new modem question

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

new modem question

Postposted on Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:57 pm

out of these two modems, which one should i get?

each costs $80 from where i'll buy them when i switch ISP's

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-SURFboard-SB6141-DOCSIS-High-Speed/dp/B007IMPMW4

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-SURFboard-Gateway-SBG6580-Wireless/dp/B0040IUI46

i can already see the response, both being $80 each get the 6850 amirite?

thoughts tho, i'm not into modems, only modem i've owned is the SB5100, or should i get the http://br.technicolor.com/br/hi/redes-cabo/cable-modems-gateways/dcw775 for the same price?
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 750Ti 2GB | Dell ST24 | Seagate 1.5TB | 600W PSU | MX518 | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO |
SoM
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: new modem question

Postposted on Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:05 pm

The 6141 is just a modem, the 6580 is a modem+router combo.

I've got a 6120 myself, and have set up 6121/6141's for friends family. The standalone modems work great. I've heard some not-so-good things about the combo units. I prefer to use my own.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: new modem question

Postposted on Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:00 pm

No sense in combining two parts that really shouldn't be combined. Find a 6120/6121/6141 and then a separate router, preferably with the capability to load Open Source firmware.
Life is hard; but it's harder if you're stupid. Big Al.
Captain Ned
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 20439
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Vermont, USA

Re: new modem question

Postposted on Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:17 pm

The Egg wrote:The 6141 is just a modem, the 6580 is a modem+router combo.

I've got a 6120 myself, and have set up 6121/6141's for friends family. The standalone modems work great. I've heard some not-so-good things about the combo units. I prefer to use my own.


they also offer those for $80 each

new modem is a given that i must get docsis3, don't really need a rooter atm

thx
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 750Ti 2GB | Dell ST24 | Seagate 1.5TB | 600W PSU | MX518 | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO |
SoM
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: new modem question

Postposted on Tue Mar 25, 2014 6:21 pm

Captain Ned wrote:No sense in combining two parts that really shouldn't be combined. Find a 6120/6121/6141 and then a separate router, preferably with the capability to load Open Source firmware.


i'll grab the 6141 it being the same price

thx
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 750Ti 2GB | Dell ST24 | Seagate 1.5TB | 600W PSU | MX518 | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO |
SoM
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: morphine and 1 guest