I designed and constructed my system only to see it not post

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

I designed and constructed my system only to see it not post

Postposted on Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:38 am

This is my fourth build and I thought I was an expert at building systems, but it seems luck played a role in the first three. I put together my rig last nigh and It wouldnt post. I'll explain every facet of what I observed and then I ask you all to help me diagnose the problem.

Components:

CPU: Intel Core i5-2400 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz (3.4GHz Turbo Boost) 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor BX80623I52400

Motherboard: BIOSTAR TP67XE (B3) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL8D-4GBRM

Video Card: EVGA 01G-P3-1373-AR GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) Superclocked EE 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

PSU: RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS 630W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Modular LED Power Supply

CD/DVD: ASUS DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS Black SATA 24X DVD Burner - Bulk - OEM

HDD: SAMSUNG Spinpoint F1 HD322HJ 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive -Bare Drive

Case w/Fans: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Monitor: ASUS VH242H Black 23.6" 5ms HDMI Full 1080P Widescreen LCD Monitor

So, here is the story of this build. I put everything together. I noticed the motherboard had a place for two 8-pin connectors, but upon reading the manual it stated that having both connected was not necessary, so I just hooked up one 8-pin to the motherboard(this PSU doesnt have two that i could use for it). The video card has two 6pin connectors the go into it and the PSU had the connections for that.