I just got a new case and now i got problems

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

I just got a new case and now i got problems

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:16 am

ok, my new case came in today. It is a brand new Antec P180 and my old case is a 3 yo Compusa Gamerz case (crappy i know). The computer had been working just fine, games and all, when i turned it off to switch it into the new case. i turned it off, turned off the psu, and removed all of the cables. 2+ hours later, this new case was a BITCH to work with due to the bad instructions, i finally get everything installed. no new or different components were added, just moving all the stuff from my old case to my new case.

So when i pushed the power button to turn on my computer, it does for like 1 sec then shuts off. Its like it is a failed start. I figured it was a power issue of not enough voltage to go around (since the new case has two 120mm fans and one 80mm fan in it, compared to just one 80mm fan in my last case). I take those out, still a failed start. I take out the 6800gt, and still a failed start. Finally i say the hell with it and i taked out every single thing out of the mobo so that in end, it is just the cpu/hsf, mobo, and psu. And i STILL get the failed start. I take out the cpu so its just mobo and psu, and that makes it stay on about 3 seconds longer. When i reinstalled the cpu, it is like nothing has changed.

why woudl simply moving the parts from computer A to computer B make it not work? I was very careful with them and they were never dropped, damaged, etc..

Things that were not done that will be done after work:

1. Try to put into old case (damnit, this will take long time), and see if still not work.
2. Use computer i am typing on now (at home) and swap out parts and see which are defective.


Specs:

AMD64 3500+, 130nm, hsf
ABIT av8
gf 6800GT
2x512mg Mushkin DDR400
Thermaltake Truepower 480wt psu
audigy z2
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:25 am

Check your standoffs under the board..it may be grounding out. Try putting a bit of electrical tape on each one before screwing the board down.
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:36 am

First thing I thought of as well -------^
Another good tip is to count the number of standoffs,
get that many screws set aside,
and if you have any left over you missed a hole.
totoro
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1097
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 10:00 pm
Location: Detroit

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:40 am

Plus you wont be able to boot very far without a CPU and/or GPU, nor will case fans make any difference to the current draw. Just try with a bare minumum, CPU+hsf, gfx card and RAM plugged into the motherboard and check all the power connectors.

I'd suspect Licketys got it right tho, sounds like a short.
Phenom II X4 955 BE - 3GB RAM - AMD HD5770 - 640GB WD - Viewsonic 19" - DVDRW - Windows 7
amphibem
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 662
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:52 pm
Location: New Zealand

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 12:51 am

Also make sure that if your heaksink/fan(didnt specify which) has a temp probe integrated that you have properly plugged it in, my socket A volcano 11 HSF needs to have its plugged in or else the motherboard wont detect a heat reading and will automatically shut down thinking it might be burning up. And the power supply is fine, the extra fans wont make a bit of difference.
Thebolt
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1212
Joined: Fri May 30, 2003 4:29 pm
Location: VA

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:49 pm

ok, so i took the mobo out of the case and put it on a box on my bed. Only three things plug into it and they are the only connection to my case. There is the power switch of the case (which after double checking from the mobo manuel IS in the right place), the 4 pin power cable and the 20 pin power cable. Both cables are completly and securely in position, and none of the pins are bent. The cpu/hsf is also in just fine, and it is plugged into the board for fan power. And still, it is a failed start.


what can i do now?
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 8:54 pm

Hmm... reminds me of a incident I had with a bad power supply - fried the motherboard. That's prolly not what it is, but try another PSU just in case (if you're lucky enough to have a spare.)

Also, try removing everything from the board and then install one part at a time. First cpu and vid, then mem, blah blah blah.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Fri Aug 05, 2005 9:06 pm

flip-mode wrote:
Also, try removing everything from the board and then install one part at a time. First cpu and vid, then mem, blah blah blah.



that is what i did. I totally removed everything, and even took the mobo out of the case. Then i just added the psu. still would fail. i think added one stick ram and the cpu/hsf, and it still would fail
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:15 am

Oh, oops. Well, did you try an alternate PSU?
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 8:38 am

I have a way for you to fix this problem :D... I have dealt with this problem TWICE (just today made a post about it) I know how to fix it but have STILL yet to find out why the hell the thing does this....

In both instances it was when the system was unplugged from the wall for much too long... Any prolonged period of time would cause it to only give that 1 second of power to get the thing to spin the fans for a fraction of a second.

The way to fix this is to plug everything in normally, and hook it up to your power source... Then LEAVE IT plugged in for awhile before attempting to start it. In this last instance (tonight with my brothers HP) I had to let it stay on the power for 1 hour and then tried... started right up. Your results may vary. But give it a try, plug it in (DONT try to start it once you have plugged it in to "charge up"). If you want to try it after 1 hour, thats your choice... seems the longer you wait though is the better chance that its going to be ready to start for you.

Here is the post I made reffering to this problem if you wish for more details:
viewtopic.php?t=32415&highlight=
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 9:48 am

That's wacky. Sounds like he has a PSU problem also. Try the PSU man.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 10:41 am

I dont doubt that it is the PSU! Its the dead first thing I would imagine it to be. The other thing is a possiblity is that its the motherboard acting werid... who knows.

But give what I mentioned a tried, its been the only thing to fix this problem for me in the past. It was re-accure if the system is unplugged for a prolonged period of time though.

I have a wacky theory, and maybe someone knowledgable can verify or disprove it so that I can move along to trying to come up with another wacky theory to have disproven :P

Im thinking that maybe the PSU is a cheap one that stores up power as a "buffer" so that the PSU doesnt have to work as hard getting power from the outlet to the PSU then to the system. When its unplugged and sitting around not plugged in for a few days the PSU has time to discharge all of that extra power. Then when you plug it in and give it a try, the thing refuses to start due to not having gotten some time to store up some extra energy in order to power everything. NOW that the werid wacky theory is off of my mind, I feel much better :) (ready to have it disproven) *Braces himself*
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:05 am

Welch wrote:I have a wacky theory, and maybe someone knowledgable can verify or disprove it so that I can move along to trying to come up with another wacky theory to have disproven :P

Im thinking that maybe the PSU is a cheap one that stores up power as a "buffer" so that the PSU doesnt have to work as hard getting power from the outlet to the PSU then to the system. When its unplugged and sitting around not plugged in for a few days the PSU has time to discharge all of that extra power. Then when you plug it in and give it a try, the thing refuses to start due to not having gotten some time to store up some extra energy in order to power everything. NOW that the werid wacky theory is off of my mind, I feel much better :) (ready to have it disproven) *Braces himself*

Yes, that is a wacky theory.

PSUs do have energy storage devices (capacitors) in them, but they only store a second's worth (or thereabouts) of power. Just enough to ride out brief glitches in the line power, and smooth out rapid fluctuations in power demand from the system (e.g. when one of your hard drives seeks).

These capacitors are fully recharged within a few milliseconds, when you switch the PSU back on.
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37705
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 11:19 am

The PSU incident I referred to was a strange one. The machine would start as long as it had be turned off for 30 minutes or more, and would run fine once it was started, but would not restart or power-off-power-on. So I was fiddeling with the machine - new build, so I couldn't imagine what was going on - and hit the power button one last time and 36" of sparks flew out of the power supply and scared the color out of me ("white" dudes have color too :)) Anywho, I think that as the components of the PSU warmed up, something that was supposed to make contact seperated, and would come back into contact as things cooled down - or something related to heating up and cooling down.
flip-mode
Gerbil Khan
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 9084
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Postposted on Sat Aug 06, 2005 7:52 pm

I knew it was a wacky idea but... Look what someone else wrote on my thread...

viewtopic.php?t=32415&highlight=
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:37 pm

ok.

1. leaving the psu on working as a buffer did nothing

2. I just swtiched out psus. the family computer psu still made my computer do the failed start, while my psu into the family computer started it just fine. Conclusion: my psu is fine and not part of the problem. B/c the family computer is an intel, i was unable to swap out cpus and motherboard (i am amd). Those two components are the only two left in this problem bc everything else has been unplugged and uninstalled and thus removed from the systen. My bro has amd and is coming over tomorrow to help swith and diagnose

anyone else have any more ideas?
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:42 pm

Maybe the board was shorted out? I always put electrical tape on one or two standoffs when I screw the Mobo into the case to prevent anything bad from happening. Anytime you are transferring components there is always a risk of shocking it. Make sure you are always grounded.
Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Core i5-3550 | EVGA GTX 780 Ti SC w/ACX | 16GB Patriot Viper DDR3-1866 | Fractal Define R4 | EVGA Supernova 750 G2 PSU | Dell U2712HM LCD | Win 8.1 64bit
Steam/Xbox LIVE/PSN: PerfectCr
My gaming tattoos
PerfectCr
Darth Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 7924
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 7:02 am
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 10:24 pm

Well I can say this for you now... Even if your CPU was fried (given that if it fried it did nothing to your mobo) and even if your ram was fried (and also didnt affect the motherboard). Your case fans and everything would still power up even with the absents of CPU, Ram, Video Card... ect! Your best bet is that your motherboard is shorting out, making contact with the case or something. Either way if the PSU wasnt the cause and you had the same result... look to the motherboard as the source of your problems. I hope your grounded yourself when you transfered the parts from one rig to the next.

Keep us posted on your finding.
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:08 pm

ok. sweet. problem is solved. I am not sure which did it, or if it was the combination, but it is now up and running and playing games. The first thing i did was completly wipe clean the orignial thermal grease from my cpu and hsf with a cloth that i sprayed electronic-sensitive cleaner with. I got the cpu and the hsf spotless and shiny. I then looked in my mobo book about where the CMOS jumper was. i cleared it and set it back. After doing both of these things, the psu/mobo/cpu-hsf started up just fine. I then turned it off and added all of the other parts and so it was like my normal computer, and it still turned on just fine.

i would like to say thanks to all of the people that helped me on this!
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:10 pm

try testing with a different power switch.. if its bouncing and sending a double switch to the mobo, it could be turning on then off.. always a thought
Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe, AMD64 Winchester 3200+, 2GB Kingston DDR400, 2 6600GTs in SLI, 2 WD 80GB SATA HDDs in RAID0, Aspire 550W PSU, Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition, Thermaltake XaserV V7000A Case
Hoodieboy711
Gerbil
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 10:05 pm
Location: CoMo, USA

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:15 pm

Hoodieboy711 wrote:try testing with a different power switch.. if its bouncing and sending a double switch to the mobo, it could be turning on then off.. always a thought


thanks, i can see from the timestamp that our posts are minutes apart, so that probably means that my post was not posted when you hit the reply button:). As for your idea, that;s a good one i have not heard of that. but to take that out of the equation anyway, i was using a screwdriver.
Rev_Night
Gerbil
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 3:26 pm

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2005 11:16 pm

The first thing i did was completly wipe clean the orignial thermal grease from my cpu and hsf with a cloth that i sprayed electronic-sensitive cleaner with. I got the cpu and the hsf spotless and shiny. I then looked in my mobo book about where the CMOS jumper was. i cleared it and set it back. After doing both of these things, the psu/mobo/cpu-hsf started up just fine.


My issue recently with a 9800 pro. :) I had a very light smear across the AGP fingers.
My Johnson
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2003 3:00 pm
Location: Dystopia, AZ

Postposted on Mon Aug 08, 2005 2:37 am

And odd problem, with an odd solution! But a solution none the less :) Good to hear that its working fine, enjoy ;)
"I think there is a world market for maybe five computers."
Thomas Watson, chairman of IBM, 1943

i5-2500K|Asus P67 Sabertooth|16GB Corsair 1600|MSI 7850 2GB|250gb Evo 840|Corsair 400R|ET750w PSU|Logitech G5|Dell 2420L|Corsair Vengeance 1300
Welch
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 2639
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests