Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:42 pm

I currently have a core 2 duo 8400(?) running at 3ghz.

I have a 24" 1920x1080 monitor and small 19" 1280x1024 monitor on the side for computer status etc.

I'm currently running an ATI 4870 512mb video card and am thinking about asking for a 6870 1gig for x-mas.

Considering that many games these days are video card limited would this be a reasonable upgrade?
I want to be able to keep playing current games at the monitors native resolution, turn on all (or most of) the eye candy, and get dx11.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 1:55 pm

Actually, the thing about games being massively GPU-limited is no longer true. I think there's a reasonable 50/50 balance nowadays.

What this means for you: I had a very similar rig to yours, and I would upgrade the CPU first. I had an E6400 overclocked to 3.2Ghz, and a 4870. That's not in E8400 territory since the latter has better IPC, but still comparable. I then kept the graphics card, but upgraded the CPU to an i5-760. Result = pretty massive improvement in almost all games.

Though truth be told... I think you should be looking at upgrade the whole box, but that's an expensive proposition :)
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:06 pm

I would also chime in with the obligatory "wait a few months", do to the fact the next gen is being released very shortly (ie. Dec/Jan).
I know this screws up your Christmas wish, but I think it would be better waiting for either the 7850 or 7870, which should give similar
performance to today's 6950 and 6970, but with significant power savings (if the whispers have been true). Worst case scenario, you
end up still getting the 6870, but for much cheaper, because the new pushed down the old.

That would be what I'd do.
Workstation: Opteron 150
"Every Day": Athlon II X4 630
Server: Athlon X2 BE-2400
Gym: SN45G w/ Athlon XP 2500+ (800 MHz @ 1.3V)
sircharles32
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2005 7:31 pm

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:13 pm

Personally I'd go for a new CPU/mobo/RAM now and grab something from the 7000s series come spring.
Z68XP-UD4 | 2700K @ 4.7 GHz | 16 GB | GTX 780 | PCP&C Silencer 950 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 / X3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | HAF 932 | 480 GB Extreme Pro
Waco
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 3:17 pm

Well that's what I was expecting the replies would be though I'm surprised that games have moved up in processor requirements.

I don't think the wife is gonna go for a big computer upgrade this year though I might be able to sneak by another one next year (x-mas).

I went to this current machine from a amd athlon 2500mhz machine so it really is a LOT FASTER then my old machine.
I wish to see things not as they are but as they should be.
Aranarth
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2006 6:56 am
Location: Big Rapids, Mich. (Est Time Zone)

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Mon Nov 14, 2011 7:47 pm

I have an 8400 OCed to 3.6 along with a 6950 2 gig card Oced to 6970 speeds. I haven't run into any issues with any of my game so far, skyrin I just picked up and it auto detected to run ultra mode...so you don't need sandy bridge to run current games well.
Image
Abit BP6 2X 300A@450 mhz, 1.5 GB PC133 ECC, Renditon Verite V2200, SB AWE32, Adaptec 2940U2W, 4.3GB Quantum Atlas 10K, Plextor Ultraplex
Starfalcon
Gerbilus Supremus
 
Posts: 11716
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 10:43 am
Location: Evergreen Park, IL

Re: Christmas upgrade from 4870 to 6870 q's

Postposted on Tue Nov 15, 2011 8:00 am

Starfalcon wrote:I have an 8400 OCed to 3.6 along with a 6950 2 gig card Oced to 6970 speeds. I haven't run into any issues with any of my game so far, skyrin I just picked up and it auto detected to run ultra mode...so you don't need sandy bridge to run current games well.

Truth be told, although I'm an Elder Scrolls addict, the Skyrim engine isn't the most detailed. Not to say that it ain't beautiful though.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests