New HTPC

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

New HTPC

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:13 pm

Hi,
I am currently planning to build a Linux HTPC running MythTV. The specs listed are my current plan. I know that I am missing a case and a CD/DVD drive. The problem is that I can’t find a good HTPC case at a low cost, therefore I turn to you guys for recommendations. The optical drive I will get later, once I know the HTPC’s color(yah I’m kind of like that). So basically I am turning to you guys for a case recommendation and to see if all parts are Linux compatible.
• AMD Sempron 64 2500+ Palermo 800MHz FSB Socket 754 Processor Model SDA2500BXBOX – Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819104251
$59
• GIGABYTE GA-K8NS Socket 754 NVIDIA nForce3 250 ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813128259
$57.50
• CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered System Memory Model VS512MB400 - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6820145026
$42.99
• eVGA 064-A8-NV93-LX Geforce MX4000 64MB DDR AGP 4X/8X Video Card - Retail
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814130198
$34
• SAMSUNG SpinPoint P Series SP1614C 160GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6822152015
$82
• SAMSUNG Black 1.44MB 3.5" Internal Floppy Drive Windows 98SE/ ME/ 2000/ XP - OEM
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6821103203
$7.99

Total: $283.48
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Re: New HTPC

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:22 pm

king_kilr wrote:I know that I am missing a case and a CD/DVD drive.
Not to mention a tv card.
...
mattsteg
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Applauding the new/old variable width forums

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 8:38 pm

actually i dont need a tv card :D

the comcast HD box has firewire out 8)

and myth tv suports that :lol:
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:03 pm

king_kilr,

Overall it looks good. However I would make the following changes.

1) Sempron64 3000+, this is the cheapest model that supports CnQ.
2) Get an ATI card (9550 with DVI and TV out), In my experience they have much better 2D quality than the old GF4MX cards. I know ATI drivers arent great for linux but your not running 3d anyway. This should allow you to run TV and HDTV when your ready.
3) DVD drive, get any model where you can set the speed (2x-4x) in the bios
SN95G5v3/A64 3500+ 2.2ghz@1.2v 800mhz@0.8v/1gb Geil UltraX/Seagate 250gb/Seagate 320gb/Liteon DVD/XFX 6600GT/2x2005FPW
Rainbows lie in corded knots
While thunder wakes the sleeping crocs.
dragmor
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
 
Posts: 3578
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2002 7:24 pm
Location: Oz

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 9:12 pm

1) that requires spending an extra $31 for something i dont really need(the 2500+ is already way above the minium or even recomended)

2)im really concerned with the driver issue, being a complete linux newb ill stick with easy drivers and the low price :wink:

3) yah i know about the dvd drive im just wating to figure out my case issues so i know what color drive to get

anyone have a case recomendation
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:30 pm

Can't get something like a 6200 AGP or even (heaven forbid) FX 5200? The newer Geforce's do have better output quality than the MX'es.
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24375
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:29 pm

for the $5 i will upgrade to a FX5200 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814130210

no one has a case recomendation?
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:08 pm

OOOOOO!!! OOOOOO!!! OOOOOO!!! I DO!!

And I do again
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:16 pm

unfortunately the first case is micro atx only

the other case is very nice, but i wish it were cheaper :cry:
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:47 pm

I've seen the overture II up close and personal...it's beautiful...looks like ap iece of hifi equipment, too.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21295
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:50 pm

drop both mobo & video card and get this.....

Socket 754 NVIDIA GeForce 6100 Micro ATX $61.00
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:50 pm

nVidia is king with Myth, so I'm told by multiple people.

I would stay away from ATI cards, even if they have better TV-out (which I'm also told). You may have much better results, and less fiddling with cryptic code and stuff...

Good luck, your stuff looks good to me!

I would be interested in hearing your report on how it goes, and how well that firewire interface works.
FroBozz_Inc
Darth Gerbil
 
Posts: 7301
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 9:35 am
Location: Hockeytown, MI

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 2:52 pm

that seems very nice indeed, unfortunately it lacks TV-Out if there is a converter please let me know, also review links are good
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:06 pm

I don't think you're going to find a good review of that board just yet . . . .so on that note, you can be the first then write a *special* review for the fine folks here at the TR to let us know your thoughts and impressions. I know I would be very interested.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:09 pm

"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:13 pm

thanks for the link but it still doesn't solve the issue of TV-out
my current tv is a little old and only has coaxial input and that red-white-yellow thing that cosoles use

if there is a workaround of this i will be glad to test the board for TR forums readers
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:25 pm

I will have to look into this further when I get home cause the MSI RS480 apparently does TV-out. There might be an on-board connector for a component bracket that will let you take care of that.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:55 pm

ya i just spoke with radioshack and i can get adapters to do this

do you guys think this the way to go?

is Biostar a good company?

will video quality be good?
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 3:58 pm

king_kilr wrote:ya i just spoke with radioshack and i can get adapters to do this

do you guys think this the way to go?

is Biostar a good company?

will video quality be good?


they are cool....how much is that adapter? (also i think the 6150 has everything....aka video out)
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:13 pm

not sure but it sounded like a cheap generic one(radioshack brand :wink: )

hmm the 6150 isnt on newegg but i saw it mentioned in the anandtech article

on the issue of case what do you guys think of this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6811190017

or that company it has good reveiws and looks good but nothing beats a TR members word
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:20 pm

If you just want something cheap just get whatever for now, and then when you have some cash get the case you really want. If you have a tower laying around use that. Once you have the htpc up and running that is all you will care about.
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:26 pm

well this may be the final case or it may not, my main question is can i trust that case not to break a week after i get it and is the 200 watt psu enough?
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:29 pm

That is your call, its got 55 reviews on newegg...read those and see what people are saying (read the bad ones). Then see if you can find a review on a web site somewhere.
"StarCraft 2 will release when it's ready." - Blizzard
Nelliesboo
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1697
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Land of the free (San Francisco)

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 4:39 pm

sounds like a good plan

also any ideas on a remote, i would need to control tv (on and off plus volume), the cable box(or would i since i am using firewire?)and a VHS player plus the myth tv setup any ideas, cheap is better
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 5:07 pm

I wonder if you can find a used kameleon soewhere.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 5:14 pm

will it work?

im the lazy type and if i cant use the buttons without looking its to hard :D
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:27 pm

I don't really know. I do know that its a "learning" remote and have the capabilities of controlling alot of stuff. I just did a search on ebay and there's quite a bit of them.

There is always Logitech's Harmony remote control.
. . . this is the digital projection of your mental self. . . .

Darth Lex-idius vs. Obi Lex kanobi
lex-ington
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 10:59 pm
Location: Toronto, ON

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:41 pm

link by chance?

do i need to buy an ir thing for pc?
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Tue Sep 27, 2005 6:45 pm

would this remote work?

big, long link

would i need anything else?


**EDIT by usacomp2k3: fixed page-breakingly-long-link
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Postposted on Wed Sep 28, 2005 4:27 pm

hehe thanks usacomp

does anyone have anythoughts on that remote? will i be able to control my tv with it?
Damn the torpedoes , full speed ahead.

AMD X2 4200+, Asus A8N-E, 3GBs of RAM, 7900GS
king_kilr
Maximum Gerbil
 
Posts: 4299
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2004 11:23 pm
Location: Browsing the web far and wide.

Next

Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests