BF4 Mantle Thread

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Wed Feb 05, 2014 1:52 am

I'm reserving my judgement for at least another 8-12 months. With each driver release and game patch we could still see drastic changes for some time.
i5 2500k - P67 - GTX660 - 840 Pro 256GB - Xonar Essence STX - Senn HD595's
The Egg
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 504
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 4:46 pm

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Wed Feb 05, 2014 2:07 am

Ryu Connor wrote:It could, but there are a lot of caveats attached to that.

Deciding if there is sufficient widespread adoption (critical mass of support) of Mantle to make this worthwhile. Glide greatly diminished long before the end of 3dfx.

Deciding if a cheaper and weaker CPU - that ends up being okay for gaming due to this API - is worth being slow in everything else. Time is money after all.

The debate of NVIDIA D3D being in the ballpark even with lower powered CPUs.

I don't see this changing CPU recommendation paradigms with this many aspects up in the air.

There's also the hybrid GPU support up in the air.

I'm not concerned about adoption dropping off, as it just released and already has more support than most other new APIs have after six months. By the time it would drop off I'm sure I'd want newer kit anyway.
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Wed Feb 05, 2014 7:22 am

So last night I took temps of my RAM with and without Mantle enabled. There was no notable thermal increase in either may a +-1 or 2 degree but certainly nothing like the +10 degrees I observed in the CPU and GPU.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:50 am

An update!
Feb 13 PC Game Update Notes
-General stability improvements
-Fix for an issue where spawning into, or switching to, a gunner seat in an IFV/MBT sometimes could cause the game to crash
-Fix for missing sound in Team/Squad Deathmatch
-Fix for an issue in the Defuse game mode, where a bomb carrier would be permanently spotted
-Decreased the rate at which the kill card would incorrectly display 0 health, while the enemy was clearly alive
-Fix for an invisible wall that was incorrectly present in one of the fallen concrete pipes on Zavod 311
-Fix for an issue where bullet impact sounds weren’t properly matching the actual number of impacts
-Fix for an issue where the “Draw” message would not display on-screen once a Conquest round ended with both teams having the same amount of tickets
-Fix for an issue where long IDs wouldn’t scroll on dog tags
-Fix for missing grass physics in terrain

Mantle
-Fix for a crash that would occur when activating full screen in portrait mode
-Fix for stuttering that could appear during video sequences on multi-GPU PCs
-Fix for a memory system leak that could cause stalls, which would result in frames taking longer to process
-Reduced the amount of stalls that occurred when running with high graphics setting that require more GPU memory than is currently available
-Fixed screenshots on multi-GPU PCs
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:54 am

So the new patch has resolved the micro stutter I had when Mantle was enabled. Now I have a new issue in that the positional Audio is totally borked. Doesnt work with headphones or surround sound. I go to where I think I hear fighting, crest the hill and nothing is there. I am totally unaware where I am taking fire from, I turn and look and nothing, totally the wrong direction, dead. Its making HC mode very challenging. Jesus its like they fix one thing and break another :(
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:21 am

tanker27 wrote:So the new patch has resolved the micro stutter I had when Mantle was enabled. Now I have a new issue in that the positional Audio is totally borked. Doesnt work with headphones or surround sound. I go to where I think I hear fighting, crest the hill and nothing is there. I am totally unaware where I am taking fire from, I turn and look and nothing, totally the wrong direction, dead. Its making HC mode very challenging. Jesus its like they fix one thing and break another :(

Typical DICE but at least I can try Mantle now.

Does this audio bug ONLY occur in Mantle mode?
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:15 pm

ChronoReverse wrote:Does this audio bug ONLY occur in Mantle mode?


Nope.
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:26 am

So yeah my sound issue......not an issue. Let just say I'm a dumbass! :P
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:34 am

tanker27 wrote:So yeah my sound issue......not an issue. Let just say I'm a dumbass! :P

You put the headphones the wrong way around?
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:55 am

morphine wrote:You put the headphones the wrong way around?


Maybe.....I blame Grado for the way their ears go 360 degrees. It wasn't until I plugged in my Sennheisers did I realize what I had done. :-?
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:00 am

Classic case of PEBKAC :P
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:50 am

tanker27 wrote:
morphine wrote:You put the headphones the wrong way around?


Maybe.....I blame Grado for the way their ears go 360 degrees. It wasn't until I plugged in my Sennheisers did I realize what I had done. :-?

LOL, I was about to report that my audio seems to work fine although I've went back to DX11 mode again (the colours seem a bit off in Mantle mode and I'm convinced there are scenarios where I get more choppiness than in DX11).
ChronoReverse
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 4:20 pm

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:11 pm

The sound loop bug only happens to me when in a server with custom tickets. Normally, for example in a team deathmatch server with 400 tickets, which is usually 100 tickets, when you cross the 100 barrier the sound loop commences and stays till the end of the round. Super weird...

Anyway, the latest patch resolved the spike issues in mantle mode, which is a good thing. Solid performance.
Intel i5 3570K - Corsair A50 - Asus P8Z77-V - Corsair 2x4Gb - Asus 280X Direct CU2 - 2x Corsair F90 - Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb - Antec One Hundred - Corsair CS750M - ASUS MX239H AH-IPS - Logitech LS21 - Logitech K520 Combo - Win 8.1
Nokia Lumia 920
Jon1984
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:07 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:36 pm

Jon1984 wrote:Anyway, the latest patch resolved the spike issues in mantle mode, which is a good thing. Solid performance.

Not according to Cyril in his latest review. A friend of mine running, IIRC, a 7870, said that the spikes are still there.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Grand Admiral Gerbil
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 10023
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:12 pm

For me running a 290x, the spikes are definitely gone, but the gane hanging either at <10s or at the end of round is still there. Seems to be tied to certain servers. Like the early round hang seems to be on screen admin message related. Other servers are much better.

Can't wait for the hangs to be resolved, because the 14.1 driver is quite bad in DX, for some reason it locks at a bad frame rate after starting the game, alt-tab out/in of the game 4-10 times and DX workes fine again with good performance. Weird issue. But I dont know if I want to switch the driver back to 13.4 if they come out with more mantle patches. I really hope for a few mantle things sneaking into tomorrows patch / Second assault release.
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:23 pm

FWIW, the Catalyst 14.1 beta driver is slow slow slow in Guild Wars 2. I had to revert to the Catalyst 13.12 WHQL package. :-?
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:59 pm

So I loaded up the Second Assault Xpac this morning before work and the three games I played, Caspian, GoO, and Firestorm were absolutely gorgeous. I mean drool worthy stuff. Caspian by far was the best although Firestorm comes close. Caspian is no longer green it has been turned into Autumn with the foliage being yellow and orange.

I cant wait to see Metro. And oh yeah Capture the flag is awesome!
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Wounded Warrior Project
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7281
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:06 pm

All the new maps are gorgous remakes... and no colorgrading filters... WOOT!
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:23 am

Battlefield 4 Second Assault Mantle API DOMINATION!

http://www.pcgameshardware.de/Battlefie ... s-1109970/

R9 290X versus GTX 780 Ti

Posted this earlier in Graphics.
Enjoy!!

Edit by mod: Please don't attempt to embed images hosted on servers you don't own/control.

Image
Last edited by WiseInvestor on Mon Mar 03, 2014 2:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
WiseInvestor
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:09 am

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:04 am

The Mantle version of Thief will be delayed. The rollout of Mantle goes from bad to worse.
Intel Core i5-4670K | Asus Z87-A | G.Skill 8GB 2400MHz CL10 | Asus DirectCU II R9 290 4GB | Samsung 840 120GB |Thermalright Macho | Lancool PC-K59
puppetworx
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:16 am

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:02 am

puppetworx wrote:The rollout of Mantle goes from bad to worse.

It doesn't count as 'rolled out' until the public SDK is available, and the only 'date' we have for that is before 2016.

Either way I hardly see a month delay on the first two games to support it to be a horrible problem. If it was three months I'd be a bit skeptical.
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:15 am

Savyg wrote:It doesn't count as 'rolled out' until the public SDK is available, and the only 'date' we have for that is before 2016.

Either way I hardly see a month delay on the first two games to support it to be a horrible problem. If it was three months I'd be a bit skeptical.


The initial release of the Mantle supporting beta driver was a fiasco. There were lots of pissed off journalists and lots of disappointed readers. Not quite the impact AMD was hoping for. This latest story just adds further negative commentary - not great for Mantle's image, especially since it needs all the help it can get if it is to break consumers and developers away from incumbent API DirectX.
Intel Core i5-4670K | Asus Z87-A | G.Skill 8GB 2400MHz CL10 | Asus DirectCU II R9 290 4GB | Samsung 840 120GB |Thermalright Macho | Lancool PC-K59
puppetworx
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:16 am

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Mon Feb 24, 2014 2:36 am

puppetworx wrote:The initial release of the Mantle supporting beta driver was a fiasco. There were lots of pissed off journalists and lots of disappointed readers. Not quite the impact AMD was hoping for. This latest story just adds further negative commentary - not great for Mantle's image, especially since it needs all the help it can get if it is to break consumers and developers away from incumbent API DirectX.

AMD itself noted most devs are better suited sticking to DirectX for now. Those who actually need the power are the target for Mantle.

I've noticed plenty of fanboy on both sides of the fence, but I admit I haven't noticed any pissed off journalists. Every tech site I know seems very positive on Mantle.

On the other hand, rushing software before it's ready generally does piss people off...see Battlefield 4 heh.
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:46 pm

Feb 25 PC Game update notes
-Fix for the so called “sound loop crash” issue that caused the game to freeze
-Fix for an issue that sometimes prevented players from shooting while in the gunner position of a vehicle
-Fix for the headshot icon appearing incorrectly at non-headshot deaths, such as suicide or dying of an explosion
-General stability improvements

Mantle
-General stability and performance improvements
-Fix for an issue that caused the sky/fog to be either too bright or too dark when Mantle was used
-Added on-screen video memory utilization statistics with “Render.DrawScreenInfo”

and AMD 14.2 drivers - http://techreport.com/news/26085/cataly ... -for-thief
Meow.
Savyg
Gerbil Elite
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 657
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 6:18 am
Location: Between desert and tundra

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Tue Feb 25, 2014 5:59 pm

The new drivers and patch stopped the hangins with changing maps. A tiny few slowdowns, but MUCH better then before. So for the time being, I have switched over to mantle permanently. Also, for people with hangins, enable render.drawscreeninfo in user.cfg in the bf4 main dir and look at your memory usage so it fits in your card. I dont even use AA or scaling and it uses 3GB's...
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:23 am

Intel i5 3570K - Corsair A50 - Asus P8Z77-V - Corsair 2x4Gb - Asus 280X Direct CU2 - 2x Corsair F90 - Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb - Antec One Hundred - Corsair CS750M - ASUS MX239H AH-IPS - Logitech LS21 - Logitech K520 Combo - Win 8.1
Nokia Lumia 920
Jon1984
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:07 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Wed Mar 05, 2014 12:44 pm

FWIW, the Catalyst 14.2 betas also work fine in Guild Wars 2.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Mar 21, 2014 5:11 pm

Well i have played BF4 in mantle for over 2 weeks now and a few times i have noticed that the games responsiveness goes BLEH
like trying to reload or crouch will take .50 sec to happen or sometimes it just doesn't register as a button pressed and playing HC more exclusivly it becomes quite bad to enjoy it anymore a restart fixes it but sometimes your so into the match you dont want to leave until its done....

has anyone else been having this problem?
AMD FX-8350|Sabetooth 990FX|16gb Kingston Hyper X|Samsung SSD 120g 840|AMD R9 290 TRI-X
TT ToughPower 850w,Thermaltake Xaser vi ,Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium Sound Card
killadark
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 292
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 2:55 am

Re: BF4 Mantle Thread

Postposted on Fri Mar 21, 2014 10:26 pm

None at all actually. I had BF4 at ultra, but at some points i got slowdowns, like running into people, lowered a few options to high, never had a slowdown since. So my take on it is that some options might starve mantle part of the driver and not even out the frame drops properlyy.
Aphasia
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Solna/Sweden

Previous

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests