummmm just putting it back the way it was you big meanie :)

Anyways i do it Madmanoriginal's way switching between my logitec USB g930s and my self powered speakers.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:16 am

Walkintarget wrote:
absurdity wrote:I think the real lesson here is don't mess with your wife's computer, no matter your intentions.

Indeed. Truer words were never spoken. :lol:

Yes, I am actually dreading cutting my wife over to Win7. She complained for weeks back when she got moved from Win2K to WinXP. At least I'm not trying to get her to use Win8!
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37520
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:14 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:Have you tried removing the switch software and reinstalling? I've never heard of it but it sounds like a cool idea.

edit: apparently it has the list of devices in a config file (based on http://flexxcom.nl/2011/03/toggle-audio-7/) so maybe the config file needs rejiggered?


Tried it... no change. All it seems to do is run a little script that opens the playback audio device manager and changes the default playback device.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:15 pm

MadManOriginal wrote:Have you tried the normal Windows 7 way? Right-click on the speaker icon in the notification area, choose Playback Devices, then highlight the desired output and select it by clicking 'Set Default.'


Yes. Doesn't help... at least, not the way she wants it to operate (that is, switching mid-audio stream without having to restart a browser window or otherwise).
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 1:16 pm

absurdity wrote:I think the real lesson here is don't mess with your wife's computer, no matter your intentions.


Well... I guess I just feel shame that I built the thing for her and can't make it work just right.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:39 pm

DairyCreamer wrote:
MadManOriginal wrote:Have you tried the normal Windows 7 way? Right-click on the speaker icon in the notification area, choose Playback Devices, then highlight the desired output and select it by clicking 'Set Default.'


Yes. Doesn't help... at least, not the way she wants it to operate (that is, switching mid-audio stream without having to restart a browser window or otherwise).


Tell her to know which audio device she wants to use before playing videos then :P
MadManOriginal
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1404
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: In my head...

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 3:48 pm

Can you have it use both all the time?
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21282
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:26 pm

MadManOriginal wrote:Tell her to know which audio device she wants to use before playing videos then :P


I'll, uhh, get right on that :-D
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:27 pm

Usacomp2k3 wrote:Can you have it use both all the time?


This would be ideal... except the headset she likes doesn't have an in-line volume control or mute or anything... so there would always be an annoying "side" sound from the headset on the desk if a straight splitter was involved.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 6:37 pm

DairyCreamer wrote:
Usacomp2k3 wrote:Can you have it use both all the time?

This would be ideal... except the headset she likes doesn't have an in-line volume control or mute or anything... so there would always be an annoying "side" sound from the headset on the desk if a straight splitter was involved.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... Id=2102975
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37520
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:48 pm

just brew it! wrote:
DairyCreamer wrote:
Usacomp2k3 wrote:Can you have it use both all the time?

This would be ideal... except the headset she likes doesn't have an in-line volume control or mute or anything... so there would always be an annoying "side" sound from the headset on the desk if a straight splitter was involved.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/index ... Id=2102975


Well, that would be great... I may have muddied the problem with my reply to USAcomp though... it's a USB headset she uses, no miniplugs.
DairyCreamer
Gerbil
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:37 pm

Re: Win7 Audio Device Switching

Postposted on Thu Dec 27, 2012 11:04 pm

Vista and W7 can't output to more then one audio device at the same time, that was stripped from the audio stack functionality. A USB headset functions as its own audio device.

Sounds like the program takes exclusive control of the audio device and wont let go of it until it's restarted. Have you tried disabling that?
Bensam123
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 949
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 12:19 pm


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests