Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, mac_h8r1, Nemesis

ordskiweicz
Gerbil Team Leader
Topic Author

DAC question

Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:15 pm

I am a complete noob on this.

I am looking for a DAC to connect an old Krell preamp - or go direct to my monoblocks - from a computer source (FLAC and mp3 files). I don't really need amplification, just good signal path.

What do you audio geeks suggest for 1) quality of signal to cost ratio, 2) pros and cons of optical or other connections over USB, and 3) control of a large file set (80+GB). I'd go up to $1K US.

I just saw the NAD 50 which appears to be a computer interface, streamer, and CD ripper with a solid DAC - at $2500. I am open to spending some dough, but would like a good result and don't need yet another computer. I don't really need wireless either (assuming there would be some signal degradation or control slowdown). Products like this - though cool - seem really redundant to parts and functions I already have.

I am also open to things I've not considered as a noob. Quality of cables?

*Maybe TR should start a 'Sound' forum - there are lots of posts on such issues.

Thanks.

superjawes
Minister of Gerbil Affairs

Re: DAC question

Thu Feb 13, 2014 5:28 pm

Well there is the Echo Vale subforum...

I've not started to look into DACs yet (just started with a headphone amp and have a sound card in my PC), but I hear good things about Schiit Audio. Even a full Gungnir (w/ USB) comes in at $850. Their focus is on headphones, but if all you need is the DAC, I don't see why you couldn't use it.
On second thought, let's not go to TechReport. It's infested by crypto bull****.

TDIdriver
Gerbil First Class

Thu Feb 13, 2014 6:59 pm

Quality of cables is largely irrelevant.

Look into ODAC or if you feel like you need it for some reason shell out slightly north of $1000 for a Benchmark DAC1.
Q9450|GA-EP45-UD3P|8GB G.skill PC2-8800|HD7870 Myst
120GB Vertex3|300GB Velociraptor|HX650|600T

Gandolf