Tool to discover make/model number/timings of RAM

Don't see a specific place for your hardware question? This is the forum for you!

Moderators: mac_h8r1, Nemesis

Tool to discover make/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:22 pm

What's an easy tool to use to ID the exact model number of my sys RAM? CPUID-CPUZ ? I ordered the parts from newegg 3 years ago, and they don't keep order history that long. I'm looking to double my RAM from 8GB DDR3 to 16 ( I run a metric crapton of router simulators and Virtualbox VMs in GNS3, and am starting to hit a wall, RAM-wise.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, since I'm getting ready to order as soon as I can find the exact match for the RAM I already have.
Last edited by Hz so good on Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:33 pm

CPUZ is good. If you want to go deeper, I like http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details ... ystem_info).html
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 2:47 pm

Hz so good wrote:What's an easy tool to use to ID the exact model number of my sys RAM? CPUID-CPUZ ? I ordered the parts from newegg 3 years ago, and they don't keep order history that long. I'm looking to double my RAM from 8GB DDR3 to 16 ( I run a metric crapton of router simulators and Virtualbox VMs in GNS3, and am starting to hit a wall, RAM-wise.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, since I'm getting ready to order as soon as I can find the exact match for the RAM I already have.


Newegg most definately does keep order history that long. I have orders on my newegg account all the way back to 2003 (which is likely when I opened the account).

EDIT: One part of my first order: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131436
:memories: :D
Desktop: FX-8350 | 32 GB | XFX Radeon 6950 | Windows 7 x64
Laptop: i7 740QM | 12 GB | Mobility Radeon 5850 | Windows 8.1.1.1.1 x64
SuperSpy
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1592
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2002 9:34 pm
Location: TR Forums

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:02 pm

SuperSpy wrote:
Hz so good wrote:What's an easy tool to use to ID the exact model number of my sys RAM? CPUID-CPUZ ? I ordered the parts from newegg 3 years ago, and they don't keep order history that long. I'm looking to double my RAM from 8GB DDR3 to 16 ( I run a metric crapton of router simulators and Virtualbox VMs in GNS3, and am starting to hit a wall, RAM-wise.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, since I'm getting ready to order as soon as I can find the exact match for the RAM I already have.


Newegg most definately does keep order history that long. I have orders on my newegg account all the way back to 2003 (which is likely when I opened the account).

EDIT: One part of my first order: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813131436
:memories: :D



REALLY!? Mine goes back 30, 60, 120 days, then jumps back to 2007. I'm using the same account I did before. Am I looking in the wrong place?
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:03 pm

ClickClick5 wrote:CPUZ is good. If you want to go deeper, I like http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details ... ystem_info).html



It says "this file doesn't exist"
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 3:19 pm

Never mind! CPU-Z just gave me the size, timings, and frequency, so I checked with the Asus Suite II utility that came with my motherboard, and it reports the DIMMS as Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9. Thanks anyway folks! I appreciate the help! :D


*DOH!* I'm dumb. If I'd clicked SPD on CPU-Z, it shows the make and model of the ram. *hangs head in shame*
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 4:00 pm

For high-performance RAM, the actual timings are often better than the SPD numbers. They set the SPD to something "safe" so that most any system should POST. From there, you go into the BIOS and set your timings manually.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 4:50 pm

The Egg wrote:For high-performance RAM, the actual timings are often better than the SPD numbers. They set the SPD to something "safe" so that most any system should POST. From there, you go into the BIOS and set your timings manually.



To double check, I sat on hold with newegg support, and had them pull up the parts I ordered three years ago (still no clue why it doesn't show up in my order history), and we verified the exact make/model I ordered, since I need them to match. It was Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB DDR3 CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9, btw (Which Asus suite 2 and CPU-Z confirmed as well). I needed to double my ram, since running too many VMs and router IOS images in GNS3 was starting to hit a wall, RAM-wise.
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 5:05 pm

Hz so good wrote:
ClickClick5 wrote:CPUZ is good. If you want to go deeper, I like http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details ... ystem_info).html



It says "this file doesn't exist"


It cut off the end :/ Fixed: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/siw_(system_info).html
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 5:09 pm

The Egg wrote:For high-performance RAM, the actual timings are often better than the SPD numbers. They set the SPD to something "safe" so that most any system should POST. From there, you go into the BIOS and set your timings manually.


CPU-Z usually reads the other profiles (XMP etc.) too, which can be set to what the memory has been marketed as.
Canon 6D||[24-105/4L IS USM|100/2.8L Macro IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
For sale!|24/2.8 IS USM
|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5024
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 7:30 pm

Hz so good wrote:I ordered the parts from newegg 3 years ago, and they don't keep order history that long.

You're using it wrong. Seriously!

I just looked, and stuff I ordered more than a decade ago still shows up in my Newegg order history. My oldest stored order (from November of 2002) was for a couple of these. Check out the dates on most of the reviews (aside from the first one listed, which is apparently from someone who has owned one of these about as long as I have).

(I imagine if you've changed e-mail addresses and created a new account the history wouldn't carry over... if this is the case, any chance you remember your old password? If so, the e-mail address doesn't actually need to be valid to log in to the account.)

Edit: OK, I didn't read the whole thread before replying. I guess they just lost part of your order history for some reason. Are you *sure* you used the same account? Any chance you ordered the parts using a work e-mail address or something?
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37732
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:15 pm

speccy is an alternative to cpuz for this. those are pretty much the extent of the utilities I know of that you'd want for this without also wanting other things.
fhohj
Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 4:10 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:31 pm

CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 is 9-9-9-24 @ 1.5v. Pretty run-of-the-mill. I would still manually specify those timings in the BIOS, as the auto-detect may decide to loosen those timings for whatever reason.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 9:56 pm

The Egg wrote:CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 is 9-9-9-24 @ 1.5v. Pretty run-of-the-mill. I would still manually specify those timings in the BIOS, as the auto-detect may decide to loosen those timings for whatever reason.


You know, now you've got me a little paranoid. I know I turned the turbo stuff Asus stuck in the bios, because when I built the PC, I used the stock intel cooler for the i7-2600k, and when the turbo kicked it, temp alarms started going off within 65 seconds. I can;t remember what profile I picked, but I picked the stock settings.

Mind taking a peek at what Asus Suite 2 and CPU-Z say about the memory? I know what it's *supposed* to be, but I'd loved to know what and how to change it, while do my upgrade hopefully this weekend.

DIMM Slot 2
DIMM Slot 4
CPU
Separate CPU-Z Memory screen
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:29 pm

Hz so good wrote:You know, now you've got me a little paranoid. I know I turned the turbo stuff Asus stuck in the bios, because when I built the PC, I used the stock intel cooler for the i7-2600k, and when the turbo kicked it, temp alarms started going off within 65 seconds. I can;t remember what profile I picked, but I picked the stock settings.

Mind taking a peek at what Asus Suite 2 and CPU-Z say about the memory? I know what it's *supposed* to be, but I'd loved to know what and how to change it, while do my upgrade hopefully this weekend.

DIMM Slot 2
DIMM Slot 4
CPU
Separate CPU-Z Memory screen

Timings are okay, but it looks like you're only running at 1333mhz. The BIOS will probably loosen the timings if you bump it to 1600mhz, so you should manually enter both the speed AND the timings. I'd also manually set the voltage at 1.5, and then run Memtest86 over night.

As far as your CPU overheating, I've never had any luck at all with automatic overclocking, and I absolutely don't trust it. For all you know, it could be jacking the voltage up to the moon. If you want to OC, you should do it all manually. The guys in the OC & Tweaking section can probably help you more than myself.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Wed Sep 03, 2014 10:33 pm

The Egg wrote:
Hz so good wrote:You know, now you've got me a little paranoid. I know I turned the turbo stuff Asus stuck in the bios, because when I built the PC, I used the stock intel cooler for the i7-2600k, and when the turbo kicked it, temp alarms started going off within 65 seconds. I can;t remember what profile I picked, but I picked the stock settings.

Mind taking a peek at what Asus Suite 2 and CPU-Z say about the memory? I know what it's *supposed* to be, but I'd loved to know what and how to change it, while do my upgrade hopefully this weekend.

DIMM Slot 2
DIMM Slot 4
CPU
Separate CPU-Z Memory screen

Timings are okay, but it looks like you're only running at 1333mhz. The BIOS will probably loosen the timings if you bump it to 1600mhz, so you should manually enter both the speed AND the timings. I'd also manually set the voltage at 1.5, and then run Memtest86 over night.

As far as your CPU overheating, I've never had any luck at all with automatic overclocking, and I absolutely don't trust it. For all you know, it could be jacking the voltage up to the moon. If you want to OC, you should do it all manually. The guys in the OC & Tweaking section can probably help you more than myself.



Cool beans! Thank you very much!
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:15 am

Hz so good wrote:*DOH!* I'm dumb. If I'd clicked SPD on CPU-Z, it shows the make and model of the ram. *hangs head in shame*

You are seriously losing your geek creds. Not only you did not realize how to use CPU-Z properly, but you also failed to use either Alt-PrtScn or Windows 7's Snipping tool to trim your screenshots!? Time to go away and think about what you have done. :o :P :lol:
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24439
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 9:41 am

Flying Fox wrote:Time to go away and think about what you have done. :o :P :lol:


Name and shame... lol
Canon 6D||[24-105/4L IS USM|100/2.8L Macro IS USM|70-300/4-5.6 IS USM|40/2.8 STM|50/1.4 USM|85/1.8 USM|Samyang/Bower 14/2.8 Full-Manual Rectilinear Wide-angle|
Canon EOS-M|11-22/4-5.6 IS STM|22/2 STM|EF-M 18-55/3.5-5.6 IS STM|
For sale!|24/2.8 IS USM
|
Airmantharp
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5024
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 10:41 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 11:56 am

Flying Fox wrote:
Hz so good wrote:*DOH!* I'm dumb. If I'd clicked SPD on CPU-Z, it shows the make and model of the ram. *hangs head in shame*

You are seriously losing your geek creds. Not only you did not realize how to use CPU-Z properly, but you also failed to use either Alt-PrtScn or Windows 7's Snipping tool to trim your screenshots!? Time to go away and think about what you have done. :o :P :lol:



*Duly shamed and chastened*. I'll got sit in the corner, and think about what I did. :(


Just brew it helped me get that cheap mic working in an XP VBox VM, so at least I got that going for me, today. :)
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:40 pm

If you're running Linux.
Code: Select all
dmidecode --type memory
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 12:56 pm

Flatland_Spider wrote:If you're running Linux.
Code: Select all
dmidecode --type memory



I only run linux in a Virtualbox VM (Linux Mint 17, to be exact), so I dunno if that would work. I'll give it a shot, though. Thanks for the heads up!

Since I've got some time to kill, while waiting on NewEgg to send my new DIMMS, I might grab a liveCD, and see what happens. I'll mess with it after I figure out how to get Open Solaris working in VBox, once it finishes downloading.
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:25 pm

Please fix the thread title, every time I check Active Topics, the images of Derek Zoolander and Hansel McDonald keep popping up in my head.
i7 3820 @ 4.4, Custom Water Loop | ASRock X79 Extreme4 | 8GB G.Skill 1600mhz
EVGA GTX 670 FTW | BenQ XL2420T 120Hz | Samsung 840 250GB |WD Black 1TB | Win 8 Pro x64
X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | Sennheiser HD555 | Corsair TX850V2 | Fractal Arc Midi R2
Prestige Worldwide
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:57 pm

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:26 pm

It will tell you about the VM, but it wouldn't tell you about the host. It queries and parses the DMI/SMBIOS table in the BIOS or UEFI.

man dmidecode
http://linux.die.net/man/8/dmidecode
Flatland_Spider
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 852
Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: The 918/539

Re: Tool to discover male/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Thu Sep 04, 2014 1:41 pm

Prestige Worldwide wrote:Please fix the thread title, every time I check Active Topics, the images of Derek Zoolander and Hansel McDonald keep popping up in my head.



Dear lord, I didn't even notice until you pointed that out. Sheesh! I need to go find my dunce cap, and go sit in the timeout corner already...

*fixed*
Hz so good
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 627
Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:08 pm

Re: Tool to discover make/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:35 am

I assume you didn't try opening the side of the case and looking?
SuperSpy wrote:EDIT: One part of my first order: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6:memories: :D

I had the A7N8X-E Deluxe. Wonderful piece of kit.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21301
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Tool to discover make/model number/timings of RAM

Postposted on Mon Sep 22, 2014 10:46 am

Usacomp2k3 wrote:I assume you didn't try opening the side of the case and looking?
SuperSpy wrote:EDIT: One part of my first order: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6:memories: :D

I had the A7N8X-E Deluxe. Wonderful piece of kit.


had the A7N8X Deluxe Rev 2, awesome board, still runs with a 2500+ barton OC'd to a 3200+
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 750Ti 2GB | Dell ST24 | Seagate 1.5TB | 600W PSU | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO |
SoM
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto


Return to General Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests