Old Games at 2K Resolution

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:45 pm

After my comment in the Radeon 295 X2 review about old games for the 4K resolution test, I dug out a few to test myself in 2K resolution (27in 2K [2560x1440] Korean screen...not 4K).

Anyway, if would like to see, here are four screenshots each of each game tested:
NOTE: All games are using the "max" settings within the game, no other post setting was applied.

Doom 3 (with a few lighting mods, and .ini edit for 2K):
http://i.imgur.com/tWzbsQR.png
http://i.imgur.com/HHzmi3i.png
http://i.imgur.com/dg9fGYa.png
http://i.imgur.com/A7mi6ah.png

Quake II (.ini edit for 2K with OpenGL):
http://i.imgur.com/CMTHq7R.png
http://i.imgur.com/UIWEap3.png
http://i.imgur.com/JBr5irX.png
http://i.imgur.com/QajDZPz.png

Half-Life (the original goldsrc version):
http://i.imgur.com/L3JpS1p.png
http://i.imgur.com/sQ0KVbr.png
http://i.imgur.com/t6KGpRp.png
http://i.imgur.com/sEIcP6A.png

And for kicks, Mario Kart 64 in 2K emulation (with 16AF, 8X AA):
http://i.imgur.com/0a9nCiP.png
http://i.imgur.com/1NL4xBB.png
http://i.imgur.com/tYDsVew.png
http://i.imgur.com/R4GjPqg.png

I tried Red Alert 2, but FRAPS did not like the game, and the game would run at a mind numbing 4 fps. For a game that has a built in resolution cap of 1024x768, 2560x1440 is just a little high for their engine to draw the screen. So, no to Red Alert 2.

I'll try to get more pics of games later on.
Last edited by ClickClick5 on Wed Apr 09, 2014 7:22 am, edited 2 times in total.
i7-2600k (4.1Ghz), 16GB DDR3-1600, 980 4GB, GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, Recon3D Audio (PCI-E), WD 1TB Black (os/programs), WD 2TB Green (games), WD 3TB Green (movies/music), Win 8.1 Pro x64
Check out my site for trance mixes and other goodies! linserv.biz.tm
ClickClick5
Gerbil XP
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 487
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:28 pm
Location: Somewhere in a land the doctor says does not exist...

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:16 pm

Nice work! You might want to correct your nomenclature though. 2K is 1080p. What you have here is 1440p.

I have a 4K display at work. Ran OpenArena on it. It is not as impressive as one might expect. FPS games at 4K really needs better textures to shine.

AOE HD on the other hand is amazing at 4K.
LASR
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 9:35 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Tue Apr 08, 2014 11:29 pm

Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:29 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 10:38 am

TwistedKestrel wrote:Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?


Summer 2004. It's been more time since Doom 3 came out than the gap between Doom and Doom 3.
Workstation: FX-8320, Geforce GTX 970, 16 gigs RAM, Lubuntu 14.04 x64
Server: Core i3 4170, Radeon 7750, 12 gigs RAM, Windows 8.1 x64
WTF: Athlon X4 750K, Quadro FX 580, 8 gigs RAM, Slackware64 14.1
Macbook Air 2013, 8 gigs RAM
Concupiscence
Gerbil Team Leader
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 7:58 am
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:20 am

Oh the hours spent in Quake II w/ Lithium mod gibbing people!
(\_/)
(O.o)
(''')(''')
Watch out for evil Terra-Tron; He Does not like you!
tanker27
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7625
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:51 am

protip: use nglide for games that support glide, but not hd resolutions. Nglide can render up to your screen res. Also, some old games like starsiege don't work right in opengl, but the effects work fine using nglide.
l33t-g4m3r
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2058
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 2:54 am

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 11:54 am

that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | Crucial M500 240GB | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 960 SSC 4GB | MIOS 800W | Dell ST24 | MX518 | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO | Seagate 3TB Expansion
SoM
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:12 pm

SoM wrote:that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards


the white bar out to it is meant to be a keyboard tray. Got things like that around our office here... no hover required.
Arvald
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 12:14 pm
Location: Gerbil-land, Canada

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:29 pm

Concupiscence wrote:
TwistedKestrel wrote:Doom 3 is old? Didn't that come out, like, yesterday?


Summer 2004. It's been more time since Doom 3 came out than the gap between Doom and Doom 3.


You calling me old? :P
TwistedKestrel
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 302
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 4:29 pm

Re: Old Games at 2K Resolution

Postposted on Thu Apr 17, 2014 12:30 pm

Arvald wrote:
SoM wrote:that 2nd HL pic is missing a computer desk, or black mesa invented hoverkeyboards


the white bar out to it is meant to be a keyboard tray. Got things like that around our office here... no hover required.


ah yes you're right, had to check youtube and all is good, my bad :/
AMD Phenom2 X2 555 - 3.2GHz | unlocked X4 B55 3.6GHz | ASUS M4N75TD | Crucial M500 240GB | 2x4GB Patriot DDR3-1600 | EVGA GTX 960 SSC 4GB | MIOS 800W | Dell ST24 | MX518 | Win 7 Home SP1 | Sennheiser HD 280 PRO | Seagate 3TB Expansion
SoM
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:56 am
Location: Toronto


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], FireGryphon and 9 guests