Geforce 3ti200 Vs Geforce 4 MX440

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Geforce 3ti200 Vs Geforce 4 MX440

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:12 pm

Lo all,


At the moment im running a Geforce 4 MX 440 64 MB DDR. (im on a budget)

I am severely unimpressed. Frame rates are 25-30 MAX in Medal of honor. On the newer maps is freezes frequently.

Ive had a mate offer me the following:

GAINWARD GEFORCE 3 Ti500 Powerpack 128 MB DDR (ti200 chipset)
and its gonna cost me about £180.

Is it worth the money? Will i notice a big difference, and more importantly is it a decent investment for the future?

To get my money back on this GF4 it'll have to go back soon, and previously i was on a GF2 GTS....i CANT go on like that..

Im sure someone will recommend the 4 Ti4200 to me but its not out for a while yet, and i cant go on like this!

Thoughts???
eZ


P4 1300 MHZ
GF4 MX440 64MB DDR
384 MB RDRAM
19" Trinitron
Win2k Pro
eZed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:04 pm

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 1:17 pm

Thats a No brainer, take back the GF4 MX and get the GF3 TI500. They are still holding their own against the GF4 ti 4400 and 4200's
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 2:37 pm

remember its gainward, so their ti500 has a ti200 chipset....still think i should take it back?
eZ


P4 1300 MHZ
GF4 MX440 64MB DDR
384 MB RDRAM
19" Trinitron
Win2k Pro
eZed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:04 pm

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 2:39 pm

Definately. The gainward will knock the doors off of that mx440. :)
Bomber
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 377
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Littleton, Co

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 3:20 pm

As Bomber said definately. And the Gainwards have been known to overclock very well!!!! :D
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7188
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Postposted on Wed Apr 10, 2002 4:32 pm

eZed wrote:remember its gainward, so their ti500 has a ti200 chipset....still think i should take it back?


There is no Ti200 or Ti500 Chipset. The only difference is clockspeed. Get the Ti200 and overclock the mutha.
Resistance is futile.
TheCollective
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: College Station, TX

Postposted on Thu Apr 11, 2002 1:34 am

The performance you are getting out of the MX does NOT sound right. Look at the Q3 benches -- it should attain 70% of those scores in MOH:AA. What kind of CPU do you have?

The Ti200 would be Better For The Future. Getting it would be The Right Thing To Do.
LJ
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 883
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 2:24 am

Postposted on Thu Apr 11, 2002 8:54 am

My CPU details are in my signature :-)

I have a 330 W power supply....and one person said thats not enuff...i dont believe them .
eZ


P4 1300 MHZ
GF4 MX440 64MB DDR
384 MB RDRAM
19" Trinitron
Win2k Pro
eZed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:04 pm

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 4:35 am

Are prices really that high in the UK? The "GAINWARD/CARDEXPERT GeForce 3 Ti200 128MB (NVIDIA GeForce3 Ti 200 GPU), Power Pack Golden Sample, ( 4ns 128MB DDR. ). Retail Box. " is only 155 Americanos at newegg, although it's not the Gainward Ti500. Seems a tad high, especially for a used card.
Rambar
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2002 4:32 am

Postposted on Sat Apr 13, 2002 1:40 pm

Those Medal of honor FPSs dont sound too good...
How do you show FPS in medal of honor?

I've not seen exactly but I have an XP 1600 and a Geforce2 MX 32mb and it feels at least 60 I reckon, even on that beach level.
q_bot_w11
Gerbil
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Sun Apr 14, 2002 1:08 pm

type in console

set fps 1


eZed

BY Admin
eZed
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:04 pm

Postposted on Sat Apr 20, 2002 10:18 am

Hi!

I'm in the UK and that price is STEEP!

You should find a GF3TI200 MUCH closer to £100 (ww.DABS.com and ww.ebuyer.com I have used and rec the former).

I would strongly rec holding on for a few weeks to get hold of a GF4TI4200 as it'll have way better perf than even an o/c GF3TI200 and will be under £150.

I sold my GF2 when the GF4 were announced in Feb and have since been running with my dusty rusty 3dfx Banshee waiting for the GF4TI4200, and finally the end is in sight!

The GF3TI200 is great, but if you can hold on, in less than a month you'll have better perf than both the GF3TI500 and Radeon8500 which were £300 2 months ago.

hope that helps, believe me, I know what it's like.
Austin
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3673
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2002 8:04 am
Location: Birmingham ENGLAND (some say Mars, or was it Uranus)


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests