Is this a good graphics card??

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

Is this a good graphics card??

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 5:55 pm

I'm just wondering if this is a good graphics card for the price?? Can anyone possible give me any feedback??

Diablotek NVIDIA GeForce 6600 / 256MB DDR / PCI Express / DVI / VGA / HDTV / Video Card - $170 CDN
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:02 pm

Depends on what you want to do. Play doom3 / hl2? Prolly will work, not well though. It has 256 mb but the pipelines and core and mem speed are what really count.

I recommend a 6800 vanilla minimum to play everything at decent settings.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11913
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:06 pm

It's DDR memory @ Ramdac dual 400Mhz (not sure what that means though) and it also says Superscalar 16-pipe GPU Architecture....how is it now?? :D
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:07 pm

Oh..sorry...and I'm looking to use 3D Solid Model programs like Catia...probably get into gaming also...would love to play Doom3.
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:10 pm

Im not sure what superscaler is, im guessing some work around to get a theoretical 16 pipes, but 6600 dont have the 12 that the 6800 do, nor the 16 that the 6800gt /ultra do. Anyway ya work it, its a "meh" card at best for gaming with AA and AF on.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11913
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:26 pm

GeForce 6600 is probaby OK for an entry-level DOOM3 card.

Edit: Radeon X700 is apparently not as powerful as I remembered it to be.
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15424
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:28 pm

All these Video Cards are confusing.....don't want to spend too much money...don't know what to get.
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:32 pm

how much max do you want to spend on a card, and do you care what brand and company?
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11913
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:44 pm

If you are able to unlock the pipelines and vertex shaders then it becomes a good card.
"Watch the cars, not the stoplight...no one ever got hit by a stoplight..."
-How to properly cross a street
MadCatz
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 522
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:35 pm

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 6:45 pm

I'd like to spend Max $200CDN on a Video Card (my system is already up around $1500CDN). I do want a PCI-E card, and preferbly a 256MB DDR Card. I will be using an AMD Athalon 64 +3200 CPU, mobo is completly decided on yet but it will support PCI-E. I'm also leaning twoards the NVDIA GForce side of things. Like I said I will be running 3D Solid Model Programs and I would like to get into some good gaming like Doom3, etc... Can you help me?? It would be much appreciated. I'm just getting so confused with all of the Video Cards. Thanks.
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:05 pm

Here are a bunch of cards that are PCI-E, 256MB DDR, and within the $100-$200 price range: Click Me.

But if you increase your budget just a little bit, say to the $200-$300 price range, you can get one of these: Click Me.

Might I suggest a 6800GT or X800XL? Both hit that price/range sweetspot and are the best "bang for your buck" cards.

=Ninja Edit=
All prices are USD.
Heavy is good, heavy is reliable. If it doesn't work, you can always hit them with it.
Dizik
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3021
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 3:57 pm

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:11 pm

In the U.S., you could consider these inexpensive cards (in $US):
$ 86 Radeon X600Pro 256MB PCI-Express 400/600 MHz VPU/Memory, 4 pipelines, 128-bit DDR RAM
$122 Radeon X700 256MB PCI-Express 400/700 MHz VPU/Memory, 8 pipelines, 128-bit DDR RAM
$150 Radeon X700Pro 256MB PCI-Express 420/864
$115 GeForce 6600 256MB PCI-Express 300/500 MHz VPU/Memory, 4* pipelines, 128-bit DDR RAM (*8 for Doom3)
$160 GeForce 6600GT 128MB PCI-Express 500/1000

These offer excellent performance for a bit more:
$275 Radeon X800XL 256MB PCI-Express 400/980 MHz VPU/Memory, 16 pipelines, 256-bit DDR RAM
$314 GeForce 6800GT 256MB PCI-Express 350/1000 MHz VPU/Memory, 16 pipelines, 256-bit DDR RAM

In Canada, have you checked at http://www.ncix.com ?
Last edited by JustAnEngineer on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15424
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:22 pm

JustAnEngineer wrote:GeForce 6600 is probaby OK for an entry-level DOOM3 card. Radeon X700 would be better for Half-Life2.


Hmm... Dunno about that.

http://techreport.com/reviews/2004q4/mi ... ex.x?pg=13
Scott Wasson - "Damage"
Editor - The Tech Report
Damage
TR Staff
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1685
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:29 pm

Since ATI is in Canada...you may get a better deal on one of these..they are a steal here at this price.

http://shop.ati.com/searchresults.asp?dept_id=39
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Tue Aug 09, 2005 7:36 pm

I'd like to add that the higher end cad software requires openGL 2.0. I believe the cheaper (6600 vanilla) cards don't have. If your from Canada get the 6600GT at least, you can pick one up for under $200 at tiger direct (canadian dollars). You'll have to pay $12 or so for shipping.

I not sure how the "gamers" and "workstation" cards differ, besides the workstation cards being way more expensive, but the cad software might not perform as well.??
...time to update my signature.
spiritwalker2222
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:50 am

What is OpenGL2.0?? Does it specify on the Video Card specs if it is OpenGL2.0 or not??
crystalcrow
Gerbil
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Mississauga, Ont

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:54 am

MadCatz wrote:If you are able to unlock the pipelines and vertex shaders then it becomes a good card.


I believe you are referring to the 6800 not the 6600 as he has suggested purchasing. The 6600 has no pipelines to unlock, the 6800 has 12, with 4 being locked. And the success rate doesn't seem to be what It was.
Corsair 600T | ASUS P8P67 PRO | Intel 2500k @ 4.4Ghz | EVGA 560 TI | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB | Corsair HX650 650W
steelcity_ballin
Gerbilus Supremus
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 11913
Joined: Mon May 26, 2003 5:55 am
Location: Pittsburgh PA

Postposted on Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:04 pm

Well I'm nut sure exactly what OpenGL is, but for some CAD software it's required. It's not something your'll easily see on the cards packaging. The 6600GT has it and I assume the 6800 serious has it too. I was under the impression that ATI doesn't support OpenGL 2.0 (well their X800 series, i.e. non-workstation cards).

http://www.nvidia.com/page/pg_20040809885583.html

The link above has it near the bottom of the page.

EDIT: and it looks like the 6800 series (no surprise there), plus the 6600 Vanilla support it too.
...time to update my signature.
spiritwalker2222
Gerbil XP
 
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:50 am
Location: Ottawa, Canada


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests