New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:25 pm

Hey all. Just put together a new home server, specs are below:

Athlon II X2 270u
MSI 880GM-e43
2x WD Green 1.5TB
Kingston 2GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Unbuffered DDR3
Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D

The computer fires up, but no video signal, no beeps. I checked with a different stick of non ECC ram that I know works and nothing different. The hard drives are working properly. Any thoughts?
Last edited by chasscF1 on Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ahhhhhhh!
chasscF1
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:18 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:34 pm

Update: After pulling everything apart I noticed I had installed an extra motherboard standoff. I was probably shorting the motherboard, lets hope I didn't do any damage.

Update 2: Still nothing, I noticed that there is an LED 1 lit on the motherboard when it is powered, but the manual doesn't say what the LED codes are.
Ahhhhhhh!
chasscF1
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:18 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 2:08 pm

blech MSI......anyway... remove the memory and try to boot it with just the CPU. Considering the video is onboard though u might have a bad MB.
Core i7 920 @stock - 6GB OCZ Mem - Adaptec 5805 - 2 x Intel X25-M in RAID1 - 5 x Western Digital RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB in RAID 6 - Nvidia GTX 460
kc77
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:25 am

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:03 pm

Tested without memory, still nothing. I figured I would get some sort of error beeps. Anything else I should test before I pack this thing up?
Ahhhhhhh!
chasscF1
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:18 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:58 pm

chasscF1 wrote:Tested without memory, still nothing. I figured I would get some sort of error beeps. Anything else I should test before I pack this thing up?

Try without CPU / try reseating the CPU. If that doesn't work I'd pack it up.
Core i7 920 @stock - 6GB OCZ Mem - Adaptec 5805 - 2 x Intel X25-M in RAID1 - 5 x Western Digital RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB in RAID 6 - Nvidia GTX 460
kc77
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:25 am

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:33 pm

Try one DIMM only, and try in each memory slot. Do you know if the RAM you have is good? You could always test in another system. Also, is the RAM on the compatability list fo your motherboard? (I find it hard to believe any mobo wouldn't work bith bog-standard Kingston RAM but you never know..)
MadManOriginal
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1439
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: In my head...

Re: New Home Server Build, no video

Postposted on Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:12 pm

Update:

So i got my RMAed motherboard back and everything fired up. Tried to install WHS 2011 and it stated that I did not have 2048 MB of RAM required. Went into BIOS and it says I have that amount. Ran MEMTEST and it says I have something like 1792 MB of RAM, but it didn't throw back any errors in the couple passes I did. Any ideas now? Something to do with ECC using part of it? Bad stick or do I just need to get another stick to get above 2048 recognized by windows? Thanks.
Ahhhhhhh!
chasscF1
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:18 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Postposted on Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:20 pm

This is probably due to the BIOS reserving large chunks of RAM for the onboard video adapter. In the BIOS you can specify the amount, but there will always be a minimum of 32ish MB in use...
i5-4670 @stock | Asus H87M-E| Asus HD6850 840/1100 | 8GB DDR3 @800 | Caviar Black 640GB | Agility 3 120GB | Unicomp Customiser 105 | Logitech MX518 | CM Hyper 212 Evo
I was going to tell a Chemistry joke, but all the good ones argon.
excession
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:19 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Postposted on Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:33 pm

OK so I'll just pick up another stick. Thanks.
Ahhhhhhh!
chasscF1
Gerbil Team Leader
 
Posts: 242
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 1:18 pm
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Re: New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Postposted on Sun Sep 11, 2011 3:56 pm

Yeah, you're losing some RAM to the onboard video. That's why you've got less than 2GB usable.

FWIW I don't recall seeing any MSI desktop motherboard in the past 6+ years that could actually make use of the error correction capabilities of ECC RAM; you're probably wasting your money. If you want ECC capability in a desktop board, you've pretty much gotta buy an Asus AM3/3+ mobo these days...
(this space intentionally left blank)
just brew it!
Administrator
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 37853
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Somewhere, having a beer

Re: New Home Server Build, no video: Update

Postposted on Sun Sep 11, 2011 4:24 pm

Good luck - keep us updated!
i5-4670 @stock | Asus H87M-E| Asus HD6850 840/1100 | 8GB DDR3 @800 | Caviar Black 640GB | Agility 3 120GB | Unicomp Customiser 105 | Logitech MX518 | CM Hyper 212 Evo
I was going to tell a Chemistry joke, but all the good ones argon.
excession
Graphmaster Gerbil
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1173
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 3:19 pm
Location: Nottingham, UK


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests