downloadable bootable ISO image of burn-in software?

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

downloadable bootable ISO image of burn-in software?

Postposted on Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:42 am

I've never built a PC before but will have the parts together this coming weekend. Is there such a thing as bootable ISO image containing a barebones O/S (DOS or Linux) and software that will tax the system strenuously to test it out for 24 hours and report on any errors? If there are several choices, my preference would be a software package that is well-respected from a trusted website and where the author(s) accept donations through Paypal.
tr888
Gerbil In Training

Re: downloadable bootable ISO image of burn-in software?

Postposted on Thu Oct 20, 2011 6:52 am

Ultimate Boot CD?

I've never used it before... but just seems like someone bothered to combine a tonne of stress tests and a barebones linux release into a boot image.
Core i7 4770K | eVGA GTX770 SC ACX | 16GB DDR3 2133mhz | Asus Z87-PLUS | Corsair HX650 | Fractal Define R4 | Samsung 840 Pro 256GB | Windows 8 x64
yogibbear
Gerbil Elite
Gold subscriber

Postposted on Thu Oct 20, 2011 7:09 am

I use TuffTest-Pro as a preliminary testing software. http://www.tufftest.com/ttp/

It can stress-test pretty much anything -- keyboards, GPU, CPU, Memory, HDDs, etc.. It has quick tests and long tests. I find the hard drive testing feature to be superb for mechanical drives, in particular (I have not used it on an SSD). However, if you want to make sure your system is rock sold stable, you should follow up with additional stress test programs. Memtest86+ is another bootable CD that specifically for testing memory.