New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 2:49 pm

just brew it! wrote:And in his defense, I would've probably tried it anyway, just to see what would happen!


Yeah, I promptly did exactly that, when this first launched. :) I then tried to bypass the chip ID to force it to run, there's no data in the chip for that value to return.
Siglessness is boring.
Image - M4800-Eight1
Image - Vargr-Z97
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8041
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:39 pm

The next version of GPU-Z will purportdly allow for some older Radeon cards to play along.

W1zzard has also mentioned correcting the reported value scale for NVIDIA cards. Meaning most likely that all the numbers presently posted will decrease. Perhaps dramatically given the 125% result posted to this thread.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3558
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:06 pm

Image
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3558
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:16 pm

here is mine:
Image
Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 - Intel i7 2600k - Corsair H60 - Win 7 Pro x64
16gb Corsair DDR3 1600 - Sapphire 7970 - Gateway FPD2485W
2x320gb RAID0 - 4x1000gb RAID5 - Antec Signature 850W - Tagan Black Pearl
X-Fi Fatal1ty - Logitech X-540 - RK-9000 - G9
no51
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:35 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wi

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:47 pm

Grats on the 7970!

eVGA Result Collection

Sort of looking like there is only one set of chips produced by NVIDIA and the board partners may not do their own binning.

Each vBIOS has a handul of bins/tiers based on the ASIC Quality value used to set the default VID. Vendor may then attach additional voltage as necessary to soup up their card.

So in a sense this tells you how nice a chip you got from the wafer, but I'm not entirely sure it's something that would increase the cards second hand resell.
"Welcome back my friends to the show that never ends. We're so glad you could attend. Come inside! Come inside!"
Ryu Connor
Global Moderator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3558
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Jan 24, 2012 8:00 pm

I'll test my older MSI Cyclone GTX 460 to see what it is, but it's default V-core is much higher than my EVGA 460 that scored 125.1%. It's entirely possible that 125 isn't even "high" anyway. The EVGA is also a GPU that was made in november/december 2011 and not june of 2010.

EDIT
My older MSI Cyclone GTX460 tips the scales at a respectable 87.1%.
It has a default vcore of .962V 725MhZ core and 1800Mhz ram. 87.1% Asic

The Evga is .932V 762MhZ and 1900MhZ ram. 125.1% Asic

Best I can tell the Cyclone 1024M is from Summer/Fall 2010 while the EVGA GTX460 SC was made in Fall/Winter 2011.
Compton
Gerbil
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:13 am

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 8:39 am

Ryu Connor wrote:Grats on the 7970!

eVGA Result Collection

Sort of looking like there is only one set of chips produced by NVIDIA and the board partners may not do their own binning.

Each vBIOS has a handul of bins/tiers based on the ASIC Quality value used to set the default VID. Vendor may then attach additional voltage as necessary to soup up their card.

So in a sense this tells you how nice a chip you got from the wafer, but I'm not entirely sure it's something that would increase the cards second hand resell.


Thanks for the link. I found this indicative of the "sweet spot", preceded by the comment the only binned chips are the C.U. that follows > GTX580 Classified Ultra.......63.7, 65.0, 65.0, 67.4, 68.3, ...

Now that's interesting...
Silicondoc
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 3:22 am

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:09 am

I checked my cards again now one is 90.6 and the other is 86.6 evga 560ti sc brand/model.
Wierd:)
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 3:51 pm

vargis14 wrote:I checked my cards again now one is 90.6 and the other is 86.6 evga 560ti sc brand/model.
Wierd:)


Still using 0.5.8, or did GPU-Z get updated? W1zzard was talking about revising the data to percentage lookups. If its the same version, something is way off, since that data should be "burned in" at the factory, and not changable.
Siglessness is boring.
Image - M4800-Eight1
Image - Vargr-Z97
Forge
Lord High Gerbil
 
Posts: 8041
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: SouthEast PA

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:00 pm

Nope i did not update gpu-z but i could have had different clockspeeds/voltage in.....Ill play with it later.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: New GPU-Z Feature: ASIC Quality

Postposted on Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:46 am

Well after using afterburner to chk ASIC quality,90.6 and 86.0 same as yesterday.Tried many different voltages and clockspeeds and asic stayed the same.I did not do any reboots.But i did upgrade to the latest beta driver this week.
I really dunno why myASIC qual changed but not worried about it,they still work great,but yes the higher rated card averages 2-3c cooler then the lower rated card.
Perhaps i will pull the cards when dusting off time comes and install them one at a time and see the overclocking limits of each card by themselves.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1232
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Previous

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests