How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:41 am

I have the latest drivers but I cant find the on/off button
I set it to performance but it is still working

Image
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:56 pm

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 1:09 am

You can't be serious. Tell me you're not serious.

Why does it matter?
Meadows
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Location: Location

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:26 am

in the older driver versions you could turn it off
it matters because older games are bugged with catalyst AI on
I cannot play oddworld strangers wrath
it's a common problem
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:56 pm

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:47 am

potatochobit wrote:in the older driver versions you could turn it off
it matters because older games are bugged with catalyst AI on
I cannot play oddworld strangers wrath
it's a common problem

I don't personally use ATI, when you slide it to the right, does it go towards "Quality" or "Highest Performance"?
Maybe a "Quality" setting would turn it off.
Meadows
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Location: Location

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:59 am

I'm using Cat 11.2 on Win7 SP1 64-bit and the checkbox to disable Catalyst AI is still present on my system (Radeon HD 2600 Pro). Perhaps you need to uninstall the driver, clean your system with Driver Sweeper and reinstall 11.2 clean. Or perhaps your video card, OS/version or .NET permutation is disabling the option to turn it off.
bdwilcox
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1261
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:21 am

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 11:57 am

it might be because I am running a 6000 series card
oh well, hopefully new drivers will be out next week
potatochobit
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 919
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 3:56 pm

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:10 pm

potatochobit wrote:it might be because I am running a 6000 series card
oh well, hopefully new drivers will be out next week

You mean HD 6000 cards use driver hacks permanently? I guess that explains some benchmark performances.
Meadows
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 12:10 pm
Location: Location: Location

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Mon Mar 21, 2011 3:21 pm

potatochobit wrote:it might be because I am running a 6000 series card
oh well, hopefully new drivers will be out next week

i can confirm this, HD6950 and 11.4 preview drivers here - same case as shown on the screenshot.
Fractal Design Arc Midi|Antec EA-650|Asus P7P55D Premium|Core i5-750|Gigabyte HD6950 unlocked|X-Fi XtremeMusic|24" Iiyama ProLite B2403WS|Logitech Z-5500|Logitech G11|Logitech G9x
glacius555
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 5:45 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:41 pm

glacius555 wrote:
potatochobit wrote:it might be because I am running a 6000 series card
oh well, hopefully new drivers will be out next week

i can confirm this, HD6950 and 11.4 preview drivers here - same case as shown on the screenshot.



Yup yup.

6870 here and same screen.
etrigan420
Gerbil
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 10:22 am
Location: Mount Vernon, WA.

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 9:56 pm

potatochobit wrote:I have the latest drivers but I cant find the on/off button
I set it to performance but it is still working

Image


Maybe you should look at the bottom of the page for the Turn AI Off button? Just saying!
franzius
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 5:13 pm

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:22 pm

Setting Catalyst AI to "performance" is the equivalent of putting it on "advanced" on the older versions. You need to place the slider to "Quality", that'll turn it off. Catalyst AI enabled is a set of optimizations that improves framerates by lowering visual quality, but trying to do so without being noticable. Setting it to "quality" simply means that none of the optimizations are enabled. Let me know if this works for you.
BehemothJackal
Gerbil
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:11 am

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:29 pm

BehemothJackal wrote:Catalyst AI enabled is a set of optimizations that improves framerates by lowering visual quality, but trying to do so without being noticable.

Back when I had my 4870, Catalyst AI "improved" my framerates in Unreal Engine games by making them 0 (zero), with a black screen, and looping sound, until the driver recovered.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9860
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 7:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:34 pm

Lol lovely! Isn't it great when it doesn't work as advertised?

*EDIT*

Now that you mention it, that's the same exact issue I had with my old 3870x2 in Unreal Tournament III.
BehemothJackal
Gerbil
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:11 am

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:38 pm

Yeah, it was a driver bug. Apparently some sort of memory leak. It popped up, was fixed in a certain driver release, then popped up again a few revisions after. I "fixed" it by disabling Catalyst AI, period.

It made a complete fool of me, too. Since the behavior was an exact match for what you'd see with a driver recovery (caused by GPU overheat,), or similar to a VRM overheat if it really locked the box up, it sent me on a fool's errand for weeks, fiddling with cooling arrangements, fan speeds, etc.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9860
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 7:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:41 pm

Oh man, what a mess. I just gave up, played something else, and came back many months later to find it working. Now I know why it all happened anyways.
BehemothJackal
Gerbil
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2009 1:11 am

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:44 am

Hi there,
I have had the same problem... i was playing a game and just crashed i narrow it down to CatalystAI,
The new version do not allow you to disable from catalyst,
So this is what you need to do in order to Disable it...
C:\Users\#######\AppData\Local\ATI\ACE
in there you will see Profiles edit it with notepad and scroll 1/2 of the way and you will see a hole bunch of numbers continue till you see one saying this.
<Feature name="CatalystAI">
<Property name="CatalystAI" value="Enable">
<Cousin name="PCI_VEN_1002&amp;DEV_6898&amp;SUBSYS_0B001002&amp;REV_00_4&amp;932E434&amp;0&amp;0018A" />
</Property>

And where it is saying Enable, Change with Disable and your all good! :) have fun!
Killzorz
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 3:33 am

Re: How do I turn off Catalyst AI?

Postposted on Tue Apr 03, 2012 4:43 am

Catalyst is not required! You are having problems then uninstall it and then download and install just the ATI drivers. You may want to use something like driver sweeper to ensure a clean uninstall.
Put those spare CPU/GPU cycles to good use - Folding@Home
Image
P5-133XL
Gerbil
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:52 am


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests