GF4 4400 with 2 VGA-outs?

From the pixels, bits, and shaders to the graphic cards that power them. Discuss the latest from AMD and NVIDIA here.

Moderators: morphine, SecretSquirrel

Postposted on Fri Mar 29, 2002 8:08 pm

I'm looking to buy a GF4 4400, but I want a card with 2 VGA-outs (I don't care about TV-out, DVI, S-Video... just VGA). Can anyone point me to such a beast? Every brand I've looked at seems to have the wrong combination of connectors...

Alternatively, is there anywhere I could possibly get a VGA -> DVI adaptor (if it exists)?

-Polare
Polare
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Land of the Monkeys

Postposted on Fri Mar 29, 2002 9:55 pm

Do you want to go from a DVI connector on the card to a VGA connector on the monitor cable? Yes, DVI --> VGA connection adapters do exist. So then you could use the VGA, plus the DVI (with the DVI --> VGA adapter) to have two VGA outputs. I have done this with my Radeon 8500 (retail), and while its not an nVidia card, the technique is still applicable. The Visiontek GeForce4 Xtasy 4400 features VGA, S-Video, and DVI. So you would have both a VGA & DVI, and I believe it even comes bundled with the DVI --> VGA adapter.
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI

Postposted on Fri Mar 29, 2002 11:47 pm

On 2002-03-29 21:55, lenzenm wrote:
Do you want to go from a DVI connector on the card to a VGA connector on the monitor cable? Yes, DVI --> VGA connection adapters do exist. So then you could use the VGA, plus the DVI (with the DVI --> VGA adapter) to have two VGA outputs. I have done this with my Radeon 8500 (retail), and while its not an nVidia card, the technique is still applicable. The Visiontek GeForce4 Xtasy 4400 features VGA, S-Video, and DVI. So you would have both a VGA & DVI, and I believe it even comes bundled with the DVI --> VGA adapter.


Hooray! Thanks.

-Polare
Polare
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Land of the Monkeys

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 12:24 am

Not so fast. Just because a card has a DVI output doesn't mean you can just throw on a DVI-VGA adapter and run an analog monitor. The card itself needs a secondary RAMDAC to be able to run two VGA monitors.

Hercules' 8500LE card is a good example of this: it has DVI and VGA outputs, but only one RAMDAC so a DVI to VGA adapter doesn't work for dual analog monitors.
Dissonance
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 12:41 am

Dissonance:
True enough, but the theVisiontek I mentioned has dual 350MHz RAMDACs. I should have mentioned them when I posted.
However, just because the Visiontek does have dual RAMDACs, does not meant that another company's will. So, read the specs on whichever company's Ti4400 that you're considering, Polare.
lenzenm
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI

Postposted on Sat Mar 30, 2002 9:45 am

OK, thanks for the warning. I had been looking at that though so not to worry :smile: Actually, every GF4 4400 I've looked at so far -- no matter the outputs -- has included 2 RAMDAC's on it.

-Polare
Polare
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Land of the Monkeys

Postposted on Sun Mar 31, 2002 8:39 pm

Sigh. I lost my post.

Anyway.

It might be a good idea to double check the specs because DVI connectors can technically support only analog (with adapter), only digital, or both. I would assume a newer card such as a GF4 Ti with native digital support and twinview would support all four possible configurations. (Analog+Analog, Digital+Analog, Analog+Digital, or Digital+Digital)
Freon
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 781
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 6:00 pm
Location: Indiana


Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests