How do you say M.2?

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:05 am

I know this is a silly question but how do you pronounce the new "M.2" the newer SSD motherboard port? Is it "M dot two" or "M two"?
Intel I7-2600k, Asus P8P67, 16GB DDR3 1600mhz, Geforce GTX 780, ASUS Xonar D2, Samsung Evo 250GB, Western Digital Black 1TB, Corsair HX750w
Omniman
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 1:24 am
Location: White River Junction, Vermont

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:20 am

Omniman wrote:I know this is a silly question but how do you pronounce the new "M.2" the newer SSD motherboard port? Is it "M dot two" or "M two"?



I image M dot two, like dot1q encapsulation, dot one X (802.1X ) authentication, or 802 dot 11 [a/b/g/n/i/ac/ad].
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:26 am

I just say M 2. No "dot."

Geoff says M dot 2 in one of the podcasts though.
Main: i7 4790K - Z97 mATX - 16GiB DDR3 1866 - GTX 970 - 256GB 850 PRO - 500GB 840 EVO - HGST 3TB - U2415 - Win8 Pro x64
Work/Play: 2012 13" Macbook Air
Work: 2014 Dell Inspiron 7000
DancinJack
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2066
Joined: Sat Nov 25, 2006 3:21 pm
Location: Massachusetts

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:33 am

I pronounce the 'dot' in my head.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21323
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 11:56 am

DancinJack wrote:I just say M 2. No "dot."



That could get confusing out of context, since there's already more than a few M2s, like the failed 3DO successor, M2 Fiber optic analyzers, M2 eval boards, an M2 friggin' Browning.

I like adding the dot. makes it more obvious what I'm referring to. Like saying dot1p to a VoIP person is something they'll understand right off the bat.
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:03 pm

M.2 is a dumb term, they should have named it something like SUPER COOL NEW SSD INTERFACE PORT
i7 3820 @ 4.4, Custom Water Loop | ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB G.Skill 1638mhz
GTX 970 @ 1465 | BenQ 24" 120Hz | Samsung 840 250GB | 2x2TB Toshiba | Win 8.1 Pro x64
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | Sennheiser HD555 | Corsair TX850V2 | Fractal Arc Midi R2
Prestige Worldwide
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 515
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:57 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:23 pm

Prestige Worldwide wrote:M.2 is a dumb term, they should have named it something like SUPER COOL NEW SSD INTERFACE PORT


I have no idea why that reminded me of this, but TELE-DILDONICS is still the most awesome name for a tech that went nowhere.
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:11 am

I am so glad I Googled the term in that spoiler. :o :lol:

Back on topic, I always read it as emm dot two.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21547
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:36 am

Prestige Worldwide wrote:M.2 is a dumb term, they should have named it something like SUPER COOL NEW SSD INTERFACE PORT


You can call them NGFF if you want to, Next Generation Form Factor is a lot more buzzwordy.
Fernando!
Your mother ate my dog!
cheesyking
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2283
Joined: Sun Jan 25, 2004 7:52 am
Location: That London (or so I'm told)

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:38 am

Hz so good wrote:I image M dot two, like dot1q encapsulation, dot one X (802.1X ) authentication, or 802 dot 11 [a/b/g/n/i/ac/ad].
I saw em-two, no dot, just like I say eight-oh-two-eleven. Context usually eliminates any chance for confusion -- it's been a long time since I was interspersing .50 caliber machine guns and computers in the same conversation. But to be honest, I haven't had much reason to say "M.2" out loud at all, since I'm not configuring systems for anyone by myself and one of the great things about online commerce is that you no longer have to speak slowly and redundantly to make yourself understood by yellow-shirted sales droids.
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9999
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:17 am

UberGerbil wrote:
Hz so good wrote:I image M dot two, like dot1q encapsulation, dot one X (802.1X ) authentication, or 802 dot 11 [a/b/g/n/i/ac/ad].
I saw em-two, no dot, just like I say eight-oh-two-eleven. Context usually eliminates any chance for confusion -- it's been a long time since I was interspersing .50 caliber machine guns and computers in the same conversation. But to be honest, I haven't had much reason to say "M.2" out loud at all, since I'm not configuring systems for anyone by myself and one of the great things about online commerce is that you no longer have to speak slowly and redundantly to make yourself understood by yellow-shirted sales droids.



I love randomly using NATO radio codes whenever possible, even at the grocery store or pharmacy. Totally throws the staff off their game. :P
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 731
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 11:30 am

Do you say "techreportcom" when you need to tell someone the URL of this site?

If there's a period in the middle of something I always say "dot" or "point" depending on context.

Which is probably why I find the NY Times' habit of putting periods where most everyone else does not so irksome. You don't talk about "A-dot-M-dot-D", it's just "AMD".
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38086
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 4:13 pm

I hardly ever say "dot com" at all anymore. I mean, do you say "google.com"? I do use "dot com" when it's important to make it clear I'm talking about the site and not the company (talking about Amazon occupying more buildings nearby vs buying something at Amazon.com, for example, or NY Times the physical paper vs NYTimes.com) but when I'm telling somebody I saw a review on Techreport I don't add the dot com (at this point our browsers and/or google can usually get us to the right site without the dot com, and sometimes even when it's misspelled or otherwise not exactly right).

The one time I am careful about explicitly saying "dot com"? When I'm on the phone telling my elderly mother what to type, and it's always followed by "Now press the enter key... yes, the Return key is the same as Enter, it even has Enter written on it. Yes, it has always said that. The key that was labeled Return was on your typewriter, which was three computers and 30 years ago.")
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9999
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:08 pm

Hz so good wrote:I love randomly using NATO radio codes whenever possible, even at the grocery store or pharmacy. Totally throws the staff off their game. :P


Sure. And then, to really screw with them, you can intersperse your different frequency ranges. ITU, IEEE, or NATO EW. Go ahead and ask for an antenna with number 8 wiring compatible with L band. It's fun watching the brains explode.

just brew it! wrote:If there's a period in the middle of something I always say "dot" or "point" depending on context.


I'm always undecided on how far to take this. Certainly the rule doesn't apply to all punctuation. No one says "Eff-dash-twenty-two" for F-22. Then again, the context guidance people use leads me to often saying things like "The strike package with have four 15 ees, two 16 cee jays, and four 10s. The 15s must have 82-vee-1s." Context explains it for anyone who knows what is going on, but I'm dropping letters inconsistently.

At the same time, I'd never say "seven point six two". It's just "seven six two". That illustrates a case with ammunition without a leading zero (like .50 cal). Ditto "five five six". I might (if needed) say "seven six two NATO". The Fokker D.VII is generally pronounced "dee seven", as though the "dot" were a hyphen.

I guess my military time has made me think that periods rarely need to be spoken, if the context doesn't require it.
FightingScallion
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:59 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 7:49 pm

In a world where things are now more often written than spoken there's less of a standard, and we say it how it makes sense to us.

I leave out the dot when I'm talking about ammp ("7.62" is "seven six two") and when I'm talking about networking technology ("802.11" is "eight oh two eleven"), but I always say it when I talk about a web site ("techreport.com" is always "techreport dot com") unless I'm specifically referring to the site and not its address, and there's likely no confusion as to what I mean ("go check this out on techreport").

Historically I also said the dot in executable files ("nukem2.exe" was "nukem two dot ee ex ee"), unless I was referring to the game ("run the Duke Nukem 2 executable file") but I did not use the dot for certain files like command.com (which I pronounced "command com").
Sheep Rustlers in the sky! <S> Slapt | <S> FUI | Air Warrior II/III
FireGryphon
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7360
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 7:53 pm
Location: the abyss into which you gaze

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:04 pm

I DON'T SAY IT. EVER. UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.
sweatshopking
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:37 am

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:13 pm

sweatshopking wrote:I DON'T SAY IT. EVER. UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.


Still looking for a capitalized "period"?

Or is it because saying it at the wrong time (or too often) summons a demon?
FightingScallion
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:59 pm

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:27 pm

DancinJack wrote:I just say M 2. No "dot."

Geoff says M dot 2 in one of the podcasts though.


Yeah, when spoken in conversation with folks in the industry, I've always heard it as "em-dot-two." Seems to be the standard.
Scott Wasson - "Damage"
Editor - The Tech Report
Damage
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1699
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Wed Jul 16, 2014 12:45 am

My vote is for M2, it reflects the speed better, plus when we get upgrades we can get sportier. M2 makes me think poor mans M3, M3 makes me think poor mans M5, etc.

just brew it! wrote:Do you say "techreportcom" when you need to tell someone the URL of this site?

Tech dash report dot com
SZ87R6/i5 4560 stock/8GB 2333mhz/840 Evo 250GB/Seagate 2TB/ASUS 760GTX/Dell 2711
Rainbows lie in corded knots
While thunder wakes the sleeping crocs.
dragmor
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3589
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Oz

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 1:14 am

M2
Phaleron
Gerbil
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 12:36 am

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:06 am

M2 aka "emm two".

Why isn't this a poll? :P
continuum
Gerbil First Class
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 1:42 am
Location: California

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:33 am

M point two.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:54 am

I FOUND THE CAPITALIZED PERIOD⚫ 8)

M⚫2
jihadjoe
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:34 am

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:30 am

M [dot] two
probably drinking some tea.
Blazex
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 3:21 am
Location: Oceanside, CA

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:34 am

Hz so good wrote:
DancinJack wrote:I just say M 2. No "dot."



That could get confusing out of context, since there's already more than a few M2s, like the failed 3DO successor, M2 Fiber optic analyzers, M2 eval boards, an M2 friggin' Browning.

I like adding the dot. makes it more obvious what I'm referring to. Like saying dot1p to a VoIP person is something they'll understand right off the bat.


Let's not forget the Cyrix M2, a.k.a. 6x86MX and MII. It's what I finished Quest for Glory 4 with.
As you get older, you don't lose your friends.. you just find out who the real ones are.
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Earth, probably same as you.

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:35 am

'M' ... <then a pause> .. then '2'.
As you get older, you don't lose your friends.. you just find out who the real ones are.
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Earth, probably same as you.

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:42 am

It's my period too!
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:30 am

Re: How do you say M.2?

Postposted on Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:44 am

sweatshopking wrote:I DON'T SAY IT. EVER. UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.


I had to atually check who wrote this comment because I suspected it was SSK. Thank you, thank you, it's nice to guess right once in a while.

Platinum Subscription granted. Congrats, man!
As you get older, you don't lose your friends.. you just find out who the real ones are.
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:55 am
Location: Earth, probably same as you.


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests