Fast screen from powersave

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

Fast screen from powersave

Postposted on Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:31 pm

Anyone have a suggestion for a screen that wakes quickly? I have a screen I like, but it takes 10 seconds to "wake" from powersave mode. I don't use the machine often, but would like a screen that wakes quickly.
scottsmoron
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 12:41 am

Re: Fast screen from powersave

Postposted on Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:52 am

Things that increase a screen's wakeup time, in order of importance:
  1. Your windows power settings
  2. Your graphics card
  3. Auto detecting Inputs instead of manually fixing it to a specific input type
  4. CCFL lamps instead of LED backlighting
  5. Scalers, OSD, Smart features
  6. Complete random luck because each manufacturer has fast and slow screens with no easy way to distinguish.

I don't think wakeup time is a spec any manufacturers care about. Few of them even list it as a spec.
I hear rig lists are all the rage, and I <3 the rage! Workstation = Black tower thing; HTPC = Shhhh!; Laptop - AMAZING FOLDING PC!
Chrispy_
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: Fast screen from powersave

Postposted on Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:27 am

If you are running a standard mechanical HDD switching to a Solid state drive with your OS and main programs on it should cut the wake up time in half perhaps better. Since you do not have to wait 5 seconds before the HDD starts to spin from a dead stop before it starts reading on top of the SSD reading 3+ times faster.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1326
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Fast screen from powersave

Postposted on Thu Oct 17, 2013 8:36 am

scottsmoron, start by letting your monitor sit OFF, unplugging your VGA/DVI cable from your monitor, and then turning the monitor on. See how long it takes to turn up a "no input" display. If that is fast enough for you, then, as the others have pointed out, it's probably Windows that is taking so much time, and you should look into making your machine faster.
Damage wrote:Don't try to game the requirements by posting everywhere, guys, or I'll nuke you from space.

-Probably the best Damage quote ever.
superjawes
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:49 am


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests