Voodoo2 SLI + Radeon8500

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Postposted on Mon Mar 11, 2002 12:37 pm

What kind of performance increase (if any) will i notice if i hooked up a voodoo2 to my 8500? What about if i hooked up a voodoo2 to my agp voodoo3 2000? Thanks
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Postposted on Mon Mar 11, 2002 12:40 pm

VooDoo2's function independantly of any other video cards. So, unless you have a Glide fetish, adding Voodoo2's to a Radeon 8500 is pointless.

Peace,
Will
Max: "It seems these evil men will never begin to understand our peaceful nature."
Sam: "Hope they figure it out pretty quick. My trigger finger is blistering."
-- Sam & Max, the Freelance Police
Prelude
Gerbil
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Mizzou

Postposted on Mon Mar 11, 2002 4:15 pm

Will running ANY game in glide mode increase the performance any? Thanks
0oALio0
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 448
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Back east

Postposted on Mon Mar 11, 2002 4:20 pm

Probably only older games with good Glide support and lousy DirectX support. Otherwise, nope.
No wonder television's a medium. It's so seldom rare or well done. -Mighty Mouse
Image
HowardDrake
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3568
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Action Jim's Rumpus Room

Postposted on Mon Mar 11, 2002 7:22 pm

Just an example, running UT on a GF2MX in 32 bit color is prettier and faster than running it in 16 bit Glide on a V2 SLI setup. I've tried it.
Vrock
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 20620
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Land of the Looney Lolcats


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 3 guests