Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:01 pm

So apparently on of the fans died on the Gigabyte windforce radeon 7970 HD video card, and several of the ceramic capacitors looks like they partially melted/burned. Surprisingly the card still works, and is stable at stock clocks. But I would still like to replace the caps. Here is what the caps look like. Some of them melted, others burned. Oh yeah, and these are out of warranty, or else I would RMA it.
Image
Here is an image next to a ruler. I don't have any capilers nearby :/ but it looks like a 2mmx1.25mmx1.25mm size of capacitor.
Image
Here is where the caps are. It's by the VRM which are underneath the copper heatsinks on top of the metal bar.
Image

I'm thinking these might work as a replacement?
http://product.tdk.com/capacitor/mlcc/d ... H333J125AA
What do you guys think? 33 nF is probably sufficient right?
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:11 pm

Without knowing what the capacitance of the fried caps was, there's no way of knowing whether 33nF is close or not. On the other hand, it looks like they may just be power rail bypass caps, in which case the exact capacitance is non-critical.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 38101
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:15 pm

That's what I was thinking too, and that's why the card is still working even though I'm sure the capacitance at this point is waaaay off right now.
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Sun Nov 17, 2013 7:00 pm

I cannot believe it is still working....usually when I see a board with one cap fried like that it is caput. Consider yourself lucky :o
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:21 am

Yeah I know right? Not only are there fried caps, there are 6 of them! And its still working stable. Found other owners of the windforce 7970 with similar problems, seems like any cap in the 10+ nf range should work. I'll try to replace them if the videocard becomes unstable.
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:26 am

I'd replace them right away. "When it becomes unstable" can easily turn into "when it dies from shorting or too much current".
Last edited by morphine on Thu Nov 21, 2013 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: spelling
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10091
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:36 am

If some are damaged I'd go ahead and replace all of them while you're at it. Doing surface-mount parts is a pain in the ass...but I'd rather do it all once than risk the rest of them popping down the road.
Z68XP-UD4 | 2700K @ 4.7 GHz | 16 GB | GTX 780 SLI | PCP&C Silencer 950 | XSPC RX360 | Heatkiller R3 | D5 + RP-452X2 | HAF 932 | 480 GB Extreme Pro
Waco
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2009 4:14 pm

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 11:53 am

Contact Gigabyte and see if they can tell you what value those capacitors have. If RMA is out of the question, it can't hurt to ask just in case. Give them the names (C5225, etc.) of the capacitors you are looking to replace.

And I did already look for this on Gigabyte's website, but PCB parts is apparently too far down to publish on the card's page.
Damage wrote:Don't try to game the requirements by posting everywhere, guys, or I'll nuke you from space.

-Probably the best Damage quote ever.
superjawes
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 9:49 am

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:22 pm

You will need to know voltage rating also.

Ceramic parts like that don't fry unless they are over-taxed with too much ripple current or they simply are running too close to the voltage rating, and have over-volted. Ceramics are tough to kill unless the design is bad to begin with, or something downstream is asking too much of it. This means the parts you replace these with should be better than what you are removing. If you can get the original values and ratings (which is unlikely) let me know and I will locate something that should last a little longer.

An aside: This is what can happen when you overclock and thus abnormally load a power supply on a dedicated device. Too much ripple current or an instability issue in the supply can overheat parts you would normally think as invincible.
liquidsquid
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2452
Joined: Wed May 29, 2002 10:49 am
Location: New York

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:11 pm

superjawes wrote:Contact Gigabyte and see if they can tell you what value those capacitors have. If RMA is out of the question, it can't hurt to ask just in case. Give them the names (C5225, etc.) of the capacitors you are looking to replace.

And I did already look for this on Gigabyte's website, but PCB parts is apparently too far down to publish on the card's page.


Yeah I contacted gigabyte, still haven't heard from them. The video card is still working by the way and hasn't crashed in weeks... i figured it would get more and more unstable until its unusable, but that hasn't happened yet
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:21 pm

Are you sure it's out of warranty? My Windforce 7950 came with a 3-year warranty from Gigabyte as standard, and the 7970 has barely been available 18 months.
Q9550@3.4 ~ Asus P5E ~ 4GB XMS2-6400C5DHX ~ Gigabyte Windforce 3X 7950 3GB
Xigmatek S1283 ~ LG DVDRW ~ Samsung F3 1TB ~ WD Caviar SE 640GB ~ Asus Xonar DX ~ Corsair HX 520W
Antec P182 ~ Logitech G7/G15/G25 ~ Sennheiser HD555 ~ BenQ FP241W
MrJP
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 827
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 5:04 pm
Location: Surrey, UK

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:26 pm

MrJP wrote:Are you sure it's out of warranty? My Windforce 7950 came with a 3-year warranty from Gigabyte as standard, and the 7970 has barely been available 18 months.

Aftermarket cooler maybe?
Firestarter
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2004 11:12 am

Re: Burned caps on Radeon HD 7970

Postposted on Mon Dec 02, 2013 4:55 pm

Firestarter wrote:
MrJP wrote:Are you sure it's out of warranty? My Windforce 7950 came with a 3-year warranty from Gigabyte as standard, and the 7970 has barely been available 18 months.

Aftermarket cooler maybe?

Yeah it's a different cooler so that probably voids the warranty? I'm not sure actually now that I think about it.
CB5000
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: NW region


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests