Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:12 pm

Howdy Fellow Gerbils! I'm having trouble with a new 4K display and I'm wondering whether the problem is with the video card or with something software side.

I purchased the display that was featured on the frontpage as the $404 4K display. It looks very nice, but I can only get my computer to output 1920x1080 to it. I don't see any resolution options beyond that. I'm using the HDMI cable that came with the display, which was labeled as a "UHD HDMI" cable. I'm concerned that perhaps the problem is that my graphics card is not capable of outputting 4K because it lacks HDMI 1.4.

My card is this one: http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1271&psn=&lid=1&leg=0
Sapphire's page on my card says that the HDMI is "3D Ready", but this 6950 page says that it's HDMI 1.4a compliant: http://www.sapphiretech.com/presentation/product/?cid=1&gid=3&sgid=1041&pid=1021&psn=&lid=1&leg=0
Is there a way to definitively find out what HDMI version my card supports? I'll buy a new GPU if that's the problem, but I would like to be sure before I go out and buy one.

Thanks for any help!
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sat Feb 08, 2014 9:29 pm

According to AMD's product page for the 6950 (click here, then click the Specifications tab), the maximum HDMI resolution is 1920x1200.
Melvar
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 12:35 am

I know that some 6950 cards support 4K. The Sapphire site specifies 1.4a, which is a standard. Is there a way to know whether my card isn't 1.4a for sure?
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 8:48 am

I think you are out of luck if the card oes not support the correct HDMI rating.

But I think you could use a $30 UltraAV DisplayPort 1.1 to HDMI 1.4 Active Adapter - AMD Eyefinity Certified to connect to the 4k tv with your HDMI cable and this adapter. Your card is display port 1.2 but it should be backwards compatible and work fine if people are using these adapters to get their macbooks to wook on seiki TV's.
Here is the link to what I am 90%sure will let you do 4k at 30fps.
http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B086B-003B ... ewpoints=1

Also I have to say that 6950 has one heck of a cooler on it with those 5 big azz heatpipes and it is very wide also. Also I cannot tell from the pictures but does that card have a bios switch on it? if it does you might be able to flash it up to a 6970 and get some free performance out of that father of the 7950 :P but I do not know if the 1 GB cards Unlocked....its been a long time.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1147
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:33 am

It would really be pertinent to make sure the GPU actually supports 4K and not just the other features of the HDMI 1.4a standard before spending more money on a card that might simply not be able to drive that resolution.

I'm far from an expert, but the googling I did turned up several reports of the 6950 not supporting any single monitor resolution above 2560x1600 regardless of the connection used, and not a single conflicting report saying that it does support 4K.
Melvar
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 2:55 pm

AMD's site seems to indicate that the card does not support 4K. I guess I'll be ordering a new graphics card.
"TORTURIS EXUVIAS EUNT"
Phenom X6 1090T @ 3.2 GHz
Sapphire Radeon 6950
TurtlePerson2
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Sat May 26, 2007 9:08 am
Location: Plano, Texas

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:35 pm

Was thinking of talking by new boss into letting me buy one of these screens as a 'signing bonus' for my new promotion. Going to run off of the dock for a Lenovo T420. Any idea if it would work? Intel HD 3000 graphics onboard.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21294
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:58 pm

TurtlePerson2 wrote:AMD's site seems to indicate that the card does not support 4K. I guess I'll be ordering a new graphics card.


You could email Sapphire first to make sure, but it looks like that's what you'll have to do.


Usacomp2k3 wrote:Was thinking of talking by new boss into letting me buy one of these screens as a 'signing bonus' for my new promotion. Going to run off of the dock for a Lenovo T420. Any idea if it would work? Intel HD 3000 graphics onboard.


A quick google says no. See here: Detailed specifications - ThinkPad T420. Maximum external resolution is 2560x1600, and you need to use DisplayPort to get that.
Melvar
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 11:18 pm

Re: Trouble with 4K Display and HDMI

Postposted on Sun Feb 09, 2014 6:12 pm

Melvar wrote:
TurtlePerson2 wrote:A quick google says no. See here: Detailed specifications - ThinkPad T420. Maximum external resolution is 2560x1600, and you need to use DisplayPort to get that.

Well darn. Trying to get the specs on the port replicator, and failing at that too.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21294
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests