AVG Internet Security GUI

The place for all kinds of software for all kinds of operating systems.

Moderator: Dposcorp

AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:38 pm

I was looking recently at AVG Antivirus Free, which also allows you to choose a 30-day (or something like that) free trial of AVG Internet Security. I installed it on my desktop and laptop. Problem is, I noticed that AVG's GUI on my laptop (freshly reformatted) doesn't appear to be correct; the menu on the left side of the panel doesn't appear to display correctly. I'd like to post a screenshot here but I'm just not sure how to go about it. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:28 pm

Upload the screenshot to one of those image sharing sites and provide the link here. Or use the [img] tag for direct linking.
Image
The Model M is not for the faint of heart. You either like them or hate them.

Gerbils unite! Fold for UnitedGerbilNation, team 2630.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24140
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 1:19 am

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:11 am

Here it is. The left menu panel is not displaying correctly. I already tried uninstalling and re-installing the program.

Image

You can compare my screenshot to those here:

http://www.softpedia.com/progScreenshot ... -6858.html

Thanks!
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:22 am

Those are screenies for the free edition. Who says that the two products have to look the same?
Think for yourself, schmuck!
i5-2500K@4.3|Asus P8P67-LE|8GB DDR3-1600|Powercolor R7850 2G|1.5TB 7200.11|1988 Model M|Saitek X-45 & P880|Logitech MX 518|Dell 2209WA|Sennheiser PC151|Asus Xonar DX
bthylafh
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: Mon Dec 29, 2003 10:55 pm
Location: Southwest Missouri, USA

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:51 am

bthylafh : Yes, AVG Free's and AVG Internet Security's menus are supposed to more or less look the same. In the screenshot, I installed AVG I.S. on my Lenovo laptop. I actually installed AVG I.S. on my desktop too, and the menus on the desktop installation look exactly like those on the link. I think there's something wrong with the laptop installation.
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Wed Apr 18, 2012 10:33 pm

Yep, I can confirm that your screenshot looks a bit off. My work PC has AVG free 2012 and has rounded "bubble" boxes.
Do'h!
kikib
Gerbil In Training
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:37 pm
Location: Universe

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Fri Apr 20, 2012 5:58 am

Just for kicks I fired up AVG Free (the trial expired a while back), because I didn't see anything wrong with your screenshot, and sure enough my left-hand side looks just like yours.

Is it possible they re-did the UI? Go to Help --> About AVG and compare versions. Are they different?
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21141
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 8:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: AVG Internet Security GUI

Postposted on Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:01 pm

derFunkenstein : Somehow I don't think they did the UI. For one thing, the menus on the link look much better than the half-baked-looking ones on the screen shot. Second, I actually had AVG Free installed on the laptop prior to reformatting and installing it again, and at that time it looked just like the ones on the link.

I can't check the versions because I've since tried Avast Free, which is also pretty good. I still, however, would like to know exactly what causes AVG to act this way, because there seems to be something wrong with it and I can't find any help on AVG's website. I'd rather have two anti-virus packages instead of relying on just one (Avast) for protection, but something tells me either there's something really weird going on with my laptop (it's new though, and I've tested RAM, CPU, HDD, etc.) or AVG is not as stable as it can be.
AMD FX-8350 / Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev. 4) / 2 x G.Skill Ripjaws 4GB DDR3-1866 / AMD HD7770 1GB / TP-Link WN723N USB Wifi-N / Samsung 840 EVO 250GB / Hitachi 7K1000.C 1TB / LG ODD / Cooler Master GX650 / Aerocool VS3 / LG W2252TQ / Win7 64-bit
ronch
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:55 am
Location: Down in the Bonehoard


Return to General Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests