Computer to run 4k TV

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Computer to run 4k TV

Postposted on Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:26 pm

I wasn't quite sure where to put this, but this seems like a good general area. I've been tasked with coming up with a 4k TV and a computer to power the display. The engineering department wants a high resolution device that will display AutoCAD maps and such. I've seen a few TV's around $1000-1500 and those seem pretty straight forward, my biggest concern is how to connect a PC up to the 4k TV and be able to use all that resolution. Is there any specific HDMI standards I need to look at? What is the bare-minimum I need for a graphics card?

Thanks for the help, I haven't been following the 4k TV hype at all so I'm just trying to get an idea of how much this is all going to cost us.
5150
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Sales Tax Is For Commies

Re: Computer to run 4k TV

Postposted on Mon Jul 08, 2013 3:38 pm

There are HDMI standards that you'll need. HDMI 1.4a is what you're looking for. The graphics card will need to be HDMI 1.4a compatible too, but they usually make a big deal about it so it's not hard to see.
Ari Atari
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Computer to run 4k TV

Postposted on Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:29 pm

Are the CAD files 2D or 3D?
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1680
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Computer to run 4k TV

Postposted on Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:36 pm

Just 2D maps, nothing that requires any 3D horsepower, although I'm guessing I'm going to have to spend some cash for a GPU that can handle 4k resolutions.
5150
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2388
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Sales Tax Is For Commies

Re: Computer to run 4k TV

Postposted on Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:54 am

5150 wrote:Just 2D maps, nothing that requires any 3D horsepower, although I'm guessing I'm going to have to spend some cash for a GPU that can handle 4k resolutions.


Haswell supports 4k output. According to Anandtech this actually depends on the model you're using. Intel blames these failures on the motherboard so maybe don't skimp on that part?

I'd give this a try first before buying a GPU if you're only doing 2d.
kumori
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:11 am


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests