Personal computing discussed

Moderators: renee, Captain Ned

idchafee
His Holy Gerbilness
Topic Author

Baseball & world history help needed

Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:30 am

OK, so most of you know I work in a school district. Now that the Cubs have clinched, one of the prinicpals thinks it might be fun to try to incorporate the Cubs into his "fact of that day" announcement every morning over the PA. So, I need a list of things that have happened since the Cubs last World Series win in 1908. Here is what I have so far:

The automobile (Model T indroduced October 1, 1908)
radio and TV
14 teams were added to Major League Baseball
Haley's comet passed Earth, twice
NBA, NHL and NFL were formed, and Chicago teams won championships in each league
The US fought in two world wars, the Korean War, Vietnam War and two Gulf Wars
Man landed on the moon
Sixteen US presidents
Eleven amendments added to the Constitution
Wrigley Field built and becomes the oldest park in the National League
A combination of 44 Summer and Winter Olympics have been held
The Cubs played more than 15,000 regular-season games,
Alaska, Arizona, Hawaii, Oklahoma and New Mexico were admitted to the Union
Communism
The United Nations

Any help would be appreciated
YOU CAN RUPTURE SOMEONE'S SPLEEN WITH A WATER BALLOON!!!!

mattsteg
Gerbil God

Re: Baseball & world history help needed

Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:40 am

idchafee wrote:
The automobile (Model T indroduced October 1, 1908)
Not exactly the first car. Not even the first practical one. It's more a feat of manufacturing, really. By 1908 the world land speed record was up over 125 mph, actually, obtained by a steam-powered car. Now it stands at 760. The air speed record was under 50mph and is now well over 2000 mph for manned air-breathing craft that take off and land "normally". It also hasn't changed in over 30 years.
idchafee wrote:
radio and TV
Radio also predates 1908 by several years.
idchafee wrote: