Frankenstein

Building a new system? Need help choosing between parts? Then step in and let our trained gerbils assist you.

Moderator: JustAnEngineer

Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:01 am

I'm thinking of using some old parts on a new barebones mb and processor. Here's what I might use if I even can:

Sonata 2 case
CORSAIR XMS3 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX16GX3M4A1333C9
Corsair vx550w power supply
EVga GeForce GTX 460
Western Digital RE4 WD5003ABYX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

Is there even anything out there that I could do this with?
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:34 am

What are your intended uses?
What mobo and Cpu are you getting?
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:54 am

There's plenty you can do with that stuff (coming from a guy still running an E8400 and 6GB DDR2). As rogue asked, what are your intentions?
absurdity
Gerbil Elite
 
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: VT

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:24 am

linda wrote: Corsair XMS3 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 Desktop Memory Model CMX16GX3M4A1333C9
EVGA GeForce GTX 460
Western Digital RE4 WD5003ABYX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
Corsair vx550w power supply
Antec Sonata 2 case
Those parts are all still good and would work fine for a new PC. GeForce GTX460 is fast enough to play most games well on a 1920x1080 screen.

If you happened to make it to a Micro Center, you might pick up something like this to complete a powerful PC while re-using your old components:
$60 +tax ASRock Z77 Pro4-M motherboard
$190 +tax Intel Core i5-3570K processor
optional $37 Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo cooler
optional $145 128 GB Samsung 830 SSD
$15 DVD-RW
or $65 BD-ROM / DVD-RW

That's an unbeatable deal on the processor and motherboard. Newegg charges $403 for the same processor and motherboard that Micro Center sells for $250+tax
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:28 am

Looks like a perfectly potent start for a gaming PC. With a new sandy bridge or Ivy bridge processor you should be able to play smoothly at 1080 resolution with medium-high details. You've got plenty of ram there to run virtual machines, do large/complex Adobe CS5 (or CS6 now) work, folding, etc etc. The PSU is enough to drop in any processor you want.

Do you need suggestions on processors and motherboards? (oop, JAE beat me to the punch)

PS. I hear ya absurdity...(see system specs in signature) I just bought an i5-3570K and an ASRock Z77 Pro4-m from Microcenter for $260 after tax and will be putting that together in the next couple days though. I should be roughly doubling frame rates in CPU intensive games....."Winning !!!!!"

Back on topic though, if you (linda) are trying to decide what to get, you can check out this article for AMD/Intel comparisons. This Ivy Bridge review is a good read, but it doesn't include as many CPU comparisons. (shame on you TR) As a general rule of thumb, Ivy Bridge will give you roughly 5% increase in performance per clock with lower power draw. I have a hard time recommending AMD processors these days, mostly because they dont have any performance/price advantages anymore at almost all price tiers.
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:30 am

I use my computer to play games, do word processing, internet browse, etc. It's also my hobby. I like to tinker.

I don't know what mb or cpu to get, that was my question. I would like to use the things I listed though. Do you have any suggestions for a mb cpu combo that would work in my case with my ram and power supply with that graphics card? Things have greatly progressed since i last used that box: I'm not sure I can even still use it with a new mb and cpu.

Hi JAE, how are you? Would the ASRock use my ram?

And I wonder if I could use the processor in my current computer i5 cpu 750 2.67 gh.... nah, I want an upgrade
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:40 am

Your existing Core i5-750 quad-core 2.66GHz Lynnfield processor is probably still fast enough for most tasks, but I can understand the urge to upgrade. Lynnfield rides on an LGA-1156 socket, while newer Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge processors use LGA-1155. Both use DDR3 memory.

Intel's Panther Point Z77 chipset is the one that you'll find on enthusiast motherboards. Z77 is the same chip as Z75, H77 and B75, but it doesn't have parts disabled by Intel's product segmentation marketing scheme.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sat Jun 02, 2012 9:48 pm

the ram will work fine, as will your i5-750. it sounds like you must have something better than the 750 that youre using now? if this build is a secondary computer, treat it as such and populate it with second hand parts and put the new parts (if any) toward your primary machine. sounds like JAE is on request to handle this one so ill stand down. just wanted to share my 2 cents.
i5-3570K, ASRock Z77 Pro4-m, Asus GTX660 TOP, 120 GB Vertex 3 Max IOPS, 2 TB Samsung EcoGreen F4, 8GB G-Skill @1.25V, Silverstone PS07B
DPete27
Gerbil Jedi
Silver subscriber
 
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:50 pm
Location: Madison, Wisconsin

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 1:20 am

Linda has been an active member (and an officer) in our TR Guild Wars guild for over five years. She's also a regular in the LittleBlackDog forums that I frequent.
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:45 am

2 questions about those parts you (JAE) mentioned but anyone can answer of course:

Could I put them in my Dell studio xps? That mb looks about the same size as what Dell has in there now.

Second, my Sonata has an Asus A8N-E sitting in it. It's bigger than the mb you suggested. I like the extra PCI slots, because they get covered when I put my graphics card in. I'm just wondering why you suggested a small mb when the case will support a bigger one.
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 7:48 am

JustAnEngineer wrote:Linda has been an active member (and an officer) in our TR Guild Wars guild for over five years. She's also a regular in the LittleBlackDog forums that I frequent.


No so regular in Little Black Dog anymore, time has a way of shrinking as you get older. Weird.
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 8:07 am

linda wrote:2 questions about those parts you (JAE) mentioned but anyone can answer of course:

Could I put them in my Dell studio xps? That mb looks about the same size as what Dell has in there now.

Second, my Sonata has an Asus A8N-E sitting in it. It's bigger than the mb you suggested. I like the extra PCI slots, because they get covered when I put my graphics card in. I'm just wondering why you suggested a small mb when the case will support a bigger one.


Most MATX boards these days are more than adequate , since they come with built in sound and networking. So there isnt a need for multiple PCI slots for add in cards. Do you need to migrate cards over? Something tells me if you get an Ivy/Z77 combo it will become your main system rather than whatever it is your using now.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:59 am

What Rogue said.

Micro-ATX motherboards are normally large enough for most applications. You typically get 4 slots with Micro-ATX or 6 with ATX. Micro-ATX motherboards are usually $10-15 cheaper than equivalent ATX motherboards.

I selected that particular motherboard because there's a $50 discount for buying it with a Core i5-3570K processor at Micro Center. Here are a couple more that might appeal to a shopper at Micro Center:
$60 +tax ASRock Z77 Pro4-M micro-ATX motherboard
or $115 +tax Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H ATX motherboard
or $90 +tax ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX motherboard
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 3:55 pm

I just ordered the processor at Amazon for $227 total, free shipping, no tax so i don't feel too bad about that. MicroCenter isn't close to me, and it was showing some items as out of stock anyhow.

I'm trying to find the two ASrock motherboards you mentioned on Newegg or Amazon. It's a little complicated, seems like there are variations on the same model, so i can either pore over the details or ask you to point them out to me... :-) I can't decide between the one that is bigger and will properly fit my case, or go with the smaller one. I think Amazon has a rebate on one of them, if I am looking at the right one you pointed out.

I'll post them and you can tell me if I have the right ones...

Here are the 2 small ones:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157306

http://www.amazon.com/ASRock-Z77-Pro4-M-Intel-Motherboard/dp/B007RS70YW/ref=reg_hu-rd_add_1_dp
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:09 pm

The ASRock Z77 Pro-M that's $60 +tax at Micro Center is $110 +7½sh at Newegg. The Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H that's $115 +tax at Micro Center is $150 +8sh at Newegg. The ASRock Z77 Extreme4 that's $90 +tax at Micro Center is $135 +fs at Newegg.

For that much more, you might as well look at other motherboards from Gigabyte or Asus.

The Asus P8Z77-V LK is recommended in the latest system guide. I used the P8Z77-M Pro in my most recent build.
i7-4770K, H70, Gryphon Z87, 16 GiB, R9-290, SSD, 2 HD, Blu-ray, SB ZX, TJ08-E, SS-660XP², 3007WFP+2001FP, RK-9000BR, MX518
JustAnEngineer
Gerbil God
Gold subscriber
 
 
Posts: 15485
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2002 7:00 pm
Location: The Heart of Dixie

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 8:03 am

Frankenstein is doing well, but he's a bit ugly, and I could sure use some help.

I got the Asus P8z77-v-LK and the i5-3570K. Everything works fine except for my graphics card. The mb has onboard graphics, so I have been able to play around, but doggone I want my GTX-460 to work.

I have tried seating it in the 2 different slots, and I do have power running to it. I can feel the air that the fan is moving. But my motherboard doesn't "see" it. I poked around a bit in the bios, but I am uncomfortable with this particular bios, and afraid to disable the mb graphics because if i do and things don't work, then my system will be dead. Frankenstein will be useless.

Has anyone got any experience they could share with me? :-)
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:17 am

Are both 6 Pin PCIe power plugs plugged into the card?
I dont see anything from Corsair or EVGA that says 41 Amps on the 12 volt rail isnt enough juice.
Do you have a different card you can try in the mobo? Was the 460 working before hand ?
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:36 pm

I have a few I can try, good idea. And yes, the 460 was working very nicely.
As for both 6 pin connectors: no, I only have one plugged in. I am pretty sure that's all I need, but if I find another one in Franky's guts I'll plug it in. Could I do the card damage if it gets TOO much power?
Could HDMI vs DVI cords be part of the problem? I can stop at Radio Shack tomorrow and pick up some HMDI's, as I am using all DVI right now.

Edit: Ok, clearly it was the 460 card. I plugged another graphics card into the same slot I was trying to use for the 460, and it's working. I DO have another power cord, its an 8 pin that was split to make a 6-pin. Can I use that along with the 6 pin I used before with the 460?
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:54 pm

Plug both 6 pin PCIe plugs into the card, that should solve the issue.
It's not getting enough power with one 6 pin plugged into it.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:35 pm

Oh! It works! Thanks Rogue, that did the trick. I looked in the manual and it said to use either one 6 pin or two. So you use two if one doesn't work, hmmm?

I love my new computer!

BTW, are you Rogue of GW? There was a guy I knew in GW who played in the early mornings with me.
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 3:39 pm

linda wrote:Oh! It works! Thanks Rogue, that did the trick. I looked in the manual and it said to use either one 6 pin or two. So you use two if one doesn't work, hmmm?

I love my new computer!

BTW, are you Rogue of GW? There was a guy I knew in GW who played in the early mornings with me.


Yes, yes I am.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 5:26 pm

Well, it's great to see you again! I hope life's treating you well! You should drop in on the CBE forums and say hello once in awhile :-)
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Sun Jun 10, 2012 9:51 pm

linda wrote:Oh! It works! Thanks Rogue, that did the trick. I looked in the manual and it said to use either one 6 pin or two. So you use two if one doesn't work, hmmm?

I love my new computer!

BTW, are you Rogue of GW? There was a guy I knew in GW who played in the early mornings with me.

Morning WOOD!!! HAHAHAHA :lol:

(as if I'd forget)
"No I don't want the Ask toolbar! No I don't want Bing as my default search! No I don't want to make Chrome my default browser!"
"Good grief, man! WHAT are you trying to install on that poor computer?"
"Antivirus."
kvndoom
Minister of Gerbil Affairs
 
Posts: 2400
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:47 pm
Location: Communistwealth of Virginia

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 4:39 am

You're here too???

Here I was trying to be all serious and knowledgeable (sorta) and you had to say that :-)

Remember how much of a Noebadi I was?
linda
Gerbil
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:54 pm

Re: Frankenstein

Postposted on Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:15 am

linda wrote:You're here too???

Here I was trying to be all serious and knowledgeable (sorta) and you had to say that :-)

Remember how much of a Noebadi I was?


CBE is a guild originally comprised of Tech Report people.
Morning Wood hasn't been the same without you either.
Anyways, glad to see you got the new system figured out and running.
ASUS P5B-E,ConroeE6400,2GB Mushkin DDR2 800,
EVGA 8800GTS,Corsair 520HX,Antec 900,WD320 GB,Samsung 204B
rogue426
Graphmaster Gerbil
 
Posts: 1253
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:51 pm


Return to System Builders Anonymous

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Arbedark and 6 guests