Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 1:52 am

Can anyone here confirm that GPUZ does not report the amount of dedicated GPU ram with Radeon 12.10 drivers? That so far is my ONLY complaint with Windows 8.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:04 am

ClickClick5 wrote:Can anyone here confirm that GPUZ does not report the amount of dedicated GPU ram with Radeon 12.10 drivers? That so far is my ONLY complaint with Windows 8.


I'm using 12.11 beta4 drives and GPUZ 0.6.6 reports the correct amount of VRAM for my 7950. Wouldn't the ability to report the correct amount of vram be the fault of GPZ???????????????
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 2:17 pm

Thats what it thought, but at least for 12.10, it just reports 0MB. This is for memory used, not what the card has.
In windows 7 with areo enabled, I would get 68MB used on the desktop and with games, the amount used would change, now, it is 0MB everywhere.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:13 pm

Interesting. I loaded up GPUZ again and my Memory Usage (dedicated) also says 0mb. Dynamic usage says 254mb. I wonder if its anything to be concerned about since I've been playing games on my comp just fine. GPUZ quirk?
vandy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 2:53 pm

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 4:22 pm

Aero is gone in Windows 8, but I would still expect some buffering? May be not...
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24284
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Re: Windows 8, GPUZ, Radeon 6970, Memory reporting

Postposted on Wed Nov 07, 2012 5:27 pm

ClickClick5 wrote:Thats what it thought, but at least for 12.10, it just reports 0MB. This is for memory used, not what the card has.
In windows 7 with areo enabled, I would get 68MB used on the desktop and with games, the amount used would change, now, it is 0MB everywhere.


It could be a number of things. Meh.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 6970 2GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 452
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests