is this good?

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

is this good?

Postposted on Sat Jul 30, 2005 9:44 pm

AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice 1GHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - Retail $146.00

CHAINTECH VNF4/Ultra Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard – Retail $80.00

CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory – Retail $81.99

HIS Hightech PQS80LN-6I-ZPC Radeon X800XL 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card – Retail $287.00

Seagate Barracuda 7200.7 ST3120026A-RK 120GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive – Retail $93.00

ASPIRE X-Plorer ATXB8KLW-BK Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case – Retail $50.00

Antec SmartPower 2.0 SP-450 ATX12V 450W Power Supply 115/230 V UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, CUL – Retail $69.00

NEC Black 16X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 4X DVD+R DL 16X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2M Cache IDE DVD Burner - Retail $47.99

ViewSonic VP171B-2 Black 17" 8ms LCD Monitor 300 cd/m2 500:1 – Retail $329.99

Microsoft Windows XP Home Upgrade with SP2 - Retail $92.95


Total Price: $1,186

these all part from http://www.newegg.com

Hi guys...finally I am back. :)

And...I'm not sure Window XP Pro could better for me. That's I would decision with spec...I mean final spec.

Do you guy think???

P.S Probably I going order http://www.newegg.com about mid-august or end of august.

EDIT: It is for gaming and photoshop.
FX-55|Patriot 1GB DDR400|BFG 7600GT|Rosewill 550W PSU|Biostar nforce4 SLI|Samsung SATA 300GB HDD
Skyline57GTR
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: New Jersey

Re: is this good?

Postposted on Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:21 pm

Skyline57GTR wrote:CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory – Retail $81.99
....
EDIT: It is for gaming and photoshop.
Photoshop loves RAM.
$218 2x1GB Mushkin PC3200 CAS2.5 unbuffered DDR SDRAM
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15531
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Sat Jul 30, 2005 11:28 pm

Any particulare reason why you're going with the ATA/100 drive instaed of a SATA?
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21322
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 12:46 am

Get the Windows XP Home OEM instead of the Upgrade, it shouldn't cost any more money and will cut out a dependency (having to find an old OS when installing).

Just an echo, I'd get a SATA drive as well.
Coran Fixx
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1494
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Hazzard County, MO

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 1:02 am

Looks good. SATA as mentioned, and if you're not planning to overclock I'd bump the CPU to a 3200+ or 3500+, but otherwise fine.
Work is punishment for failing to procrastinate effectively.
last.fm profile
Illissius
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2003 5:25 am
Location: Hungary

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:32 am

If you are serious about PhotoShop work, then get another drive for scratch/pagefile. It's so cheap and may beat a faster CPU, depending on what you do.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24518
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 2:38 am

Go with XP Pro, so when you slap a dual core CPU in there later, you can actually use both cores.

Spend $20 more and get this 19" monitor.
emkubed
Gerbil Elder
 
Posts: 5848
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 9:28 am
Location: Limbo

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 10:28 am

as i understand microsofts multicore processor licensening agreement windows xp home should support a dual core processor fine . as i understand it a processor is the physical package the processor is attached to . it has nothing to do with the number of cores . correct me if i am wrong http://www.microsoft.com/licensing/high ... .mspx#EBAA
Hance
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7641
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 1:58 pm
Location: Grace Idaho

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:25 am

Western Digital 320GB SATA 8MB Cache 7200RPM (WD3200JD)

Dell UltraSharp 2005FPW 20.1-inch Wide Aspect Flat Panel LCD Monitor with Height Adjustable Stand

The Dell LCD was $389 yesterday....They do a fire sale about twice a month just wait it out. You can find coupons to get that HDD for $130 if you look around. Its a little more money but i don't think you upgrade often and these are two things that are worth the extra cash.
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:17 pm

Usacomp2k3 wrote:Any particulare reason why you're going with the ATA/100 drive instaed of a SATA?


Um...I'm not sure what you mean...well you talked about SATA are better than ATA or what did Chaintech mobo support it?

emkubed- Oh okay I'll stick XP Pro and but not spent dual-core cpu for right now.

Coran Fixx- What? it's just OEM thing. I want do retail...because I not sure if it's modify OS.

JustAnEngineer- Ugh...too expensive for me...but yes 2GB will smooth when running photoshop. I'll stick with 1GB RAM. EDIT: Also I like low latency about 2.5 cas only...but no more than 2.5 cas.

Nelliesboo WD 320GB HDD....hmm...maybe But maybe better 200GB is enough for me...because of price. EDIT: oh no...it's too expensive that precious Dell widescreen LCD 20" for me... :-?
FX-55|Patriot 1GB DDR400|BFG 7600GT|Rosewill 550W PSU|Biostar nforce4 SLI|Samsung SATA 300GB HDD
Skyline57GTR
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:37 pm

emkubed wrote:Go with XP Pro, so when you slap a dual core CPU in there later, you can actually use both cores.

Spend $20 more and get this 19" monitor.


agreed, the main reason to go with pro is finally coming mainstreamy
blitzy
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1782
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2004 6:27 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:38 pm

Skyline57GTR wrote:
Nelliesboo WD 320GB HDD....hmm...maybe But maybe better 200GB is enough for me...because of price. EDIT: oh no...it's too expensive that precious Dell widescreen LCD 20" for me... :-?


$389 vs. $329.99???? give some blood, cut some lawns, deliver newspapers. The same goes for the HDD..looking at your current system (which is pretty old) you don't upgrade often...do what you gotta do to get some extra cash because both those are well worth it.
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:42 pm

Circuity city is running a Seagate 300gb hard drive for only $99 AR, hum.. here it is looks like you have to go instore to get the other $40 AR

Link
paco
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: So Cal

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 3:51 pm

Or I can have Seagate 120GBx2 each $93 and total $186 from newegg
FX-55|Patriot 1GB DDR400|BFG 7600GT|Rosewill 550W PSU|Biostar nforce4 SLI|Samsung SATA 300GB HDD
Skyline57GTR
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1758
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 9:37 pm
Location: New Jersey

Postposted on Sun Jul 31, 2005 4:00 pm

so.... 240gb for 186 rather than 300gb for 150 (130 with coupons)
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests