image hosting server

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

image hosting server

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:51 pm

So I've been asked to at least spec out a machine for work. This is a server that runs an ftp server, and that's it. It hosts images for ghosting using g4u. Files average around 6gb. Basically the most important needs are: good network throughput, as close to gigabit as possible (in order to do multiple machines at once). Good hard drive throughput (again for doing multiple machines). Those are the big ones. I don't know if I need as 1gb ram, and that's the slowes 939 chip I could find, so we might need to do something else along that front. Also, this box will be running linux, so if there are any known problems there, please let me know.
Lemme paste what my coworker said in my chat with him.
him: well were building a new ghost server and putting in a gigabit network
him: going to use raid 0
him: im trying to stay under 650 - 700ish
him: and you dont need a good video
him: well im going to put a 2nd card in it... and run wires to a gigbit switch
Me: how much hdd space do you need?
him: atleast 200GB
Me: any dynamic hosting, or just the images?
him: just the images


So here's what I came up with so far:
$104.50 ECS KN1 Extreme
$80.50 Corsair value 2x512mb DDR400
$146 A64 Venice 3000 939
2 x $80 2x 160gb Hitachi T7K250 3Gb/s NCQ
$40 NEC 3540A DVD-RW
$35.50 el-cheapo black case
$36 Cooler Master 400W psu

$602.50

What I still need is a video card. I can get a 6200TC ofr $48.50, but will that take away from other system performance being turbocache?

Also, stability is moderately important. Not 100%, but I can't have this machine need to reboot every few days. It's a setup, stick under a desk, and don't touch it for 200 days.

Have at!
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 8:55 pm

The Turbocache feature is only used if it needs to be used and unless you plan on doing a lot of 3D work (checking your post to see about that... okay, you're good) then the Turbocache will likely not be used. If that card works for you as long as it won'y slow anything else down, I'd say go for it.
Rolling20s
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 965
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:14 am
Location: Central Ohio

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 9:59 pm

Unless the rest of the network is gigabit, then I don't think you need RAID0 to feed the bandwidth? If multiple users are grabbing the images then you will get a more random access pattern which means STR won't help.

I would think dual network card should get you good throughput, either through some fancy bandwidth combiner or just make 2 IPs and partition your user base.

I am on the "multiple spindle" camp. So you know what I would suggest in terms of drive configuration.

Let me know if I am wrong. I may be smoking something... :roll:
Flying Fox
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 24497
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 2:19 am

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:18 pm

The network will look like such:
the corporate network is 100-baseTX, but not forced full.
There will be a separate ghosting network running on it's own dedicated gigabit switch that will be shared within the PC support cubicles.
The majority of the imaging will be done on the gigabit dedicated network, but some will be done regularly over the 100.
And about the RAID0, basically it's a "oooooh, toys" with a little bit of making sure that there is no possible bottleneck in the HDD interface on the server.

All the new machines ghosted have onboard gigabit, so no worries there.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:39 pm

What does the ECS offer that DFI (for less) or EPoX (for $3.50 more) don't?
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5355
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:59 pm

I did a search for mobo's with dual NIC's and SATAII..I think that was the cheapest that supported that.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 3:05 am

um.. for that ECS board
Max LAN Speed 10/100/1000Mbps + 10/100Mbps
only 1 gigabit port :-?
paco
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: So Cal

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 8:02 am

paco wrote:um.. for that ECS board
Max LAN Speed 10/100/1000Mbps + 10/100Mbps
only 1 gigabit port :-?

I only need one.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:01 pm

Any other issues you see?
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:23 pm

I'd still be a bit concerned over the brand. Even if they're OK lately, what about support?

How about this Tyan board?

Edit: Oh crap, never mind. It doesn't have your desired SATA 2.
Ragnar Dan
Gerbil Elder
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 5355
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 7:00 pm

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:28 pm

how bout a 939 opteron 144?
Link

i'm not sure if they are in stock or not tho.
paco
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2082
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 7:14 pm
Location: So Cal

Postposted on Fri Oct 07, 2005 4:29 pm

Can't really afford that one anyway. Especially when you add in the need for a more expensive PSU.
Usacomp2k3
Gerbil God
 
Posts: 21316
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:53 pm
Location: Orlando, FL


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests