ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:20 pm

I just bought a pair of Audioengine A5+ speakers. I want to run both of my PC's into the this pair of speakers. With the ability to switch from one to the other. It would be nice if I had a headphone input on this "switch" . One PC I have ASUS Essence STX Card on the other ASUS Xonar DG. What would be a good set up to accomplish this??? If I am on the wrong board Sorry!! Plus on the ASUS STX Card is a front Case panel outlet is there a plug to combine all those small wire to just plug into card. Thanks in Advance!! David
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 9:08 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:36 pm

This should be what you're looking for.

The alternative is a DIY project like this.

Basically for the DIY version, you need three jacks, a DPDT switch, some wire, and anything else you want to make it "fancy" in terms of housing. You could make it work without any housing, too, although that could get a little cluttered, and you would be at risk of damaging your switch.
Save yourself the trouble and don't ask why the TV remote is in the refrigerator.
superjawes
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 982
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 8:49 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 1:52 pm

If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.
cynan
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 747
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:30 pm

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 3:11 pm

Use a Y cable and call it done?
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1009
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 11:57 am
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 3:25 pm

cynan wrote:If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.


Cynan is right on the money.
LukeCWM
Gerbil
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 11:49 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:42 pm

http://electronicsusa.com/mk1and2.html

Notice the ground loop info.

Fuzzhead
fuzzhead
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2005 11:02 pm
Location: Florida

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 6:29 pm

Scrotos wrote:Use a Y cable and call it done?

Or plug the Line Out of one computer into the Line In of the other.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 36920
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 9:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Hallucin8 and 3 guests