Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Dposcorp

kamikaziechameleon
Gerbil Elite
Topic Author

Data bases for dumb dumbs.

Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:26 pm

Hey all. If you've been through one of my threads before you may recall I was a Industrial Design/manufacturing engineer that did way too many things. Well I've left that life behind... relatively speaking. At any rate I'm now a new sales rep (inside and outside if you must know) for a small company that is desperately in need of not only an IT person but also a database. They currently have Access, but they don't have any idea what to really do with it. 2/3 of their business is still 100 percent on paper. I'm pushing the move to all digital simply so I can better data mine each and every customer to develope instructional statistics for our different products and businesses. I'm soon going to be the only sales rep in my department as the other one is retiring so... TMI, sorry.

At any rate this is not my forte but being ignorant is no excuse so I reach out to you guys. What would be a good couple of softwares and tutorials or articles for me to read, try, mess around with to calibrate my mind to understand

1. What is really possible.
2. What is the true time investment in building such a system.
3. What are other unforeseen benefits might I get back besides data for marketing and easier to track file systems.

Thanks in advanced guys. :D

cphite
Graphmaster Gerbil

Re: Data bases for dumb dumbs.

Tue Feb 19, 2013 3:51 pm

kamikaziechameleon wrote: