GTX 570 Upgrade

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Tue Mar 04, 2014 6:28 pm

Looking to upgrade , maybe 770 ? 780 ?? not sure which one.



Crysis 3.
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Re: GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:24 pm

I have that card.

I've established my goal to be either a GTX 770 or a Radeon 280X. And since the latter won't be found at a decent price any time soon, it's the former, as soon as I can sell the current card.
There is a fixed amount of intelligence on the planet, and the population keeps growing :(
morphine
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9999
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2002 8:51 pm
Location: Portugal (that's next to Spain)

Re: GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:27 pm

770 is a great card for Crysis3 at 1920x1080, but insufficient for fluid gameplay (nominally 40fps) at 2560x1440 or higher unless you really dial back the graphical detail settings.

What's your screen resolution?
Do you have to have "Ultra" settings in every game, or are you okay with "High"?

I found that a 660Ti (three-quarters of a 770) can play Crysis 3 at the "very high" preset but nosedives on Ultra. With a few console commands I could get Ultra-like detail without killing the framerate.
<insert large, flashing, epileptic-fit-inducing signature (based on the latest internet-meme) here>
Chrispy_
Gerbil Jedi
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1885
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 3:49 pm

Re: GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Sat May 10, 2014 10:50 am

Chrispy_ wrote:770 is a great card for Crysis3 at 1920x1080, but insufficient for fluid gameplay (nominally 40fps) at 2560x1440 or higher unless you really dial back the graphical detail settings.

What's your screen resolution?
Do you have to have "Ultra" settings in every game, or are you okay with "High"?

I found that a 660Ti (three-quarters of a 770) can play Crysis 3 at the "very high" preset but nosedives on Ultra. With a few console commands I could get Ultra-like detail without killing the framerate.


Resolution is 1920x1200 and I play at all Ultra setting , also just bought BF 4.

Really close to hitting submit button on the 780 GTX.
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Re: GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Sat May 10, 2014 11:05 am

Done
Core I7 2600K @ 4.6 | Asrock P67 Extreme 4 | 16 gig Corsair | EVGA Superclocked GTX 780 | Samsung 840 Pro SSD | Seasonic X-850 W

Phenom II 940 | Gigabyte MA78G-DS3HP | 2x2 gig G-Skill dr2 800 | 500 W Seasonic | WD 640 HDD | Sapphire 4890 1 gig
tsoulier
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2939
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:17 am
Location: South Louisiana

Re: GTX 570 Upgrade

Postposted on Sat May 10, 2014 12:41 pm

Good luck playing Crysis 3 in Ultra :P
Intel i5 3570K - Corsair A50 - Asus P8Z77-V - Corsair 2x4Gb - Asus 280X Direct CU2 - 2x Corsair F90 - Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb - Antec One Hundred - Corsair CS750M - ASUS MX239H AH-IPS - Logitech LS21 - Logitech K520 Combo - Win 8.1
Nokia Lumia 920
Jon1984
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:07 pm
Location: Portugal


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests