Help - I've fot a wierd problem

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Help - I've fot a wierd problem

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 2:14 am

Hi to anyone looking at this, I hope you can help me. I installed a new card (in my sig) 2 days ago, everthing is fine, or at least I though ti was until I went to print something today. In the Epson Status Monitor box that opens to select print properties there is a slider for print quality and pictures of my black and colour cartridge. The problem is that behind these three things, instead of the background being a smooth gray it is striped vertiacally with white lines. All the rest of the box, and all the other tabs are fine. This is happening only in the Epson box, the sliders in say My Computer>Prpperties>performance>graphics are fine, as are others in my system. There is also a wiierd problem in Wave Edit Pro, the bottom and side bars that display time and DB is a nasty grainy colour blue, the writing is white and virtually unreadable. Does anyone know why this is happeninmg please?

I have my 17" monitor set at 32bit colour, at the optimal refresh rate at 1152X864 res. However I have changed these to lower res, 16 bit colour and 75Mhz refresh with no effect.

In the BIOS I have set it to use both 64 and 128 MB of physical memory, and it still makes no difference. I have the latest nVIDIA drivers for it 12.85 ans I am lost and need help or advice.

Additional: I used to have an nVIDIA MX400 32MB GeForce2 card and it used to work fine!!!

:roll:
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 12:59 pm

if possible, stick the card in another machine and see if it does the same thing. if it does you know it's probably the vga card/drivers' fault.

sometimes also helps to remove all other cards (modem, NIC, soundcard) and leave just the VGA... although this doesn't sound like a 'hardware-not-playing-well-together" problem, it's worth a shot.

try not to static-zap anything while you're in there... :)

JQ

(google, usenet and the manufacturer's website are also good places to ask around/do some searches)
JohnnyQ
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 1:18 pm

Most likely the card BIOS is fine. Try newer drivers ( http://www.nvidia.com ) before even thinking about muddling with the BIOS. FWIW, If you DO end up needing to monkey with the BIOS, you can use any GF2 MX400 BIOS, be it AGP/PCI or TV/noTVout. The TVout stuff is only activated and loaded if the TV chip is present, and AGP/PCI is handled by the hardware, not the BIOS. Just make sure your GF2 MX400 and the BIOS are set to the same default speeds.
Forge
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7959
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 3:15 pm

Thnak you for all your advice, I downloaded the new drivers which I thought I already had, (I only got them two weeks ago), nut I must have been on the wrong site coz the ones I dowmloaded today were miles above the ones I had. I put them in and it corrected the fault/proble, - I am sorry if I wasted your time.

:P
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Fri Apr 12, 2002 4:47 pm

That is a wierd problem your F and G key is swaped.
newbie_of_jan0502
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1770
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Postposted on Sat Apr 13, 2002 2:02 am

My F & G Keys are swapped? How?

It looks like the M key is sometimes missing and sometimes is swapped for an N, and the B key is swapped for an N as well but I can't find a problem with the F & G keys.

Then again I can't spell to save my life, my fingers always hit two keys at the same time and I get fed up of correcting mistakes in spelling so I think that when whatever it is I have written is read, the general point I am trying to get accross will be understood, It usually is and without comment to the spelling but it was at least refreshing to have had someone remind me of my apathy. This, as you will notice, is all spelt correctley (I hope to god it is anyway), it took me longer that it otherwise normally would have as I have had to make sure I only hit one key at a time. I will attempt to make no more errors in the future:roll:

I am still wondering about the F & G keys comment though. Perhaps I can't read either. :wink:

Anyway, the initial problem I set up this post is solved and so again I thank you for all the advice, help and patience.
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum

Postposted on Sat Apr 13, 2002 1:34 pm

n00b was refering to the subject of your post "i've fot a weird problem"

so could you figure out what the problem was?

JQ
JohnnyQ
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Postposted on Sat Apr 13, 2002 2:23 pm

Ha Ha. I stand well and truly corrected and humbled.

:oops:
Asus P5KPL-AM - Intel G31 Chipset
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 (4x 2.33Ghz)
4gb Kingston DDR2 800mhz CL5.0
Inwin EM019 Micro ATX Case
512mb Nvidia CeForce GT 9500 Graphics Card
1 x 160gb SATAII HHD
1 x 500gb SATAII HHD
2 x 48x SONY DL DVDRW drives
Fejinwales
Gerbil
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Z'Ha'Dum


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests