HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes it!

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes it!

Postposted on Sat Mar 24, 2012 7:39 am

Hey guys, I'm having a bit of a problem here with my new build. I have an Asrock Z68 Pro3 Gen3, a Powercolor (or was it Sapphire? I forgot) HD7950 and a Intel 2500K. Both the GPU and CPU are overclocked somewhat, and I've had to raise the minimum GPRAM clock speed to fix issues with the desktop at 120hz. I've installed the latest 79xx compatible Catalyst drivers, and used the Intel utilities for the chipset. As far as I know, the drivers are installed correctly.

My problem is that after a while (several hours), the PCI Express link seems to get stuck in its power-saving mode. Normally, GPU-Z reports that the PCI Express link is at x1 v1.1 when idle, and it correctly ramps up to x16 v2.0 when playing a game or running the GPU-Z render test. Performance in-game is as expected (and pretty awesome) and all is good. After a few games of BF3 though, it seems to not want to ramp up to more than x1 v2.0. So instead of running at x16, the PCI Express link stays at x1 (even though it goes from v1.1 to v2.0). Needless to say, this slows down BF3 tremendously, and even makes my desktop very sluggish when I run the GPU-Z render test or indeed anything graphically related. If I reboot, the problem is fixed and performance is as it should.

I've tried disabling the PCI Express link power management in the Windows Power Management console (seems to have no effect at all), and I've looked around in the EUFI for power management related settings and found none. I haven't found any settings in the CCC related to PCI Express power management.

Here's a screenshot of GPU-Z, showing the faulty link state:

Image


Does anyone know of similar problems, whether it's a bug in the drivers, some silly EUFI setting or something like that? Has anyone experienced something similar? My google-fu is not turning up anything :(
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:18 am

Check the UEFI first to see if it is set correctly. If not, alter it to match PCIe 16x. That is most likely your issue. If that fails, you need a UEFI update.

Oh BTW, end the overclocks first.
Laptop: HP Pavilion 17-e016dx. AMD A8-5550M, 4GB RAM, 750GB HDD, AMD Radeon HD 8550G integrated video, 17.3" display, 1600*900 (HD+) resolution, SD card reader, Windows 8.1 (DL Classic Shell)
riviera74
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 864
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:14 am
Location: FM, FL, USA

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Sat Mar 24, 2012 11:31 am

Cannot help you with your problem but I am very Jealous or your 120hrtz monitor.Could i know what Model and size it is and what do you think of it?
Income tax check is coming and i am looking at the Asus 27" 3d vision 2 120hrtz monitor,But it is priced around 650$.

But back in 2004 or 2005 i did buy that $1000 24 inch 1920x1200 dell "2405 i think" monitor as soon as it came out,cannot remember if it was a IPS or a Tn panel.It had a great picture but it had noticable ghosting in certain situations.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1233
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Thu Mar 29, 2012 3:56 pm

For anyone who found this bustling forum of breathtaking activity: The problem may have solved itself with the 12.3 WHQL drivers, as the PCI express interface seems to throttle down to x16 v1.1 now, instead of x1 v1.1.
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 5:53 am

Bumping this because it isn't resolved. I'm not 100% sure if standby causes it, or zero-power. Either way, the graphics card and/or the motherboard limit the PCI express interface to 1x after that
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Wed May 02, 2012 2:05 pm

Open GPU-Z, click the "?" next to where it lists the PCIE details. Or is that how you got the render test?
Q9450|GA-EP45-UD3P|8GB G.skill PC2-8800|HD7870 Myst
120GB Vertex3|300GB Velociraptor|HX650|600T
TDIdriver
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:49 pm
Location: Alabama

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Wed May 02, 2012 2:07 pm

TDIdriver wrote:Open GPU-Z, click the "?" next to where it lists the PCIE details. Or is that how you got the render test?

Yeah that is how you get to the render test, that's how I knew that something was up.
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 489
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Wed May 02, 2012 2:23 pm

Have you verified this problem persists when everything is clocked at stock (ie reset the BIOS to defaults and turn the GPU back down also)?
UberGerbil
Gerbil Khan
 
Posts: 9993
Joined: Thu Jun 19, 2003 3:11 pm

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Thu May 03, 2012 4:23 pm

I've got the same issue as you, but my Sapphire 7950 OC is even worse, giving absolutely crap performance in modern games and randomly jumping from PCIE 1x 1.1 to PCIE x1 2.0
At first the card was running just fine at x16 2.0, but after a couple of weeks performance suddenly dropped tremendously.
So i bought a MSI Z77a-GD65 motherboard, due to problems with the one i had (p67-gd65), but apparently that did not solve the problem.
Tried reseating the card, different drivers and i even cleaned the gold PCIE connectors carefully but nothing seems to help.
Image
On a positive note, i'm glad i'm not the only one with this problem
stickfinger
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:47 pm

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 4:54 am

*cough cough*
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=81356

Check USB3.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: HD7950: PCIE at 1x 2.0, instead of 16x 2.0, reboot fixes

Postposted on Tue May 08, 2012 2:49 pm

USB 3.0 has nothing to do with it if your bios doesn't have that "R_USB30 Turbo' setting.
Disabling USB 3.0 doesn't help either
stickfinger
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 03, 2012 3:47 pm


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 8 guests