High-end GPU in low-end PC

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

High-end GPU in low-end PC

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:20 pm

Ok, Ive an X800XT PE, 2x 512MB PC3700EB and a TV card here. At my dads work they are throwing away PC stuff, also a P3 with if Im right 633Mhz or so. Not much, I know. But my question is should I take it, build in the GPU, RAM and TV card and use it as a HTPC? Only one problem, the X800XT PE needs at least a P4, recommended is 2500Mhz... Whoa! Thats not exactly what you call a P3 :lol:, but are they saying this for customers so they wont have a too high overrated GPU in a **** PC? Or is it seriously mentioned because it might not work?
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:24 pm

Depending on the motherboard, it might not actually FIT the AGP slot. Especially if it's AGP 1.0 (2x) like teh BX chipset. A VIA Apollo 133Pro would be OK, though, since it SHOULD be backwards compatible with AGP 4x motherboards. I think it's a poor idea myself.
I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do, I do not do. But what I hate, I do.
derFunkenstein
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 21327
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:13 pm
Location: WHAT?

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:27 pm

You want to couple a X800XT PE AGP with a 633Mhz CPU?! The motherboard will not work with that card anyway, or the memory or am I misunderstanding what your asking?
Pettytheft
Gerbil XP
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 415
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2003 2:36 pm
Location: California

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:37 pm

Odds that the video card will be physically compatible with the AGP slot: Not good. Odds that it'll work even if it does fit: not good either.

The RAM definitely won't work; a system of that age is going to be using SDRAM instead of DDR (different type of DIMM slot).
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37705
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:40 pm

just brew it! wrote:Odds that the video card will be physically compatible with the AGP slot: Not good. Odds that it'll work even if it does fit: not good either.

The RAM definitely won't work; a system of that age is going to be using SDRAM instead of DDR (different type of DIMM slot).

Damn, I forgot about that :-?. Even worse, RD-RAM might be used too here... ****...


Ok, thx all for replies, I wont get the P3...
EVE-Online
Location: Pure Blind
Corporation: Nexus Legion
Alliance: NxT LeveL
Bob Maenhout
Gerbil Jedi
 
Posts: 1970
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:47 am
Location: Ursem, The Netherlands

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:02 pm

If its a 633mhz rig, its prolly sdram, PC100 or 133. Hell, take it, and put in a cheap ti200 or such for a card. Be a cheap box to fill your needs.
Just an old sheepdog waiting for some nasty wolves to show...ive got more than enough teeth left.
LicketySplit
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24535
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: Soap Lake, Wa

Postposted on Wed Oct 05, 2005 3:15 pm

The ram won't work (it'll be PC 100 or 133), but I know where you're coming from with the vid card. I have a friend who took his P3 800 and coupled it with a 9800Pro. He was able to play D3 at pretty good framerates I guess :roll:
Venii, vidii, vicii
Wii came, Wii saw , Wii conquered
Sargent Duck
Grand Gerbil Poohbah
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 3073
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2003 8:05 pm
Location: In my secret cave that has bats


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests