ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:20 pm

I just bought a pair of Audioengine A5+ speakers. I want to run both of my PC's into the this pair of speakers. With the ability to switch from one to the other. It would be nice if I had a headphone input on this "switch" . One PC I have ASUS Essence STX Card on the other ASUS Xonar DG. What would be a good set up to accomplish this??? If I am on the wrong board Sorry!! Plus on the ASUS STX Card is a front Case panel outlet is there a plug to combine all those small wire to just plug into card. Thanks in Advance!! David
djf711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 10:08 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:36 pm

This should be what you're looking for.

The alternative is a DIY project like this.

Basically for the DIY version, you need three jacks, a DPDT switch, some wire, and anything else you want to make it "fancy" in terms of housing. You could make it work without any housing, too, although that could get a little cluttered, and you would be at risk of damaging your switch.
"A life is like a garden. Perfect moments can be had, but not preserved, except in memory. LLAP"

-RIP Leonard Nimoy
superjawes
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1291
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:49 am

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 2:52 pm

If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.
cynan
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 857
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 2:30 pm

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:11 pm

Use a Y cable and call it done?
Scrotos
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:57 pm
Location: Denver, CO.

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:25 pm

cynan wrote:If you are just feeding analog audio from the computers then a basic switcher such as this should suffice.

If you want volume control at the switch, what you need is is a preamp.

If you are feeding digital inputs, then you need a DAC and preamp combo.


Cynan is right on the money.
LukeCWM
Gerbil
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2012 12:49 pm

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:42 pm

http://electronicsusa.com/mk1and2.html

Notice the ground loop info.

Fuzzhead
fuzzhead
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 12:02 am
Location: Florida

Re: ADVICE!! Two Computers to one pair of speakers??

Postposted on Fri Sep 06, 2013 7:29 pm

Scrotos wrote:Use a Y cable and call it done?

Or plug the Line Out of one computer into the Line In of the other.
The years just pass like trains. I wave, but they don't slow down.
-- Steven Wilson
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 39554
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest