Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

The place for all kinds of software for all kinds of operating systems.

Moderator: Dposcorp

Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 7:46 pm

Everest Ultimate, HWMonitor or RealTemp, which is the most accurate. I have read that Everest is the best but is that true?
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 8:09 pm

I'm pretty sure the "accuracy" comes from the temperature sensor in the cpu/mobo/gpu. All the program does is display the number that the sensor outputs (or at least that's what I've seen using HW monitor).
Ari Atari
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 8:12 pm

Ari Atari wrote:I'm pretty sure the "accuracy" comes from the temperature sensor in the cpu/mobo/gpu. All the program does is display the number that the sensor outputs (or at least that's what I've seen using HW monitor).

I have AI Suite 2 installed on my P8P67 PRO, would HWMonitor be better than AI Suite ?
RAMBO
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 11:34 am

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 9:22 pm

After a quick Google search of what AI Suite 2 is, AI Suite 2 can do a lot more than HW monitor can. HW monitor only shows you numbers, while AI Suite 2 shows you numbers and allows you control voltages, fan speeds, and the like. I don't think better is the right word, its more like different. HW monior might look for more/different numbers to display but they won't be anymore accurate.
Ari Atari
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 9:37 pm

HWMonitor doesn't seem to read voltages correctly on my Z68AP-D3 board. It lists these weirdo numbers:

Code: Select all
 Rail    HWMon
+3.3V    2.78
  +5V    4.76
 +12V    3.74
 -12V   -4.27
  -5V   -4.32


There's no way those can be right. The BIOS lists all of these as being +/- 0.1v of where they belong.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21338
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Tue May 01, 2012 9:57 pm

Mine were like that too before my power supply bit the dust. My -12v still goes from -12v to -16v with my new xfx 850w power supply. They seem legitimate to me, but I do wonder why they are so far off.
Ari Atari
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Wed May 02, 2012 12:17 pm

Ari Atari wrote:Mine were like that too before my power supply bit the dust. My -12v still goes from -12v to -16v with my new xfx 850w power supply. They seem legitimate to me, but I do wonder why they are so far off.

AIDA64 shows more reasonable numbers in my case: 11.875, 4.96, and 3.21 for 12v, 5v, and 3.3v. I'm not concerned, I just think HWMonitor is being a turd.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21338
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Re: Everest vs HWMonitor vs RealTemp, which one is the best?

Postposted on Wed May 02, 2012 1:58 pm

derFunkenstein wrote:
Ari Atari wrote:Mine were like that too before my power supply bit the dust. My -12v still goes from -12v to -16v with my new xfx 850w power supply. They seem legitimate to me, but I do wonder why they are so far off.

AIDA64 shows more reasonable numbers in my case: 11.875, 4.96, and 3.21 for 12v, 5v, and 3.3v. I'm not concerned, I just think HWMonitor is being a turd.

Same here derFunkenstein. It also is the only one that correctly labels the values.
I stopped using HWMonitor a while back because after a few hours of stressing the "Min" value of some voltages would show up as 0.1 or something else ridiculous. Haven't had the problem with AIDA64.
Q9450|GA-EP45-UD3P|8GB G.skill PC2-8800|HD7870 Myst
120GB Vertex3|300GB Velociraptor|HX650|600T
TDIdriver
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 3:49 pm
Location: Alabama


Return to General Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests