Get my rig outputting 3D

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:41 am

Hi All,

I currently have
Intel Quad Q9450 2.67GHz
4GB
Geforce GTX 280
Win 7 64bit
Blu-ray reader

And have a nice new Sony KDL-55HX823 that supports 3D.

I'd like to try the 3D via 3D blu rays and maybe even some games. Question is what I need to buy to do this? The TV came with a couple sony 3d glasses thrown in in a deal.

Obviously I'm going to need a new graphics card - is there anything else or anything in my system I should also upgrade? Graphics wise I guess I'd be looking at somewhere between the most expensive and the 'sweet spot', as it would be good to run diablo 3 in some nice settings when that comes out.

Many Thanks!
knightsy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 4:25 am

Re: Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:11 pm

You also need Blu-ray playback software that is capable of outputting 3D.
cjcerny
Gerbil First Class
 
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:58 pm

Re: Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:46 pm

Infact do I even need a new graphics card? For blu ray 3D can I just get the software?
knightsy
Gerbil
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2003 4:25 am

Re: Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:27 pm

According to http://www.nvidia.com/object/3d-vision-system-requirements.html you don't need a new graphics card. You do, however, need to buy Nvidia's 3DTV Play software to make those 3rd party glasses compatible with your GPU.
russty
Gerbil
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 6:34 pm

Actually, it looks like 3D blu-ray won't be hardware accelerated with the GTX280. I have no idea if that Core2Quad has enough muscle to handle 3D 1080p blu-ray... but I'm thinking no.

If you don't mind getting a new graphics card, Nvidia requires the software I mentioned... AMD doesn't. A 560ti/HD6870 would be a good bets, and should work well for D3.
russty
Gerbil
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 9:56 am

Re: Get my rig outputting 3D

Postposted on Wed Feb 15, 2012 7:17 pm

If the CPU can handle it you can try nvidias 3dtv for gaming for free But it stinks for gaming. 1080p is limited to 24fps on hdmi but 720p will allow 60-fps,HDMI just does not have the bandwidth for 1080p at 60 fps only dual link dvi does,possibly Media player classic home cinema,AKA MPCHC will allow hardware acceleration,and hopefully your tv can do side by side or top and bottom 3d playback if you can find the MKVs or just find some stuff on youtube 3D......my panasonic VT30 auto detects the SBS and top/bottom.
Also for bluray playback Arcsoft total theater is 99$ but you can try it for free for 15 days.I tried it and was happy with it but not going to pay 99$ to watch blurays.......VLC player will soon support Bluray they already do but it is a real pita to setup.But i heard they just released version 2.0 for mac that says it will play Blurays but i do not have a mac to test it.

You might as well get a stand alone 3d blu ray player,I rec you get a panasonic since thats the only way you can get the 3d bluray of avatar that is by far the best 3d movie ever.They cost about 120$ and the avatar bluray is avail to you by mailing in a card included in the Box.
My tv came with the physical avatar bluray so i don't know how long it would take to arrive at your house.Panasonic and avatar are linked for some reason.But the difference between 3d avatar and 2d is astonishing...it made me want to sit 3 feet from my 55 inch TV:)For full Immersion :)
BTW Conan the Barbarian was a crappy movie and to top it off it stinks in 3d well at least the little bit that is in 3d its mostly in 2d though.
2600k HT on@4705mhz 8gb Cas9 1600 mem 2x EVGA GTX770 4gb Classified cards in SLI @1320 mhz core and 2003 mhz mem,mounted in CM HAF922 with a TX-850 PSU 2xHTPC's 2xi3 2120 3.3ghz dual core,1xasus LP HD6570 1xHIS hd7750@1150core1325mem,55"PanyVT30
vargis14
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1183
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 6:03 pm
Location: philly suburbs


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests